Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2018, 08:55 AM   #1
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 161
Default Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

I have some bulging caps here
3 KZJ 2200uf 6.3v, these are the gold caps http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/Che...J%20series.pdf
i can not tell what the green ones are (edit: sanyo 1500uf 6.3V WF series https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...7&d=1313180606 )
Should i replace them with ones that can handle a higher voltage?

What should i replace them with?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCI0056.JPG (4.34 MB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg DSCI0056_min.jpg (249.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg DSCI0057.JPG (4.41 MB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg DSCI0058.JPG (4.59 MB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg DSCI0059.JPG (4.59 MB, 17 views)

Last edited by evilkitty; 04-22-2018 at 09:19 AM..
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 11:25 AM   #2
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 161
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

I found a thread that suggested using the HN series to replace the KZJ series

another system has some bulging 6.3v WF 820uf and KZJ 1800uf 6.3v 8m diameter (seems to work still)

So i guess i can use these 2 part numbers: UHN1A222MPD and UHN0J182MPD6TD
but the 2200uf in discontinued and UHD or UHE series is recommended by Nichicon, so i guess i can use UHD0J222MPD

but what about the WF caps? i am guessing these are used for the ram based on there location
WF were supposed to be good caps, i guess the KZJ overworked them?
Would FR be a good replacement?

Last edited by evilkitty; 04-22-2018 at 11:56 AM..
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 01:42 PM   #3
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 161
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

Maybe I should replace the Sanyo with these polymer caps:
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...5MS158M1AAAE13 - 1500uf
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...5KS827M1AAAE14 - 820uf
But, the ESR is bit lower
Stock Sanyo WF 1500uf has 18 mOhms and 2.2A Ripple VS 13 mOhms
Stock Sanyo WF 820uf has 21 mOhms and 1.3A Ripple VS 14 mOhms
Ripple is way higher on the polymer caps

While the numbers on Polymer caps looks great for these, but dat price... (Should I say screw it and get them?)
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/667-EEU-FM0J222L - 2200uf
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/647-UHN0J182MPD6TD - 1800uf
Stock UUC KZJ 2200uf has 11 VS 18 mOhms and 2.92A VS 2.47 Ripple
Stock UUC KZJ 1800uf has 12 VS 11 mOhms and 2.35A VS 2.22A Ripple

I could use this for the 2200uf cap: 9 mOhms and 3.19A Ripple
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/647-UHN1A222MPD
but it is discontinued... is that a problem?
How close do i need to be to the stock ESR and Ripple?

Last edited by evilkitty; 04-22-2018 at 02:35 PM..
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 06:48 PM   #4
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 161
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

I think I managed to find very close electrolytic capsDo those look like good replacements?

With the WF caps I am only changing the bulging ones (all 3 in the 490 and 2 of 6 in the T3400)
With the ZKJ caps I am replacing all of them, bulging or not (6 in the 490 and 7 in the T3400)
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 11:54 AM   #5
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,035
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

Ones in your last post look excellent.
I'd also look into the cooling for those FB-DIMM's
They run very toasty so might be what killed those Sanyo caps...
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 01:24 PM   #6
Wester547
-
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: CA.
My Country: USA.
Line Voltage: 120-125VAC 60Hz.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

Sanyo’s (Suncon) WF series is failure prone, especially whilst under thermal duress. It’s debatable that heat killed them, but KZJ is a known dud series too and have also failed in these toasty machines. FWIW, those Precision 490 (and 690) boards use MCZ, KZJ, and WF interchangeably in the position that those 1500F 6.3V caps are in, and thus far I’ve only seen WF and KZJ go bad there. Those T3400 machines (and all Dell motherboards that have a similar layout) also use KZG, KZJ, MCZ, HM (post-2004 datecodes), FL, and WF interchangeably for the 820F 6.3V caps, and I’ve only seen WF and KZG bulge so far (haven’t seen a 820F 6.3V KZJ bulge anywhere but in a USFF Dell, but I’ve seen quite a few of them go high ESR with no signs - the larger diameter and/or taller 6.3V KZJs OTOH are more prone to bulging).

Your replacements look good.

Last edited by Wester547; 04-23-2018 at 01:50 PM..
Wester547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 05:37 PM   #7
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 161
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

Thanks, should I replace all 6 in the t3400?, only 2 are slightly bulging and the system still works
I do not really care much about the t3400 (it is only 2$ but i am a tight a$$)
Are the WF caps known to fail without bulging?
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 08:22 PM   #8
Wester547
-
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: CA.
My Country: USA.
Line Voltage: 120-125VAC 60Hz.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

If two of the six have bulged, the other four may not be far behind. Any capacitor can fail without symptoms, so preemptive replacement is sound.
Wester547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 12:08 AM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

Replace all the Sanyo WF caps. Otherwise, they might (very likely) come back and bite ya again.

These Dell workstation PCs are excellent otherwise and worth every $ you invest in them (IMO).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 06:35 PM   #10
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 161
Default Re: Dell Precision 490 Motherboard

Thanks caps have been ordered, sadly one is on back order... better that not on order and out of stock, hopefully i can to get them installed on/by may 13/12th
hopefully that is the only thing wrong with the 490 and there is not some bad smt cap or something
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?