Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung SyncMaster P2470H flickering

Hello,

I got a Samsung SyncMaster P2470H here with flickering backlight. Its turns on for a few seconds then of again an so on. If I turn on the display for the first time, picture is fine for a few seconds but then starts flickering. Also a hissing/whining sound can be heard from the inverter board which starts loud and then fades out. Besides that the display is functional, responds to keypress and even displays picture from all inputs.
    This monitor doesn't have an internal PSU and is fed direct 14V from my lab PSU. There are only 5 electrolytic caps on the two boards inside which all tested fine. Also no loose connections, burnt components or arcing.
    What would be the best point to start troubleshooting? I would say transformer or CCFL?

Regards
    Attached Files
    Last edited by sebr; 10-18-2012, 10:08 AM.

Re: Samsung SyncMaster P2470H flickering

Originally posted by sebr View Post
    I would say transformer or CCFL?
    I suggest testing both. The transformer is easy to test and only takes a couple of minutes.

As for the ccfl, look for burnt wiring.

Details for both are in the "2 seconds to black" guide below.
    --- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---

Comment