Westinghouse VR-3710 stuck in standby

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Westinghouse VR-3710 stuck in standby

This set gradually stopped powering on past standby. For a while it would come on with repeated attempts.

Also, for most of the life of the set (2-3 years) it made a high-pitched whine during operation.

The board is an AY116L-4HF01. I suspect bad caps, but there's no visual indication of them. I'm hoping someone can recommend some to change out, or some other course of action. Thanks!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by isherwood; 02-09-2017, 08:08 AM.

Re: Westinghouse VR-3710 stuck in standby

Disconnect the mainboard from the power supply. Do you have +5VSB. If so connect a 1K resistor from +5VSB to PS_ON and check you have the +12V, +5V & +24V voltages.
    Also check what DC voltage you have across the two legs of C31 at that time.
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

Seems to me e-caps on the Main Bd may need replacing. Check the PSU as dick barton suggested....but is that 6VSB stand-by I see on the label??

Comment

Thanks for the responses. I was able to verify 5v standby, but I'll need to procure some jumpers and the correct resistor to continue troubleshooting. Unfortunately Radio Shack returned to their roots as a parts house, but then they promptly closed both stores in my community.

Comment

All right, I've received my goodies and did as you suggested, dick_barton. Here are my results:

5v: 4.98v (both pins)
          12v: 11.54v (both pins)
          24v: initial reading of ~18v, which dropped to nothing almost immediately, then ~11v to nothing, then zilch
          C31: initial reading ~18v, then nothing

For what it's worth, I'm familiar with basic electronics theory and the common components, but I'm not versed in troubleshooting technique.

Thanks again for your assistance.
          Last edited by isherwood; 02-18-2017, 08:16 PM.

Comment