Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Abit - Asus - Aopen
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2005, 10:38 AM   #1
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

http://www.pcstats.com/NewsView.cfm?NewsID=40744

"You are a member of the proposed Settlement class (the "Class"), if you are within the United States and you purchased one of the following specified Abit Motherboard models during the period January 1, 1999 to the present: BE6, BE6II, BF6, BX-133, KA7, KA7-100, SE6, VH6, VH6II, VH6T, VP6, KT7-RAID, KT7A, KT7A-RAID, VL6, VT6X4, SA6R, AND BX133-RAID. However, the Settlement Class shall not include any persons or entities purchasing Abit Motherboards for resale purposes. To view a detailed Notice of Pendency of Class Action and Proposed Settlement"

http://www.abitsettlement.com/notice.php3

!! Heads up !!

MD
__________________
Ya'll think us folk from the country's real funny-like, dontcha?

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of BADCAPS.NET or any of their affiliates.
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 02:01 PM   #2
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

well spotted dude.

"A Settlement has been reached in the Litigation between the Representative Plaintiff and Abit"

INTERESTING BIT No1 : The Settlement provides that Abit will repair or replace the capacitors on the affected models at no cost to the purchaser.

INTERESTING BIT No2 : For those members of the Class who have incurred direct out-of-pocket expenses in connection with the repair of a motherboard affected by a capacitor failure, Abit will reimburse such Class Members for the cost of repairs, parts, labor, and handling charges in connection with repairing affected capacitors, provided such costs are
reasonable and verifiable.

SO you get either Abit to repair your board or you get TC to repair your board and Abit will pay for it :o :o :evil:

It is a reasonable settlement but a refund of the purchase cost of the board would have been much better. There is no mention of the quality of capacitors that would be installed by abit. ABIT got off lightly anyway. it is a pity it was ABIT though, they took good action to specify rubycon on all their new boards.

So congratulations MR. ERIC SCHONNING who organised the class action. Now lets see you take on MSI.
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 02:41 PM   #3
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default

I'd like to see them try with Hsing Tech..PCChips / Amptron / Protac / Aristo / Minstaple / Eurone / Matsonic / ECS et al...

MD
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 09:10 PM   #4
Fatal0E
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
City & State: OKC
Posts: 246
Default

abit's use of rubycon everywhere is getting spotty, been getting in shipments of KV7's, some with all rubycons, some with an unknown cap, will try to get a picture sometime.

got in some SG-72's today with G-Luxon on them :P
Fatal0E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 03:09 PM   #5
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

damn they are getting sloppy. i guess we are back in business
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 08:23 PM   #6
Bh420
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Default

i got the info about it in my mail today. and am considering just having them replace the caps because i get a two year warrranty.


Scott
Bh420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 08:25 PM   #7
Fomhoire
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
City & State: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willawake
It is a reasonable settlement but a refund of the purchase cost of the board would have been much better. There is no mention of the quality of capacitors that would be installed by abit. ABIT got off lightly anyway. it is a pity it was ABIT though, they took good action to specify rubycon on all their new boards.

Why not just replace the boards with a new model? After the cost of shipping, unpacking, repairing, repacking and shipping the board back to the customer they will be spending at least as much as it would cost THEM to send a new board to the customer. If it were up to me I would just send new boards out and save the cost on labor for repairing the board. Of course companies have some 'principle' they base their decisions on to justify screwing people. It is these kinds of actions that make me think they look at the bad capacitors as a guaranteed way to sell new motherboards several years down the road.
Fomhoire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 08:32 PM   #8
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,774
Default

Stickied.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 07:04 AM   #9
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,255
Default

anyone notice the bp6 is not listed?
imho one of the worst offenders.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 01:37 PM   #10
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default

My BP6 went into the PCB shredder at work...anyone need a spare bios IC...LOL

MD
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 02:32 PM   #11
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

Quote:
After the cost of shipping, unpacking, repairing, repacking and shipping the board back to the customer they will be spending at least as much as it would cost THEM to send a new board to the customer.
an interesting point but i would have to disagree. A well organised company would not have excess production and therefore would not have a lot of old stock in order to supply new boards of the full range to customers. New boards could be made but the cost of setting up a production line for a short run of a large range of boards would not be cost effective.

