Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2016, 04:11 PM   #41
waldoalvarez00
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Santiago
My Country: Dominican Republic
Line Voltage: 110v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

I removed the mosfets. Soldered an ATX power supply to the ground and the 5V line (output of the mosfets) and the power brick. Then powered the ATX PSU and touched the start button. Voila 3 red ligts in the ring. The error code 0031 meaning RAM not getting power (control for that comes from the same chip) also when powering up for the short while it happens I only get 0V at RAM testpoint with the multimeter. https://xbox-experts.com/errorcode/E13/0031/

Last edited by waldoalvarez00; 05-06-2016 at 04:23 PM..
waldoalvarez00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 04:13 PM   #42
waldoalvarez00
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Santiago
My Country: Dominican Republic
Line Voltage: 110v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

We just ordered a pack of 5 ADP1823 chips at aliexpress for around 8 USD since now I am totally sure is the culprit. But thanks, I appreciate it. Regards. Hope the trick helps someone else .
waldoalvarez00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 04:16 PM   #43
waldoalvarez00
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Santiago
My Country: Dominican Republic
Line Voltage: 110v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

See this comment in the forum

Quote:
seve91 on 2012-12-20 22:24:32 :

reballed almost everything!!! Replaced GPU, reflowed CPU, reballed 4 ram brick
(my model have only 4 ram bricks only on top), reballed SB, reflowed
HANA....check Q6F1 no short. Still 0031...then replaced ADP1823 and finally
fired up
waldoalvarez00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 04:23 PM   #44
waldoalvarez00
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Santiago
My Country: Dominican Republic
Line Voltage: 110v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

Hope something else didn't damaged that chip however.
waldoalvarez00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 01:02 PM   #45
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,682
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoalvarez00 View Post
I removed the mosfets. Soldered an ATX power supply to the ground and the 5V line (output of the mosfets) and the power brick. Then powered the ATX PSU and touched the start button. Voila 3 red ligts in the ring. The error code 0031 meaning RAM not getting power (control for that comes from the same chip) also when powering up for the short while it happens I only get 0V at RAM testpoint with the multimeter. https://xbox-experts.com/errorcode/E13/0031/
Yup, that sounds about right, then. That controller really must be bad. Hopefully it didn't take out the RAM when it went bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoalvarez00 View Post
We just ordered a pack of 5 ADP1823 chips at aliexpress for around 8 USD since now I am totally sure is the culprit. But thanks, I appreciate it. Regards. Hope the trick helps someone else .
Cool.
Let us know how it goes and if that fixes the Xbox.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 11:17 AM   #46
RudolfNta
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
City & State: Montreal, Quebec
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

Hi everyone..i am new to this forum. I am an engineer by profession and as per my experience PLL was use for FM radios so that when the frequency carrier started to drift a feedback circuit would correct it on the input oscillator. i think with a power supply that is frequency modulated the modulator has a tendency to drift so they are using the PLL to correct this error.
RudolfNta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:33 PM   #47
waldoalvarez00
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Santiago
My Country: Dominican Republic
Line Voltage: 110v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

Just an update, I replaced the chip by a brand new one and nothing. Is not the chip. It is something in that circuit however. I expect this month or next one to buy an oscilloscope. Really needed for some tasks. I will keep you posted. Just for the fun of fixing this. I mean gotta be something there. a cap or a resistor or something. I hope the waveform tells me something to trace that.
waldoalvarez00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 10:33 PM   #48
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,682
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

Good to hear back on this. I am still reading, so keep us updated.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 07:35 PM   #49
waldoalvarez00
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Santiago
My Country: Dominican Republic
Line Voltage: 110v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: xbox 360 blowing mosfet

I should test those small SMD caps around the chip for shorts at least. Maybe some burned SMD resistor could shed some light without a scope. I have that transistor tester I modded a little bit adding some aligator clips that has ESR testing but don't think is too good. Fact is I have measured bulged electrolitic caps that have what looks good ESR (at least not altered compared to good ones) but they leak a lot (doesn't keep charge too well). I should check the QFN soldering as well. Looks good at least (visually I mean) but that format is quite problematic to solder at least for me. And not quite easy to test for shorts. Gotta buy a microscope as well eventually for visual inspections. Definitely is that circuit. It booted well (except for the BGA problems) when I putted the 5v from the ATX. I don't wanna do a reflow with heat gun cause so far I've got shorts for an XBOX 1.8v and a no power for a motherboard. Lack of expertise in that.
waldoalvarez00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?