Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung PS43D450 / 642AX-YB11 Dead

Hi everyone,

Fixing this Samsung PS43D450 for a friend, died with a loud bang while he was watching it.

All the boards seem okay, except for the Y-SUS (model: 42DH YM). Top layer has a shorted through hole RJP63K2 and snubber capacitor (hole blown in side). Bottom layer has some shorted surface mount SF5A400HD and IRG7R313U.

Is this a known issue with this model? The circuit is quite confusing, the ERC (energy recovery circuit) makes it complicated. Anyone have a schematic? Any tips?

Re: Samsung PS43D450 / 642AX-YB11 Dead

Do you have a cracked solder joint or is it just the lighting?
    Attached Files
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

double posted
      Last edited by dick_barton; 04-15-2018, 05:59 AM.
      Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

Originally posted by dick_barton View Post
        Do you have a cracked solder joint or is it just the lighting?
        It looks suspect, but I don't think it's actually cracked, just doesn't have enough solder. Hard to tell from the photo but it's one of the legs from the heatsink.

Some of the shorted SMD transistors on the bottom side also looked suspect, looked like there were hairline fractures on some of the tabs, but would need microscope to confirm.

Originally posted by dick_barton View Post
        Replace all the screws on the Xsus & Ysus before running up the set.
        Yep will do.
        Last edited by sean0118; 04-15-2018, 06:05 AM.

Comment

Hi all, I've just replaced all the components mentioned in my previous post.

Now it turns on, but there is yellow dots all over the bottom left of the screen, green dots along the top and has some random noise all over the picture. It seems to get worse the longer the TV is on.

I've checked Va (+58V), Vsc (-185V) and Vs (+207V) which all match the sticker on the panel.

Any ideas?