Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2010, 03:58 AM   #1
iKitsune
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Alabama, USA
Posts: 49
Default CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

I've rescued no fewer than 4 LCD TVs of various East Asian makes from CapXon caps. Only done two when I had my camera handy, however.

First one was an "Akai" 27" 720p.

Yuuuuck. >.<

I really loved whoever designed that PSU - the caps right under the heatsink were a JOY to remove. An even LARGER joy to reinstall.

Recapped it with what I had to hand - yes, I know the ESR is all wrong, etc, I will redo it properly later. I was just practicing, as this was a "throwaway" project and my first re-cap.



Next TV was an Olevia 42". I got this one from a friend, he said it just stopped working one day.

Surprise!


Currently in the process of recapping this one for the second time around, I had it completely reassembled and was looking at my invoice from Newark when I noticed that the 3 1000 uF / 35v caps I got were rated only 85c. I'm going to take pics when it's finished and pretty, and not showing 3 Rubycons being slowly cooked to death.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_1177.jpg (141.7 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg DSC00014.jpg (134.1 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 746690c0.jpg (278.2 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 11-17-2016 at 12:27 PM.. Reason: Offsite images uploaded
iKitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:00 AM   #2
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Welcome to the forums, iKitsune!

I'm glad that the repairs are going well.

In the picture of the first TV power supply that you are repairing, what is the brand and series of the replacement electrolytics marked "(M) 35V"?

Inside flat-panel TVs, they can get very hot inside... in the Akai power supply, the CapXon KF series were not rated for this application.

In switching power supplies, I always recommend 105C units in all sections.
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:04 AM   #3
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,614
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

They look like EPCOS
__________________
The USA have Barack Obama, Bob Hope, Stevie Wonder and Jonny Cash.
We have Angela Merkel, no hope, no wonder, no cash.
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 05:55 AM   #4
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,630
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

These companies spend good money on a 42" LCD panel and yet don't want to spend an extra few dollars on decent capacitors in the PSU (which is the most critical part)

It makes me angry!
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 11:15 PM   #5
iKitsune
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Alabama, USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by japlytic
Welcome to the forums, iKitsune!

I'm glad that the repairs are going well.

In the picture of the first TV power supply that you are repairing, what is the brand and series of the replacement electrolytics marked "(M) 35V"?

Inside flat-panel TVs, they can get very hot inside... in the Akai power supply, the CapXon KF series were not rated for this application.

In switching power supplies, I always recommend 105C units in all sections.
I think they are EPCOS. The Akai was purchased as "dead unit, intact panel" from a local electronics recycling place. I'm intending on eventually redoing both of these with the appropriate Rubycon and/or United Chemicon caps, rather than just whatever I have to hand that matches the ratings. Before I went and spent money on them, I wanted to make sure the rest of the unit worked.

I wouldn't put anything less than 105c caps in a PSU under any circumstances.

Last edited by iKitsune; 05-09-2010 at 11:20 PM..
iKitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 11:16 PM   #6
iKitsune
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Alabama, USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24
These companies spend good money on a 42" LCD panel and yet don't want to spend an extra few dollars on decent capacitors in the PSU (which is the most critical part)

It makes me angry!
I know, right? The 42" was a $1300 TV when it was new, too, and it had the same CapXons as a $399 Akai.
iKitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 06:28 PM   #7
iKitsune
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Alabama, USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

OK, another day, more f***ing CapXons. Got a 19" ViewSonic VX1962. Symptoms are backlight dies after ~3 seconds. Lamps test fine on another inverter I've got around. So I pulled the little inverter/power section apart.



Oooops.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg c08a6dae.jpg (68.0 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 11-17-2016 at 12:28 PM.. Reason: Offsite image uploaded
iKitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 12:29 PM   #8
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,123
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

CapXon are LAME LAME LAME !
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 03:09 PM   #9
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,630
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReeceyBurger123 View Post
CapXon are LAME LAME LAME !
I'd argue they're worse than that.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 01:26 AM   #10
amayii
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Hainaut
My Country: Belgium
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Hello,

Found this topic when having a look at a "black screen" on a Viewsonic N4060w.
I'm not a professional electronic engineer of any kind however it seems pretty easy to do a recap.
I've ordered replacement caps. Here is overview of the board before fixing.


I'm planning on replacing these 11 caps.
Fingers crossed
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Overview.jpg (235.3 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 11-17-2016 at 12:29 PM.. Reason: Offsite image uploaded
amayii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 03:40 PM   #11
amayii
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Hainaut
My Country: Belgium
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Viewsonic N4060w saved with a few cheap caps.
Going to be used as occasional entertainment in basement. Not that bad for my first recap
IMG_20161228_221211.jpg
amayii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 11:36 AM   #12
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bourgas
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 483
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Excuse me, where I can buy new CapXon-s? I want to recap my TV
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 02:08 PM   #13
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,630
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by televizora View Post
Excuse me, where I can buy new CapXon-s? I want to recap my TV
Aliexpress, perhaps? Though they might not be genuine CapXon, maybe re-sleeved Fuhjyyu. Still just as good though.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:04 PM   #14
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,123
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24 View Post
Aliexpress, perhaps? Though they might not be genuine CapXon, maybe re-sleeved Fuhjyyu. Still just as good though.
__________________
Please Do Not PM My Page Asking For Help Badcaps Is The Place For Advise, Page Linked For Business Reasons Only. Anyone Doing So Will Be Banned Instantly !

https://www.facebook.com/Telford-Tel...7894576335359/
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:10 PM   #15
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bourgas
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 483
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Why BadCaps doesn't supply the users with so needed CapXons?
I really, really need authentic CapXon-s!
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:24 PM   #16
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,476
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

i'm sure some of us could sell you some cheap "refurbished" ones.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:33 PM   #17
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,123
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Ive got alot of all values, 4 a cap as quite rare to find working
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:52 PM   #18
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bourgas
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 483
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
i'm sure some of us could sell you some cheap "refurbished" ones.
There are things, that can be done only with CapXon-s! Like blowing PSU-s, for example you want to make bomb(?) - just stick C4 on some PSU with CapXons. Perfect detonator. Works flawless. By choosing the correct series of the CapXon brand you can even choose the time for detonation with high precision..

Last edited by televizora; 01-03-2017 at 04:31 PM..
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 04:37 PM   #19
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,476
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

10 years from now, AudioPhiles will be re-sleeving rubycon & panasonic caps with old capxon sleeves to "keep it looking original"
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 06:02 AM   #20
jiroy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Beirut
My Country: Lebanon
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: CapXon, CapXon, CapXon!

Finished repairing a LG Flatron W1943S , and the culprit is one orphan 1000mf 10v , which kept it in stand by . It's a Sus'con a cousin of capXon it seems , lol ..
jiroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?