Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2018, 02:30 AM   #21
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Check for resistance to gnd on 3 and 5v coil to begin with. 0V at kbc means probably your 3v rail is shorted somewhere. Can be 'coz of KBC but there can be "N" number of reasons for 3v rail to pulled down.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 02:32 AM   #22
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Quote:
Originally Posted by magneh View Post
Do you know where I could by some programmed KBC's for this particular model?

Once again, thanks for your time!

Cheers
I never buyed them online as i have all the tools. So cant say but try searching on ebay.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 09:24 AM   #23
magneh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 183
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Hi,

Yes, but the thing here is that the 2 laptops I flashed with the PWD clear dump, they both behave the same way.

No power at all.
In one of them I rolled back to original dump, and still the same.

So its weird as I have the same problem with both. No power after bios programming.

Im sure the 3v line is not shorted, as the diode mode measurements showed in BIOS chip IC pins.

I will do some checks when Im at the office.
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 08:35 PM   #24
Pferd5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: CA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 41
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

which programmer do you use?
Do you use a clip or desolder the chip?

I made the observation that sometimes (with clip) some bytes aren't written correctly.
I mainly used SkyPro II ... and from time to time TL866 II (should be better, but can't be used with clip)

Try desolder the bios chip and check whats happen in this state and repgramm the chip with your old bios dump.
Pferd5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 04:25 PM   #25
drgn997
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

I may be wrong, but customers have reported that some Lenovo ThinkPad models need bottom cover to be installed, otherwise bios chip won't get +3.3V... worth a try.
drgn997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 12:55 PM   #26
magneh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 183
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pferd5 View Post
which programmer do you use?
Do you use a clip or desolder the chip?

I made the observation that sometimes (with clip) some bytes aren't written correctly.
I mainly used SkyPro II ... and from time to time TL866 II (should be better, but can't be used with clip)

Try desolder the bios chip and check whats happen in this state and reprogram the chip with your old bios dump.
Well finally back to these machines.
I have 2 working L650 with bios locked.
The 3.3V are not coming up after I de soldered the bios, re programmed with the dump posted here, and soldered it back.
Since then machine is dead. No reaction at all. I can confirm the 3.3V are not present in pin 8 of the bios.

I use a SP8-a programmer with the 8 pin adapter for the bios.
Used directly on the programmer.

I can confirm there is no damage on the bios pads or surrounding area/components.

I did the same thing to a second L560. Same result. machine dead since then. Very weird...

Ive measured the Bios pins in diode mode of a working and a non working L560.
I can see considerable differences in certain pins.

pin working L560 L560 KO L560 KO without
bios chip
1 .693 .654 .586
2 .560 .544 .542
3 .736 .580 .624
4 0 0 0
5 .727 .610 .631
6 .590 .565 .631
7 .727 .598 .626
8 .357 .363 .360

But even seeing this, this wont justify the 3.3V to not be present AFAIK...

Seeing this, what would you more experienced guys do?
Thanks for any inputs
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bios_measure.JPG (23.3 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by magneh; 03-12-2019 at 12:58 PM..
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 03:05 PM   #27
magneh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 183
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Quote:
Originally Posted by drgn997 View Post
I may be wrong, but customers have reported that some Lenovo ThinkPad models need bottom cover to be installed, otherwise bios chip won't get +3.3V... worth a try.
wow
And they are completely right...theres a little switch on the board that the cover push on when in place... some reset signal that prevents 3.3V on the board.

So just need to put some tape on it and I have 3.3V on the bios, and both laptops booting up, still with Bios PWD.

I feel like a donkey right now
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 04:01 PM   #28
magneh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 183
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Has anyone been able to unlock/reprogram one L560 with bios PWD

Ive reprogrammed BIOS, KBC and still have bios locked

When the PC boots up the first time after bios flash I get this error

0183: Bad CRC of Security Settings in EFI Variable.

Could it be the security chip preventing the unlock??

Jeezz what a nightmare
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190313_200525.jpg (250.1 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by magneh; 03-13-2019 at 04:36 PM..
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:48 PM   #29
foulou0238
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Paris
My Country: france
Line Voltage: 230
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 66
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

hello
try flash ur motherboard with this dump and report result please
Attached Files
File Type: rar Lenovo L560-LA-C421P-rev 1.0_W25Q128FV.rar (7.96 MB, 2 views)
foulou0238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 05:36 AM   #30
majkel_27@o2.pl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: konin
My Country: konin
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Hey, I checked your bios. Unfortunately, fan, high speed and dark screen, I have a clean ec. and factory bios but unfortunately tpm remains MFG mode and error 189 uuid error. at the original bios tpm is normal, so it probably remains to read the original password from the bios file. Any ideas?

Last edited by majkel_27@o2.pl; 05-21-2019 at 05:38 AM..
majkel_27@o2.pl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 03:02 AM   #31
majkel_27@o2.pl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: konin
My Country: konin
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Here is a clean factory ec. and a clean factory bios. and bios with a password can someone help put it together so that it works properly.
Attached Files
File Type: rar bios.rar (16.48 MB, 7 views)

Last edited by majkel_27@o2.pl; 05-22-2019 at 03:13 AM..
majkel_27@o2.pl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 03:45 AM   #32
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 946
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Quote:
Originally Posted by majkel_27@o2.pl View Post
Here is a clean factory ec. and a clean factory bios. and bios with a password can someone help put it together so that it works properly.
Password not store in bios this Model.Buy patch or if have i/o programm then you can.
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 04:30 AM   #33
majkel_27@o2.pl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: konin
My Country: konin
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Uploaded clean Bios, clean EC, replaced TPM. There is no password but there are errors and tpm is in MFG mode. I play bios with password, TPM is normal still error 189, but asks for generating uuid, but this I can not do because bios the default is in the uefi mode, do you know where else the password can be stored?you mean Maintenance Diskette

Last edited by majkel_27@o2.pl; 05-22-2019 at 04:34 AM..
majkel_27@o2.pl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 04:35 AM   #34
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 946
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Password in MEC.../ITE/ENE/Nuvoton Which chip have this board?
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 04:52 AM   #35
majkel_27@o2.pl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: konin
My Country: konin
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

novoton npce388
the new clean feed is erased and uploaded

Last edited by majkel_27@o2.pl; 05-22-2019 at 05:13 AM..
majkel_27@o2.pl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 06:11 AM   #36
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 946
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Yes use Maintenance Diskette if support your model
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 07:25 AM   #37
majkel_27@o2.pl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: konin
My Country: konin
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

I've tried unfortunately
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (42.1 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (100.3 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (79.4 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (80.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (89.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (94.3 KB, 3 views)
majkel_27@o2.pl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 08:02 AM   #38
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 946
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

Try programm back original Ec check what results lock or unlock?
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 08:28 AM   #39
majkel_27@o2.pl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: konin
My Country: konin
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

the original ec was dead
majkel_27@o2.pl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 09:03 AM   #40
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 946
Default Re: Lenovo L560 - bios PWD

This error reason i use patch file patch file work without error.Now you save old main bios?
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?