Samsung P2770 vertical bands

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung P2770 vertical bands

I am new to all this, including this forum, my apologies for any faux pas.

I have searched the forum, have dloaded and read the provided PDF for TV/Monitor troubleshoot, plus the Service Manual available via the links in this forum.

I am guessing others have this issue, but have not seen/found the solution.

I have a Samsung P2770HD TV/monitor. A year ago the power supply went. I taught myself enough to be able to determine there were bad caps, and taught myself to solder in some new Rubicons from DigiKey ... All seemed well again.

A short while later, a thin (e.g. 1 pxl) vertical line appeared. As time went by, some more thin lines of various colours appeared.

Then, entire vertical bands appeared, about 6 cm wide (appear to be the same width as the connectors inside on what I believe is the T-Con board). Some of the bands are black, while others a collage of colours. Some of the bands will be black on some occasions, and collages on other occasions on power-up.

The behaviour of bands is the same whether in TV mode or attached to PC.

From what I have read on this forum, I am guessing this means a bad T-Con.

I have "fiddled" with various cables, inspected boards, etc, but cannot see any obvious issues, or have any effect on the "bands".

My questions:

1) Have I got it right, this is a bad T-Con board?

2) Is it repairable? If so, is there a resource that might guide me?

3) If not repairable, is it replaceable? If I understand the notes, the T-Con is "bonded" to the screen, so not sure if this is a sensible question.

I appreciate this is all too newbie for some. Still any assistance/guidance would be appreciated.

Enc:
    1) Attached is a picture of the "bands".

2) The thing I call the T-con board is the same thing in this image
    (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...1&d=1359595116)
    Attached Files

Re: Samsung P2770 vertical bands