all the reworking and handling of the RTMs could be subcontracted and perhaps even the costs are covered by Abit's insurance but who knows.

one item which companies are very careful about is setting a precedent in the courts which would put them in a bad position for future claims : a new board or a refund on the purchase price would not be a good precedent for the motherboard manufacturers.

considering the terms of the settlement it appears that the class action was done more to make a point than win a huge settlement. who knows how the case progressed or how the settlement was negotiated

i wonder how many people actually will take advantage of the settlement.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 09:57 PM   #12
Fomhoire
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
City & State: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 8
Default

What I meant is send a new, as in current model, motherboard. I know why they don't do it and I disagree with it. Companies spend as much, if not more, fighting stuff like this than it would cost them to take care of their customers in the first place.

I have an Abit KT7A-Raid. My experience with them over the problems with that board finished me off with Abit. For their cost in the production of the board they could have kept a customer. Instead they chose to send me through RMA hell with the dealer, which refused to take care of the problem because Abit wouldn't reimburse them for the bad boards. I finally got them to allow me to RMA the board, which they sent me a bad board that was sent to them because they thought there was a chance I may not have a problem. Got another board that was bad, wouldn't boot up. Three RMA's to Abit later I gave up and purchased the Epox board. I will not buy Abit boards and I will not work on unstable computers that have Abit boards, and I'm not the only one that feels this way about Abit.

PC Chips/ECS will RMA their crappy boards with less trouble than Abit.

The last KT7A sent to me from Abit is still in the box, never used. I took the chipset fan off it a year ago to replace the fan on this computer.
Fomhoire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 02:05 AM   #13
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

yeh it should have been in the settlement to have the option to have a new current board. i think some of the claimants would want their old comp to be back in action though and not have to pay for new cpu/ram/psu etc.

much easier to repair the board yourself than rma. this problem is not going away so it is good to learn how to recap.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 03:26 PM   #14
Garth
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bh420
i got the info about it in my mail today. and am considering just having them replace the caps because i get a two year warrranty.


Scott
Seems like alot of trouble if everything is working fine.
I have 2 boards included: BE-6 which is working just fine with no apparent cap problems and an SA6 which Abit recapped in 2003.
The SA6 is not on their list only SA6R but Abit did repair it back in 03, I think they made me pay for the shipping to them, I don't remember.
Garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 04:33 PM   #15
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,774
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

I just got a bunch of paperwork in the mail asking if I wished to participate in the class action suit, and to list all boards I've had go bad. That'll be a LONG list!! HAHAHAA I might participate for a couple free boards, I know I have a cooked KT7-RAID and a VP6 laying around that don't work. Anyone else get these?
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 04:42 PM   #16
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

funny to meet the people whose boards i repaired in the street. they never fail to say, "that computer is still working" ABIT boards were good for rework, i think anybody can repair them good. some good caps and that board is good for years, even if i was in US, class action does not interest.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 09:34 PM   #17
ronatl
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

Has the settlement plan gone into action yet? My mobo has been down for about 8 months now. After months of repeated messages to the 800 # on the abitsettlement site I finally got a call back and they told me it hadn't been implemented yet. Meanwhile my desktop is just collecting dust and I'm wondering if I should just scrap it and build a new one.
ronatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 12:51 PM   #18
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

In the amount of time it takes for Abit to get with it, you'd probably be better off to get TopCat to recap it for you...

PS guys

http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews...22_105112.html

Quote:
Abit to migrate half of its capacity to ECS by end of October

September 22, 2005 - 10:51 EST

Abit Computer plans to migrate half of its motherboard capacity, mostly entry-level production, to Elitegroup Computer Systems (ECS) by the end of October, according to the company. Production of Abitís high-end segment will continue to be manufactured at its Suzhou plant in China before agreements with new contract makers are reached, said the company.
Actually nothing new, several Abit boards share a common PCB with ECS/PCChips...in fact the bios for either board will work on the other IIRC...
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 01:08 PM   #19
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Willington
Actually nothing new, several Abit boards share a common PCB with ECS/PCChips...in fact the bios for either board will work on the other IIRC...
Which?
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 03:53 PM   #20
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: *** Class Action Lawsuit Against Abit ***

http://www.msisettlement.com/
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?