Compaq 1520 just standby light on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Compaq 1520 just standby light on

Just got this monitor off of a friend ..power light is on but cannot see any pic in back ground ..Fuses are all ok on both boards when checked even though i knew these were not the case else i would not get standby light on ..

Cannot see any burn marks and all caps look good ...i do have a blue ring tester ,analogue meter,esr meter and dvm .. oh and i have just bought a scope but waiting on it's arrival..

Not really sure where i should start testing for voltages on this as it's a little different on some of the monitors i have played about with ,plus i am a newbie trying to learn so thought it would make it easier to buy some helpful tools to help me along and with the right guidance from good folks on here...

Any help and guidance appreciated .

Thanks p.s Thanks to plainBill's hint on using macro mode i now can post pics
    Attached Files
    Last edited by sam67; 05-12-2010, 11:47 AM.

Re: Compaq 1520 just standby light on

Where's the power supply? Is it external? If so, I'd check the output of it first.
    36 Monitors, 3 TVs, 4 Laptops, 1 motherboard, 1 Printer, 1 iMac, 2 hard drive docks and one IP Phone repaired so far....

Comment

Hi, yes it is lol i forgot to mention ..the psu is fine , that was the first thing i checked ...not sure where to start probing next..

Comment

Originally posted by sam67
        Hi, yes it is lol i forgot to mention ..the psu is fine , that was the first thing i checked ...not sure where to start probing next..
        Well, this is the same inverter design that Benq has been using all along. So the first point to check was PF751. Since you already did that, we'll have to get more creative.

I'm a little confused by your description. Does the power light ever go from 'standby' (usually orange) to 'on' (green or blue)? Have you tried applying a signal?