Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2003, 08:29 PM   #1
petabyte
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23
Default bad cap manufacturers - please post yours here

I'm hoping to gather a list here of known manuafacturers of these bad caps..
I just started looking into this matter today even though I'd heard of this about a year or so ago. From what I've read so far.. a lot of the caps are/were sold under no name sort of brands.. I figure we can help out the community by educating ourselves on what to watch out for when purchasing a new motherboard... one thing would be to select a board that uses tantalum capacitors instead of electrolytics but that's another story.. so for now, could you /would you please add whatever info you can provide on the defective caps.. if there are date codes, please put that in.. thx

so far I've gathered this list of manufacturers :

JPCON
Lelon
(G) Luxon
Tayeh
Jackcon
I.Q.
JDEC
CTC
Chhsi
petabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 08:32 PM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,287
Default

Here's a couple more:

TEAPO
HERMEI
RAYCON

(As a matter of fact, I yanked 23 bad Teapo's out of a VP6 last night!! )
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 08:50 PM   #3
petabyte
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23
Default

thanks.. TC

are there any markings besides the ratings ? date codes ?
petabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 08:57 AM   #4
ncdave
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.6VAC 60Hz
Posts: 33
Default

Watch out for caps marked with gold printing.

The bad caps I've seen on a couple of BP6 mbs are Jackcon and Tayeh, but only the ones with gold-on-green or gold-on-black writing are bad. Caps marked with white-on-black are fine.

I know that some mfgs use gold printing on low ESR capacitors, and white printing on general purpose capacitors. That is probably why I've only seen caps with gold writing fail.

-Dave
ncdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 09:03 AM   #5
ncdave
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.6VAC 60Hz
Posts: 33
Default

On a Dutch forum, someone has posted lists of boards and caps with the problem.
This is the original URL:
http://www.tweakers.net/nieuws/27232
This is the Systran translation to English:
http://www.systranbox.com/systran/bo...t/nieuws/27232

They listed the following cap mfg:
- Choyo
- Jackcon
- Jpcon
- Sanyo
- Tayeh

Unfortunately, they don't mention any date codes or the color of the markings.

-Dave
ncdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 06:26 PM   #6
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

in addition to the above
nrsy(light green) in supermicro server boards
rulycon(rubycon rip offs right down to the vent stamp)powmax 400w psu
jee (same as rulycon even same style and vent probably from same maker)
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 08:06 PM   #7
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,287
Default

UHH OHH... I just bought a Supermicro X5DAL-TG2 dually Xeon... Although, I looked at it and the caps are Sanyo... I've not seen Sanyo caps go bad yet... I hope my new board won't be the first! HEH
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 03:21 AM   #8
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

not seen any bad sanyos yet.
but i have seen a lot of powmax psu's with bad jee and rulycon caps.
funny they come so highly recomended because we scrap so many that are a few months old.and another brand iirc purepcpower or something.
same psu with a fancy paint job.imho just cheap lightweight crap.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 08:17 AM   #9
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

these are the rubycon ripoffs.
the larger in the 2 lower pics is a real rubycon obviosly not the same type.
note the similarity of the part numbers of the 2 fakes.
4 is the nrsy that plague supermicro boards.





kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 10:15 AM   #10
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,287
Default

About a year ago I had a Powmax 500 watt power supply incinerate itself... Smoke poured out of the case, and the PC obviously stopped workin...

I took the cover off and the switch-mode transistor had burnt beyond recognition, along with everything around it... With that kind of damage I didn't even think to look at the caps... HEH...

I've since thrown it away, but I'll keep my eyes open... I frequently recommend and use Powmax supplies!!

The 'nrsy' caps I've seen and removed bad ones from a DFI and an old dual slot2 Supermicro board. Thank God my new Supermicro doesn't have 'em... The X5DAL-TG2 has over 40 caps in it... I wouldn't even wanna recap that one... It's got a 2 year warranty though...

I've never encountered 'Rulycon' caps, but from the photo you posted, the Rulycon had a swollen top... A sign of lousy quality... Rubycon, on the other hand, I've seen many of those in many motherboards and different devices. I havent' seen any bad ones yet though.


