Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2014, 10:25 AM   #1
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Originally, this TV had no power as documented here. I've got it up and running now, but I can't seem to get the HDMI inputs to work. One of the component inputs works fine (I've only tested Component 3 and the HDMIs so far), but all of the HDMI inputs say "No Signal" when I hook my 360 up.

Any ideas? Is there usually a reason the HDMI connections stop working?
Are the newer HDMI cables (what I have) backward compatible with older TVs?

Lots of pics in other thread for reference.

Thanks.

Last edited by NihonNoir; 04-20-2014 at 10:31 AM..
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:36 AM   #2
Wabby
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Don't want to sound stupid, but if you have tried all the HDMI inputs with the same cable and the 360 - Maybe try a different cable or a different device?

The 360 may be pumping out a res above what the TV can accept.
Wabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:41 AM   #3
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Well, I thought it might be resolution, but this TV is supposed to be 1080p. I did try both 1080i and 720 on the 360, but no go.

The cable works with my newer LED TV. And unfortunately, my 360 is the only HDMI device I have. I'm a little behind the times . . .

Thanks!
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:57 AM   #4
Alastair E
Chief Womble
 
Alastair E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Swansea, South Wales
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240V
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,964
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Its not unusual for the HDMI controllers to fail--often caused by the implied 'plug/play' of the system.

IMHO--HDMI is Not a Plug/Play system. One or both devices should be completely off and disconnected from the mains supply when the HDMI is installed...
__________________
TELEFIX

How PLASMA SCREENS WORK, X-SUS and Y-SUS what they do--
http://www.irf.com/technical-info/appnotes/an-1088.pdf
PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL ME PRIVATELY FOR REPAIR ADVICE. QUESTIONS BELONG ON THE FORUM!
Alastair E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 12:55 PM   #5
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

. . . well, I read that HDMI is susceptible to power surges, which is likely what happened to this television.

What is the general procedure for repair - a chip on the main board?
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:41 PM   #6
tom66
Wants a Tesla
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 31,832
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

The HDMI chip would need to be replaced but that can be hard to get hold of.
Why do US TVs always suffer so badly from power surges? Worst I've seen was blown fuse & bridge rectifier.
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 28 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed!

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 12 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 11 LG LCD/Plasma, 18 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 22 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 02:14 PM   #7
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

. . . I've always heard that the U.S. is notorious for power surges compared to other developed nations. Old infrastructure maybe.

Would you be able to help me identify where it is?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SDC17701.JPG (1.65 MB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg SDC17207.JPG (1.65 MB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg SDC17217.JPG (1.54 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg SDC17184.JPG (455.6 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by NihonNoir; 04-20-2014 at 02:16 PM..
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 02:16 PM   #8
tom66
Wants a Tesla
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 31,832
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Think the HDMI chip is buried under the shield, which I hope comes off with some screws...
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 02:32 PM   #9
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

. . . knowing this stupid TV, who knows? It's one difficult thing after another with this beast.

Can you tell at all from this pic? Looks to me like there are some screws holding it to the board . . .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SDC17526.JPG (1.63 MB, 31 views)
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 02:46 PM   #10
tom66
Wants a Tesla
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 31,832
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Yeah, I'm just hoping only screws, not solder...
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 03:39 PM   #11
jwilliams1967
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: folkestone kent
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Hi might sound stupid but has your xbox been connected to a tv by its composite cable ? if so it will not output hdmi and you will need to plug it in via composite cable and change output to hdmi. Sorry I don't want to state the obvious but spent hours on my sons xbox and that was the problem
jwilliams1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 05:16 PM   #12
ecking767
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Fort lauderdale Florida
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60Hz
Posts: 470
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilliams1967 View Post
Hi might sound stupid but has your xbox been connected to a tv by its composite cable ? if so it will not output hdmi and you will need to plug it in via composite cable and change output to hdmi. Sorry I don't want to state the obvious but spent hours on my sons xbox and that was the problem
that doesn't sound stupid, that is a good possibility. there is way to reset the xbox by hold some buttons. Also I will reset everything on the TV from the TV menu function.
ecking767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 04:07 PM   #13
SlickClick
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 85
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

I agree that HDMI is NOT a "hot swappable" thing to try and do... I have seen several HDMIs on TVs go unusable for awhile then later work again but eventually the port fried out on those unit cause they didnt listen and now have to use component...

