Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 02:31 PM   #41
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

That would prove exactly nothing.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 02:48 PM   #42
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,127
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

i suck at photoshop if thats what your saying
whatever. have a nice day
__________________
1995 Chevy Silverado ~276K.
2010 Ford Escape ~90K.
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 03:18 PM   #43
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

I didn't say you didn't see those caps on some board.

I said Intel doesn't put non-jap caps on their own motherboards.
- Corporate Directive. - I actually had it in writing at one time.
Anyone with sufficient experience with Intel boards knows what I'm saying is true without seeing it writing anyway.

If you saw what you say then either it wasn't actually an Intel board or someone else put the caps on it.

.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 03:20 PM   #44
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,127
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

it said intel on it and it loooked like the d955xbk...
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 03:44 PM   #45
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCBONEZ View Post
That would prove exactly nothing.
Exactly because it could have been recapped. (Not just Photo Shopped or whatever.)
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 04:29 PM   #46
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,127
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

it wasnt recapped. i dont think so at least...i got it used...
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 04:39 PM   #47
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

It was recapped. [By a moron.]
The photos I found of that board had Nichicon HM there.
.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 10:56 PM   #48
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,796
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GX270_user View Post
I'll have to oen it back up to get the manufacturer's name ...
No need to do that - the UL number on the label says E143709 so that means it was made by Chicony Power / HiPro.

Based on the pictures you posted, it looks identical to the 250W Chicony Power I have. Mine has a 5vsb failure (and I still haven't found time to look into it yet) so definitely check the 5vsb voltage on yours (purple wire). Should be no less than 4.75v and no more than 5.25v. If it's good, then all you need to do is recap it. Should be pretty easy.
Any of the following caps should work:
KY, KZE, LXY, and LXZ series from United Chemicon
PW, PM, and HE series from Nichicon
FC, FK, and FM series from Panasonic
YXG, ZL, and ZLH from Rubycon.
Samxon RS (and maybe a few other series - ask TopCat if you're buying from him).

Also, nice job with the case. Almost looks like it came like that from the factory .
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 03:52 PM   #49
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
No need to do that - the UL number on the label says E143709 so that means it was made by Chicony Power / HiPro. .
You also know this by the "HP" leading the part number.
Newton Power would have an "NPS" there.
Not remembering what Delta has.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 04:18 PM   #50
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,796
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Wasn't Newton built by Delta as well?
I think Delta model numbers start with "DPS" (or at least the really common ones, that is). If you look at their UL page, though, you will see that they have many other model numbers, even some that start with NPS as well. I think someone even showed it on this forum that Newton is indeed built by Delta.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 04:51 PM   #51
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Newton is it's own company and quality wise they put Delta to shame.

DPS is right..
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 01:10 PM   #52
yyonline
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Posts: 685
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Delta is DPS, as previously mentioned. I've also seen Deltas with GPS- model numbers.

Most of the 300-ish watt Dell Newton Power units I've opened up have CapXon and Ltec inside.
yyonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 01:29 PM   #53
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

NPS fell of the wagon then.
CapXon and Ltec aren't uncommon in Deltas either though.
.
I wonder what the difference between GPS and DPS is.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 02:41 PM   #54
yyonline
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Posts: 685
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

A financial report on Delta's site seems to suggest that Delta owns 94% of Newton Power. So the similarity might make sense. That said, I rarely see bad cap issues in Dell power supplies of any manufacturer. It happens on occasion, but not that often. The exception being cases where the PSU fan has failed, then all bets are off. Why they want to use sleeve bearing fans in a PSU, I have no idea... (cost, I know... and hey, it keeps me busy with things to fix.)
yyonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 11:02 PM   #55
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Delta must have bought them out then.

Newton Power used to specialize in small wattage high quality PSU's that they only sold OEM. The watts on the label was the real watts.
As I recall they were usually populated with Chemicon KY or something similar.

A Delta with bloated LTEC isn't a stranger here.

.

Last edited by PCBONEZ; 09-08-2010 at 11:04 PM..
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 06:29 PM   #56
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,796
Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX280 Weird problem!!!!

Older (PII and P3 era) Lite-ON PSUs were also of excellent quality with Japanese caps everywhere (except maybe the really tiny 1-22uF ones). Label on those also stated that the ratings on it would hold for up to 50C room temperature. Probably true judging by the way they were built inside.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?