Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Network Design & Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 04:54 PM   #41
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122-125V 61-62.5 Hz 100A
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,140
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
Don't get me started on my internet connection...
In the evenings when people are watching Netlifx (including me sometimes) the "6Mbps" DSL is more like 0Mbps DSL. Why? Because the AT&T lines and nodes out here suck, (even more than they do anywhere else), and it kicks my modem off the network when it's overloaded. I restart my modem, and it works again for a while, then it kicks me off... sort of an endless cycle.
Seriously, you need to rewire the inside and use shorter telephone wiring and get a real short cord to connect from the jack to the router.
(You can get those short cords from RadioShack)

Then go into the router config pages and see what the reported signal rates are. More important in your context, is the SNR margin.
__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene

Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

5 GB of DDR 2 SDRAM

FSB termination voltage @ "1.2V" (for 1.26V) -> 7 hour 64-bit Prime95 blend stable

eVGA GeForce GT 640

Antec VP-450

Windows XP Pro x64 SP2

"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:54 PM   #42
shovenose
Powered by Bing
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,557
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Um... I don't think I can rewire my apartment building? LOL!

Is this info useful?
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Downstream Rate Cap: 6016 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 34.5 dB
Uncancelled Echo: -15.7 dB Ok
VCXO Frequency Offset: -39.5 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 29.9 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 0 Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection: 2.21
Delay of latency path: 16.00 ms
Collected for 3 days 23:55:44
ATM Since Reset Current 24-Hour Interval Current 15-Minute Interval Time Since
Last Event
Cell Header Errors: 33195 11003 0 1:40:46
Loss of Cell Delineation: 30155 9306 0 1:40:46
DSL
Link Retrains: 35 12 0 1:40:45
DSL Training Errors: 2 0 0 2 days 7:22:55
Training Timeouts: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Loss of Framing Failures: 52 18 0 1:40:46
Loss of Signal Failures: 53 18 0 1:40:46
Loss of Power Failures: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Loss of Margin Failures: 70 22 0 1:40:46
Cumulative Seconds w/Errors: 770 253 0 1:40:46
Cumulative Sec. w/Severe Errors: 589 204 0 1:40:46
Corrected Blocks: 349689 36166 0 0:30:40
Uncorrectable Blocks: 33451 11345 0 1:40:46
DSL Unavailable Seconds: 1394 417 0 1:40:23
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:32 PM   #43
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122-125V 61-62.5 Hz 100A
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,140
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

The amount of errors reported is sickening! It might as well have GSCs!
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:57 PM   #44
shovenose
Powered by Bing
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,557
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
The amount of errors reported is sickening! It might as well have GSCs!
Do you think my modem is at fault? I do not think so as it's the latest model.
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 02:53 PM   #45
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122-125V 61-62.5 Hz 100A
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,140
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
Do you think my modem is at fault? I do not think so as it's the latest model.
It could be outside, possibly before the box.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 04:51 PM   #46
shovenose
Powered by Bing
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,557
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

I guess its outside of my control.
It sucks having nice computers but stuff is still slow because of the internet
Or maybe I'm just having doubts on my new gfx car I bought LOL!
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:41 PM   #47
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122-125V 61-62.5 Hz 100A
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,140
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
I guess its outside of my control.
It sucks having nice computers but stuff is still slow because of the internet
Or maybe I'm just having doubts on my new gfx car I bought LOL!
The modem still could be bad.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:59 AM   #48
mattch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: Orlando FL
Line Voltage: 116V
Posts: 108
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Netflix pisses me off too, great for home but still if you dont have a good connection you and everyone suffers.

Here was my solution: RedBox

Wait for a computer to get a virus (or proactively let a virus on there) then tell them it came from netflix website. Do your computer voodoo and the virus is gone

Of course they will go back, so wait a a few days and find out whos still using it. Throttle thier connection to 56k.... then you get a call and tell them of you must have the netflix virus again. Fix that and warn them again and offer an alternative solution, redbox, of course they will go back to the site. Here you have several choices, fuck with them some more. Redirect the site to something morally disturbing to them (who doesnt run thier own dns servers?) or throttle the connection to those sites.

After throttling the connection stupid sister in law got the drift and my connection speed was resolved (and my router finally had a break). Did i feel bad? Hell no, she didnt pay a dime for ANYTHING. mooch.
mattch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:44 AM   #49
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 324
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

matt i love the idea if i could get away with using that on the customers at work i would.
__________________
My Computer: Core i7 920 2.66Ghz Overclocked to ?(Intel Watercooler), Asrock x58 EXTREME, 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, 256GB Crucial M4 and 2X 1TB WD Caviar Black HDD, LG Blu-ray, 2X Saphire Radeon HD5850 1GB in crossfire, Lian Li PC-A70f, Antec TruePower Quadro 850, Windows 7 X64
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:27 PM   #50
NxB
Badcaps Veteran
 
NxB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,587
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Quote:
After throttling the connection stupid sister in law got the drift and my connection speed was resolved
Or you know... you could just block the netflix domain since you own the router... or throttle it down to unwatchable.
NxB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:22 AM   #51
mattch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: Orlando FL
Line Voltage: 116V
Posts: 108
Default Re: netflix, the network destoryer

Quote:
Originally Posted by NxB View Post
Or you know... you could just block the netflix domain since you own the router... or throttle it down to unwatchable.


then i hear "well it works at my friends house or when i take it to work"

it was throttled so it took almost 5 minutes to load the main page. no video was going to play over that.

I tried making it fair for everyone, but some people just dont like cooperating and contributing equally so i had to take a passive aggressive appraoch

In the past i have been accused of "manipulating the internet for no good reason, blocking a few domains would raise the flag so i found a way that makes me look innocent
mattch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?