Thank you to the guys at HEGE supporting Badcaps [ HEGE ] [ HEGE DEX Chart ]

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Practical Electronics Books: What have you read..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Practical Electronics Books: What have you read..

Hey guys,

I have a degree in Applied Physics from years back, so I've gone through all the theory.... But I'm trying to get my hands the most practical books for hands on electronics repair and design... particularly to do with power supplies and TVs.. I'm not scared of equations or theory, but I only want to memorise the practical stuff.. So far I've read:

Switch Mode Power Supply Troubleshooting & Repair: Jestine Yong
    LCD Repair: Jestine Yong
    Testing Electronic Components: Jestine Yong
    LCD TV Repair: John Preher
    Plasma TV Repair: Damon Morrow
    How To Diagnose And Fix Everything: Michael Jay Grier
    Practical Electronics For Inventors: McGraw Hill

Morrow's book could do with a bit better structure and a bit better editing, and Practical Electronics could have kept it a little more "practical", but the rest of the books were excellent. Any other books I should have on my reading list?

Re: Practical Electronics Books: What have you read..

I would recommend "The Art of Electronics", by Paul Horowitz and Winfield Hill. It is a textbook in some universities, although it's not heavy on math. Some parts covered in it are old now, but it really teaches some fundamentals when approaching circuit design. The new edition should be out late this year.

Comment

I second the recommendation of Horowitz & Hill; it's not cheap but very much worth the
      money; very practical. Another good resource is the ARRL Radio Amateur's Handbook -
      it's slanted more towards communications but has good chapters on power supplies,
      construction practices, and basic theory.

Comment

Data book.
        Franzis Tabellen Dipl.Ing. Hans Guenther Steidle Transistoren Kurz-Tabelle