Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2015, 06:55 AM   #21
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

no need, the tracks from the part under test are only a couple of cm long.

on the multi-meter style meters it's going to make more of a difference though.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 05:01 AM   #22
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

update time.
smaller zips with no pdf until the pdf changes btw.

the K version fully sorted now for the GM328A
frequency generator is back to working.

and - drum-roll.
the Markus Trendy software.

this was a bitch to get configured and still is not perfect, but it runs and has some interesting features!
read the readme!

again, this is only for the GM328A and you WILL need a rotary encoder.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester v4 (SVN619).zip (30.9 KB, 56 views)
File Type: zip ComponentTester-trendy-1.20m.zip (35.9 KB, 57 views)

Last edited by stj; 12-09-2015 at 05:02 AM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 10:56 AM   #23
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Thanks for these things. I am saving them for when I can buy the rotary swx and a programmer.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:00 PM   #24
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

dont save them,
i'll be updating on every major source update.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 01:01 PM   #25
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I'm a little fuzzy on the rotary vs test switch, how do you activate a test without the test switch?
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 01:38 PM   #26
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

then encoder has a switch - press the shaft in.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 02:07 PM   #27
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I wasn't sure about that. Thank you.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 04:11 PM   #28
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Cool Re: ESR meter upgrades

fresh updates.

Attached Files
File Type: zip ComponentTester-trendy-1.21m.zip (40.5 KB, 34 views)
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN622).zip (30.9 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by stj; 01-05-2016 at 04:44 PM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 08:38 PM   #29
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I just got my rotary control in the mail today. Programmer should be here soon too.

What did you use to make the 10-6 pin adapter?

I'm gonna mount the 6-pin header on the top of the board beneath the display instead of the back. I checked clearance with a connector and it will fit fine. That way I don't have to cut a hole in the back of my box or port it out.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 10:05 PM   #30
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i used some old cables from a pc.
i think the 6pin was a 5x2 internal usb connector for a pc frontpanel that i cut-down.

the 10pin was an idc connector from a 9way serial port from an old AT standard motherboard
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 10:07 PM   #31
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveNielsen View Post
I'm gonna mount the 6-pin header on the top of the board beneath the display instead of the back. I checked clearance with a connector and it will fit fine. That way I don't have to cut a hole in the back of my box or port it out.
if you do that, remember the 6way pinout will be mirrored and dont try to use your adapter on anything else!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 04:14 AM   #32
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
the 10pin was an idc connector from a 9way serial port from an old AT standard motherboard
But the 10 pin needs to be male, I've only seen female idc. Got a pic of your adapter?

Edit: nevermind, I looked one up. I honestly have never seen one before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
if you do that, remember the 6way pinout will be mirrored and dont try to use your adapter on anything else!!
Yes indeed. I figured that was obvious but that might not be to someone else reading, so thanks.

Last edited by SteveNielsen; 01-08-2016 at 04:16 AM..
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 09:06 AM   #33
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

10pin conector must be female, the programmer has PINS on it

you could also use a pair of those usb headers if you had them
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 09:25 AM   #34
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades



Jeez, I was thinking about the cable included, not the programmer board connector! My mind slips gears sometimes. Thanks for filling in a blank for me.

I'm pretty well set then, I've got a 10-pin ribbon cable with female ends here I can modify. It's 21" long, I could cut it in half and make two adapter cables if I wanted to. I've got other connectors I can use for the 6-pin end.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 03:57 PM   #35
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you want the cable 15cm / 6" long at most.
it programs real fast and you dont want data errors
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 10:39 PM   #36
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i have another update soon as attachements are active.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 10:52 PM   #37
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Coolness. Look forward to it. The included cable is 8" long BTW.

I'd like to add a helpful tip for adding the rotary control, tin the cut/bent center pin and where you scratch off the lacquer from ground-plane on the board that it will connect to before soldering the control on instead of struggling to solder within that narrow space between the control and the zif socket after the control is mounted.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:57 PM   #38
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

update here.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN623).zip (31.0 KB, 29 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 01:25 PM   #39
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I just flashed mine and it appears to work ok however during the flash I got this error at the end. I repeated the flash and the error repeated...

avrdude: 1 bytes of efuse written
avrdude: verifying efuse memory against 0xfc:
avrdude: load data efuse data from input file 0xfc:
avrdude: input file 0xfc contains 1 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip efuse data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
0x04 != 0xfc
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude: safemode: efuse changed! Was fc, and is now 4
Would you like this fuse to be changed back? [y/n] n
avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK (H:FC, E:D9, L:F7)

avrdude done. Thank you.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 05:47 PM   #40
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

that's fine, some chips do that.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?