LG L1710S 2 seconds to black? (pics)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG L1710S 2 seconds to black? (pics)

Hello everyone, this is my first post as i am new to the electronics repair hobby. I have re-capped my 24" monitor and replace the IC's in my projection TV but that is the extent of my electronics knowledge. This is a great site! I have read a lot of posts on this particular issue but I am still unsure which direction to go. I have an LG Flatron L1710S that when powered up, flashes a picture then goes black. I know it has some type of backlight issue because i can still see the picture with a flash light. All the caps look fine but i do not have a capacitence meter to test them. I have tried a known-good screen (ccfls) from a matching monitor to no avail. On both monitors I have compared resistance readings from, what i think are, the mosfets or transistor (black bolt-on squares with 3 prongs). The readings are very similar. That is about as far as i can go with out assistance. Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by TransAm84; 02-19-2012, 10:57 AM.

Re: LG L1710S 2 seconds to black? (pics)

Hi - Did you try the panel from this monitor on the other one?

Picture of the bottom of the board? There is some browning on this side
    what is below? One of the Inverter Transformers has some browning.
    If the panel from this set works on the other then I would check the
    secondary windings on the inverter transformers - the joints may be lacquered and may need scraping to test.
    Did you read this: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10419

there are a few revisions I think the last starts at post 18/19

Does the Led stay blue when the screen goes off
    Last edited by selldoor; 02-19-2012, 11:07 AM. Reason: led colour
    Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740

Comment