Samsung un75f6300- upper half of screen is dim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung un75f6300- upper half of screen is dim

Have a 75 in Samsung TV,. Panel is operating, can see picture throughout the display, no lines. Only issue is upper half of screen is not as bright as bottom. LED strips bad or component failure on a board?
    Attached Files
    Last edited by topfli8979; 01-03-2017, 10:31 AM.

Re: Samsung un75f6300- upper half of screen is dim

I would initially suspect the led's or possibly the led controller. Can you measure the voltages on the led connector and post with a picture of the board.
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

I have same issue but it also has a definitive line that seperates the dim from the normal.
      I will check backlight voltages and post the findings.
      It's just this TV is physically harder to move around for repair
      Cheers

Comment

It will be interesting to see what you find.
        Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

I just fixed a similar model, I was sure the LEDs were bad in the edge lighting, i tore the whole thing down and tested every single LED ok, was STUMPED, as the PSU appeared to be fine. I re-soldered the transformer that powers the 4 PWM banks for the edge lighting and the tv is fine now.

Give that a go, its worth a shot.

Comment

I had the same issue and I wanted to share my experience with everyone. I swapped the top and bottom connector for the backlights on the power supply but still had the same issue so I was able to rule out the PSU. Suspecting backlights I took the panel apart and there was my issue. I think I have a back light issue.
            Attached Files

Comment

Hate to jump in with a non-fix comment, but do you think a single led has allowed the plastic reflector sheet to catch fire? It looks like a led in the middle has also started to burn through.The edge burn in image 4 looks like a cable or joint fault.