TC-P42U2 panasonic 42" plasma, 10 blinks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TC-P42U2 panasonic 42" plasma, 10 blinks

Well guys, glad I found this forum, I think. Maybe i'd be better off if I'd resisted the challenge to try and fix this tv after what I've read here and other places on the net but here goes. i'm a car technician so I know "basic" electronics, of course we don't usually replace any components at the dealership level but you have to be able to read a wiring diagram but that still makes me a newbie.. Whoever draws tv wiring diagrams has to be in cahoots with the people that make eyeglasses. To cut to the chase this set has the 10 blink code so I'm hoping that maybe I'll be able to fix it since boards seem to be scarce but this tv is only 4 years old, 2010 model. I've been able to download both the repair manual and the 2010 technical guide and that's been a big help.

By following the guide (hope some of you have a copy) and disconnecting connector SC2 I was able to change the code from 10 blinks to 7 blinks. I disconnected the SM board from the SC board and reconnected the SC2 connector, the tv went back to 10 blinks. So, like many others I must have a bad SC board, right?

I performed the basic resistance checks per the guide with a result of 197k ohms for the first step (floating ground to TPSC1). (with SM connected)

Then I received 2.68k ohms (floating ground to pin 3 of IC724). (with SM connected)

The guide seems to assume that if these checks pass then you should proceed to checks on the SM board but since I have 10 blinks with the SM board totally disconnected my problem must be on the SC board (?).