Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2017, 11:00 AM   #1
zaleon
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: Mobile, AL
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Smile Microsoft Surface Pro 4 UEFI Unlock Request

Hello,

Can someone please take a look at my BIOS dump for my Surface Pro 4 and see if they can remove the password?

I dumped it using the FPTW64 -d bios.bin -BIOS command, so hopefully that is correct.

Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Surface_Pro_4.zip (3.42 MB, 19 views)
zaleon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 02:18 AM   #2
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 601
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 UEFI Unlock Request

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaleon View Post
hello,

can someone please take a look at my bios dump for my surface pro 4 and see if they can remove the password?

I dumped it using the fptw64 -d bios.bin -bios command, so hopefully that is correct.

Thanks!
no the bios is corrupt i think this board bios chip size 16mb you send 10mb.read and save again.
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 05:14 PM   #3
zaleon
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: Mobile, AL
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 UEFI Unlock Request

Quote:
Originally Posted by imranromi View Post
no the bios is corrupt i think this board bios chip size 16mb you send 10mb.read and save again.
Hi imranromi, thanks for your reply. I've been trying all day but the FPT program refuses to output more than the 10240kb as shown in the attached screenshot. FPT reads the total size of the BIOS as 16384kb as you say but when I run the dump command it just not pulling all of it.

I've also been unable to find another BIOS backup tool that works on Windows 10 and the Surface Pro 4.

Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bios_dump.JPG (230.2 KB, 13 views)
zaleon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:58 AM   #4
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 601
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 UEFI Unlock Request

If you remove bios password open laptop find bios chip and use bios programmer read and bkup upload the file. I try remove inside the bios file password.when bkup bios 16mb file need.
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:28 AM   #5
rioreno
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: South Jakarta
My Country: Indonesia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 398
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 UEFI Unlock Request

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaleon View Post
Hello,

Can someone please take a look at my BIOS dump for my Surface Pro 4 and see if they can remove the password?

I dumped it using the FPTW64 -d bios.bin -BIOS command, so hopefully that is correct.

Thanks!
1. To get fulldump 16mb ,try without -BIOS : FPTW64 -d bios.bin
2. To makesure your 10mb dump can be flashing back with FPTW without failed.. please trying flash back your dump... if it successfully flashing back with FPTW , i"ll remove the password from your 10mb
rioreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 08:35 AM   #6
zaleon
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: Mobile, AL
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Cool Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 UEFI Unlock Request

Quote:
Originally Posted by rioreno View Post
1. To get fulldump 16mb ,try without -BIOS : FPTW64 -d bios.bin
2. To makesure your 10mb dump can be flashing back with FPTW without failed.. please trying flash back your dump... if it successfully flashing back with FPTW , i"ll remove the password from your 10mb
Hi, thanks for your reply. I have tried without the -BIOS before and it complained it couldn't read that flash area or something to that affect.

I believe after writing to another member here with the same issue, that iamromroni is correct and the only way to get the full dump is to open up the tablet and read it using a physical programmer.

However, the Surface Pro 4 from what I've read is extremely difficult and time-consuming to get into without damaging it, so I'm not willing to go that far as long as my Windows is still working. I appreciate your assistance in trying to resolve this issue. This is a great forum!
zaleon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?