Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Replacing some bad caps on my cards

Hi,

I'm new to capacitor replacement and I got a blown Club3D Geforce 9500 GT and an ASUS M2N-SLI mainboard.

On the Geforce I got one blown cap, on the bottom right (picture)
    FZ85 1500uF 6.3V with an Height of 12mm and a diameter of 10mm.

On the M2N-SLI I got 3 blown caps, left of the RAM banks
    TK ATWY 820uF 6.3V with an height of 12mm and a diameter of ~7mm.

Which caps do you recommend as replacements?
    I read that for the Geforce I should get Panasonic for, but those posted were all of a height of 20mm and don't fit below the heatsink.

On the mainboard I also got 4 KZG 1000uF 16V caps which someone recommended to replace anyway. Should I replace them or wait until they bulge/blow? They seem to be fine to me but I have no tools to test it.

Where do you recommend to get caps from? Currently, the only pages I know are digikey with 18€ shipping cost and reichelt.de.
    Last edited by EoD; 10-14-2012, 07:41 AM. Reason: bad title

Re: Replacing bad caps on M2N-SLI and Geforce 9500GT

Originally posted by EoD View Post
    Hi,

I'm new to capacitor replacement and I got a blown Club3D Geforce 9500 GT and an ASUS M2N-SLI mainboard.

On the Geforce I got one blown cap, on the bottom right (picture)
    FZ85 1500uF 6.3V with an Height of 12mm and a diameter of 10mm.

On the M2N-SLI I got 3 blown caps, left of the RAM banks
    TK ATWY 820uF 6.3V with an height of 12mm and a diameter of ~7mm.

Which caps do you recommend as replacements?
    I read that for the Geforce I should get Panasonic for, but those posted were all of a height of 20mm and don't fit below the heatsink.

On the mainboard I also got 4 KZG 1000uF 16V caps which someone recommended to replace anyway. Should I replace them or wait until they bulge/blow? They seem to be fine to me but I have no tools to test it.