HMM Recap this bad boy... HEH... Even I wouldn't look forward to it...
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 02:09 PM   #11
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

those are sanyo's
the k vents are a dead giveaway.
i was just given a supermicro 370dl3.
the nrsy cap on this page came from it.
a 30 min job to change 17 caps.
maybe an hour on your new one.
probably outlast its usefullness though since it has good caps.
now to find 2 mached pairs of socket 370 cumines
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 02:11 PM   #12
ncdave
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.6VAC 60Hz
Posts: 33
Default

Tomcat wrote:
> I've never encountered 'Rulycon' caps, but from the photo you posted, the Rulycon had a swollen top

Wow, you're right! You've got a good eye. I didn't even notice that. The swelling is subtle, but it IS there.

W/r/t the TEAPOs, how sure are you that they were bad? I thought that Teapo was supposed to be okay. This article http://www.niccomp.com/taiwanlowesr.htm about the bad capacitor problem says, \"Teapo has stated that it obtains its electrolytes from Japan and was not affected.\" Maybe they were lying. My VP6 has all Teapos. They look fine to me, so far.

-Dave
ncdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 02:32 PM   #13
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,287
Default

kc8adu,

If you need a matched pair of cumines, I have a matched pair of 600E's that run flawlessly as 800EB's (800/133) with no voltage increases or extra cooling... They ran that way over 2 years as a server and never hiccuped, until the caps on the VP6 died... HEH... This didn't affect the chips tho... I recapped the board and they were flyin' again... If you want them let me know, or shoot me an email... I'm runnin low on 2200uF caps, and could use some to replenish the stockpile...

Dave,
I've pulled MANY dead Teapo's out of VP6's... I have some bad ones in the bin, I'll try and get a couple pics for ya...
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 03:43 PM   #14
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

i could use them as a starter set.
shoot me a price.
btw i will likely place a large order for caps next month.
between me and a friend we usually get 1000 of each common type.
you can join us.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 03:53 PM   #15
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

i have changed many teapo's too.
not as many as jackcon or tayeh but quite a few.
i noticed sanyo mentioned.
never seen a bad sanyo in a mobo or psu.
bad translation?
counterfeits?

[quote:2842e6e245=\"ncdave\"]Tomcat wrote:
> I've never encountered 'Rulycon' caps, but from the photo you posted, the Rulycon had a swollen top

Wow, you're right! You've got a good eye. I didn't even notice that. The swelling is subtle, but it IS there.

W/r/t the TEAPOs, how sure are you that they were bad? I thought that Teapo was supposed to be okay. This article http://www.niccomp.com/taiwanlowesr.htm about the bad capacitor problem says, \"Teapo has stated that it obtains its electrolytes from Japan and was not affected.\" Maybe they were lying. My VP6 has all Teapos. They look fine to me, so far.

-Dave[/quote:2842e6e245]
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 10:29 PM   #16
ncdave
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.6VAC 60Hz
Posts: 33
Default

Tomcat wrote:
> Dave,
> I've pulled MANY dead Teapo's out of VP6's... I have some bad
> ones in the bin, I'll try and get a couple pics for ya...

The dirty liars! Grrrrr.... :-(
I guess I'll just keep a close eye on this VP6, for signs of failure.

Thanks,
-Dave
ncdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 05:23 PM   #17
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

add stone to the list.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 06:13 AM   #18
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,287
Default

I recapped one of those Shuttle SFX form-factor motherboards... That motherboard was the cutest little critter!! HEH...

Although, it was FULL of bad caps marked 'Gloria'.... Another one to keep your eyes peeled for!
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 06:59 AM   #19
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default

just did a asus athlon board(cant remember model) that had yellow caps with a capitol f logo underlined above and below.the ones on the vrm board.
fairchild?
these had the k ventstamps like sanyo.
they looked ok but vcore noisy.
some of these had esr over 2 ohms!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 07:19 AM   #20
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,287
Default

Here's a pic of the above mentioned 'Gloria' branded capacitors...


Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?