Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HP Pavilion 15-CX DPk54 LA-841p No power

Hi All,

first post on the forum, i hope i've managed to include all relevant information here.

Technical level: 20+ years experience fixing/building PC's but am a complete beginner when it comes down to board repair.

Make/Model: HP Pavilion Gaming 15-cx0511na 8300H/1050 DPk54 LA-F841P Rev 1.0

History: Client brought it in for repair, broke more than a year ago and HP/Currys gave him the runaround but was unable to fix the issue. I was unable to fix it and he didn't want to spend money on a replacement motherboard. When he said he's going to bin it, i offered some money for it's 135W charger and got the laptop with it.
    Edit: I did put the board into a 99.9% isopropyl alcohol bath as i was suspecting the board might have got water. This was before i found the burnt component.

Symptom: Doesn't power on. When the charger is plugged in, the charge light comes on and it does sense if the battery is connected or not.
    Upon pressing the Power-on button, the LED light under the Power-On button comes on, then goes off in 2-3 seconds. No fan spin, no coil whine, no HDD spin up. -> No joy

I fully disassembled the laptop and after spending half an hour plus visually inspecting it, I've found a burnt component.
    Unfortunately, i was not able to determine what exactly it is and cannot find a board schematic anywhere.

Tools at my disposal: multimeter, hot air station, flux, (some) common sense and a little patience.

I appreciate anyone who's taken the time to read and/or comment on this.

Best picture i was able to snap with mobile:
    Attached Files
    Last edited by McNoobington; 03-28-2021, 12:13 PM. Reason: forgot to mention alcohol bath

Re: HP Pavilion 15-CX DPk54 LA-841p No power

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...hlight=silergy

AWS*** SY8288RAC - N/D (LA-C371P)

remove chip and check, if short is gone. also check BOTH sides (high/low).