Samsung PN43D450A2D No Video

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung PN43D450A2D No Video

I have had this TV for almost two years. It worked fine for a while but a month ago it was being watched and then the picture just went black. Audio worked fine, TV responded to remote signals; switched inputs, changed volume. For a while when troubleshooting it, there was an instant of RGB colored static when turning it on. Now there's nothing at all when turning it on, but the audio works fine, and it still recieves signals from the remote. I have tried to find the answer online, and most of what I've found is when the whole TV won't turn on, or related to blown capacitors. I've opened it up and looked at the components & capacitors and I don't see anything obvious. I have some electrical experience, but I'm not sure what I'm looking for. I received this as a prize, so I have no receipt or warranty, and I don't have the money to have it repaired or replaced. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Samsung PN43D450A2D No Video

I repaired one of these a while a go. (PS43D450 -- European model and one of its predecessors, the PS42B450.)

On the left hand side of the TV (looking at the back as in your photos) you have the Y-buffer (green board) and Y-main (orange board.)

Centre of the TV is the power supply board.

Right hand side orange board is the X-main.

The smaller remaining green board is the logic/control board and the larger one is the main board (or AV board.)

A very common failure on this model is a failure of the X-main board, though the Y-main also fails as well.

Please read through this guide to see if you get test patterns:
    https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...61&postcount=2

If not, you will need a digital multimeter to do the rest of the repair work.
    Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!