I also tinker with xboxes on the side; depending on the model of the xbox unit there can be an issue with the HDMI port itself; does the HDMI on the xbox work on another tvs HDMI..?

If the xbox works on other TVs than the HDMI chip or port can be shot on the mainboard of the TV...
SlickClick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 06:26 PM   #14
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Thanks for the replies guys. Here's how the Xbox 360 handles video output: If HDMI is hooked up and working, it will show a picture. It might look like crap if the console is not set to 720/1080, but it will still show something. Unlike a TV where one needs to select either component or composite via menu, the output selection on the 360 is automatically detected. Just the quality of the picture is manually changed.

360 works fine on other HDTV.

. . . I have no idea how to reset the TV other than unplugging and holding power button, which doesn't work

Thanks!
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 06:47 PM   #15
ecking767
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Fort lauderdale Florida
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60Hz
Posts: 470
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by NihonNoir View Post
Thanks for the replies guys. Here's how the Xbox 360 handles video output: If HDMI is hooked up and working, it will show a picture. It might look like crap if the console is not set to 720/1080, but it will still show something. Unlike a TV where one needs to select either component or composite via menu, the output selection on the 360 is automatically detected. Just the quality of the picture is manually changed.

360 works fine on other HDTV.

. . . I have no idea how to reset the TV other than unplugging and holding power button, which doesn't work

Thanks!
I remember resetting my a friend xbox because he will travel from one house using HDMI and then at his house he was using composite input. the xbox didn't switch automatically between the two outputs


Resetting your TV to factory can be done from the "MENU" function on the TV. you have to browse through the menu to find it.

I found this on the web:
Reset the console display settings (xbox)

If the display problem is still not resolved, reset the display settings of your console. Here's how:

Remove any discs from the disc tray.
Turn off the console.
Turn on the console.

Note If you are using an Xbox 360 Wireless Controller, turn on the console by using the Guide button on the controller. Make sure that you use the player 1 controller when you do this. The player 1 controller will have the upper-left light illuminated.
As the console starts, on the controller, press and hold Y while pulling the right trigger. The display settings are reset to the default settings, and then the console automatically restarts.

Last edited by ecking767; 04-24-2014 at 06:49 PM..
ecking767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 07:17 PM   #16
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecking767 View Post
I remember resetting my a friend xbox because he will travel from one house using HDMI and then at his house he was using composite input. the xbox didn't switch automatically between the two outputs
That's abnormal behaviour. By design, the 360 will automatically detect what kind of connection is being used. Mine has no trouble switching automatically between an SD and an HD connection on its own.

Thanks for the information. That just resets the resolution, tho.

There's no menu button on the television.
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 07:37 PM   #17
ecking767
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Fort lauderdale Florida
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60Hz
Posts: 470
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

here is a link to your TV user manual, review page 6 and page 18 maybe this will help

page 6 you will need the original remote to reset the tv

page 18 are setting on the HDMI port input

http://us.sanyo.com/dynamic/product/...9-15947801.pdf

Last edited by ecking767; 04-24-2014 at 07:48 PM..
ecking767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 10:57 AM   #18
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Thanks for the info. I'll have to try to get a remote off eBay for it. Can't believe they didn't put a menu button on the TV . . .
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 01:01 PM   #19
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
Think the HDMI chip is buried under the shield, which I hope comes off with some screws...
Finally found some time to mess around with this TV again. The shield does come off easily - here are some photos.

To recap: this is the television that didn't work at all, likely as the result of a power surge. Got it working, but none of the HDMI ports work.

Component works, but it has trouble displaying darker colour saturation without pixelating. Not sure if that's normal for a large TV, or if that's an issue with this particular model, or what.

Any ideas would be helpful, thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SDC18516.JPG (1.62 MB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg SDC18517.JPG (1.56 MB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg SDC18519.JPG (1.59 MB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg SDC18520.JPG (1.65 MB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg SDC18521.JPG (1.63 MB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg SDC18522.JPG (1.65 MB, 12 views)
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 10:28 PM   #20
NihonNoir
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: GSO, NC
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 221
Default Re: Sanyo DP42849 - HDMI Doesn't Work

Bump
NihonNoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?