Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2018, 06:59 AM   #1
eelliott
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Cody, WY
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Yamaha TSX-130 dim display

The display on one of my two TSX-130’s died after five years of being plugged in, i.e., the display had been on continuously for five years (i.e., the unit was not unused in storage. My second TSX-130 had been mostly unplugged for over five years and its display is fine.). Prior to dying totally the display had become dimmer. The fix was to replace C63 and C64 on the power supply board. The factory Jamicon SK capacitors were replaced with Nichicon VZ series (part# UVZ1J220MDD1TD). The Nichicon VZ series has a higher temperature rating than the Jamicon SK series and should, hopefully, last longer.

...o There were a couple indications that C63 and C64 were defective:
......o The voltage between pin1 and pin4 (C63) and between pin2 and pin4 (C64) of connector W5 (top right of power supply board when looking at the back side of the board; pin1 is toward the right) was:
.........o 2.6VDC when the display is not working
.........o 5.8VDC when the display is working
.........o 6.6VDC per the Service Manual (but 5.8VDC is sufficient for a usable display)
......o The Dissipation Factor (d) of C63 and C64 was significantly out of spec (0.10 at start of life; 0.20 toward end of life). A DER EE DE-5000 revealed unacceptable d’s of:
.........o C63: d = 1.779
.........o C64: d = 0.5

...o The Service Manual PDF is available at https://elektrotanya.com/yamaha_tsx1.../download.html.

...o To replace the capacitors disassemble the unit: see the SM for the special procedure for removing the CD cover plate and the opening the case (do NOT just remove the 7 bottom screws and attempt to remove the cover); disconnect all cables from the main board; removed both speaker boxes (each is secured by one screw); removed the main board (4 screws); unscrewed the CD assembly (4 screws; necessary in order to disconnect the cable which originates at the power supply board and connects to the board under the CD assembly). Alternatively, it might be possible to replace C63 and C64 in situ.

......o As I disconnected the ribbon cables from the main board, I wrote the connector number on the cable using a Sharpie. This is probably unnecessary because one cable is 20 pin and the other is 21 pin.

.........o The two longer ribbon cables (MF120350 and MF121350) described in the Service Manual work as described in the SM and are available from yamaha24x7 dot com for $19.65 ($3.75 + $7.50 + $7.95 UPS shipping in USA). It turns out they were unnecessary for this repair but I ordered them in case it was necessary to diagnose the display board itself. That would be impossible to do without these two longer cables.

......o Note that the cable “connectors” on the power supply board are not removable; you must disconnect at the other end of the cable. Except the connector where the AC power comes into the board -- that one is a removable connector.

...o So far the repaired unit has operated fine since September 2015. (The delay in posting this repair info on BadCaps is because this capacitor fix was originally part of my Amazon review. But the Amazon TSX-130 web page is now gone. Fortunately I had archived the review as a .doc.)

On a separate subject, some of the buttons (e.g., Vol+ and Vol-) on both of my units became unreliable (I rarely use the remote control). The original switches are Panasonic rated for 100,000 cycles. The problem switches were replaced with ones from the same Panasonic family but rated for 1,000,000 cycles: EVQ11K04K. All of the switches are the same and there are 20 switches per TSX-130.
eelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 09:28 PM   #2
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,935
Default Re: Yamaha TSX-130 dim display

Nice work documenting your repair and good to hear you got your unit working again.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 08:04 AM   #3
chaser
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Aberdeen
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Yamaha TSX-130 dim display

Hi,

Thought I'd register, and post a quick reply to this thread to advise that I ran into exactly the same issue with my TSX-130 display, which was also fixed by replacing C63 & C64.

Pity I didn't find this thread before I started my fault finding. Only came across it whilst waiting for my new caps to get delivered. I had also ordered up and replaced transistor pair Q12 & Q13, which wasn't necessary.

Oh. And I replaced the caps with the power board still mounted to frame. Pretty straight forward.

Last edited by chaser; 08-03-2018 at 08:37 AM..
chaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 05:24 AM   #4
xyb
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
City & State: HK
My Country: Hong Kong
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Yamaha TSX-130 dim display

Quote:
Originally Posted by eelliott View Post
The display on one of my two TSX-130’s died after five years of being plugged in, i.e., the display had been on continuously for five years (i.e., the unit was not unused in storage. My second TSX-130 had been mostly unplugged for over five years and its display is fine.). Prior to dying totally the display had become dimmer. The fix was to replace C63 and C64 on the power supply board. The factory Jamicon SK capacitors were replaced with Nichicon VZ series (part# UVZ1J220MDD1TD). The Nichicon VZ series has a higher temperature rating than the Jamicon SK series and should, hopefully, last longer.
Thank you for your sharing, I had fixed my TSX-130's display after replace C63 and C64 with two audio capacitors.

And I found that simply short circuit C63 and C64 can light up display also, but I'm not sure if it's ok for long-term use.
xyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 04:29 AM   #5
Holdyalloa
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Alloa
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Yamaha TSX-130 dim display

Hi, does anyone have the part number for the power supply board? Mine is dead and looking for a replacement. Thanks in advance.
Holdyalloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?