Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 05:22 AM   #1
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Dell E173FPb

Hey I have in my hands a Dell E173FPb that I have replaced all secondary caps in fired it up and it was flashing on off then I come to a conclusion this could be bad solder joints on the transformer so soldered these and then reapplied new solder.
Still no go!

the screen has power green light ect. then screen has a picture torch test successful.

now I'm taking out transistors on the inverter side and I have come across ones that should be 6.8k but read 6.7 is this normal for a transistor to be off by that much or should i change all the ones not giving the correct values?
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:17 AM   #2
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,865
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Have you read this
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10419
Post 19 on.

I like to test the inverter transformers early on - its quick and easy and they
often seem to be the problem.

The transistors - I dont know - but if they have gone- they have usually
really gone.

This is a benq board? almost all the high voltage lamp side joints need resoldering, not just the transformers.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,887
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Check the tuning caps (Gray or Yellow rectangular shape next to the Inverter transformer aslo for the value and leakage resistance). There are more than one version of this model. Post the pictures of the board will help, and use inverter tester lamp to narrow down the cause of the problem also.
http://s807.photobucket.com/albums/y...ell%20E173FPb/
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:02 PM   #4
RacerX10
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Just fixed my E173FP ..
Had (2) bad 1000uF 16v caps. Remove / Replace / Shazam !

RacerX10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 05:00 AM   #5
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,865
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Quote:
Originally Posted by RacerX10 View Post
Just fixed my E173FP ..
Had (2) bad 1000uF 16v caps. Remove / Replace / Shazam !

Well done!, I think - That is not reallly a lot of help to anyone. Perhaps if you had said what the problem was, how you worked out what the cause was.
If you had given the board number of the board you fixed and the board part numbers it would
have been considered useful.
( Deep down I am thinking the caps you didnt replace will fail and take out a string of other parts.)
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:25 AM   #6
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Looks like both transistor, no fuses are blown thank god.
Thought I was going to have to salvage some out of a 90002 model ps2 thats no good for mcboot and ended up mucking up a mod chip install on it.

Are them transistors cheap?
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:43 AM   #7
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,865
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Probably not - ebay from china, but there a quite a few transistors in a monitor, we have no pictures and no part numbers so it is difficult to comment on "Them transistors".
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:48 AM   #8
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Yeah I could take a photo but its going look like I used a potato camera.

but for reference they are the same as this.

http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/y...g?t=1314639026
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:06 AM   #9
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,865
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

You should replace all 4 as they work in pairs, and the grey block caps.

Test the transistors again after removal.

Did you test the inverter transformers yet?
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:14 AM   #10
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Yup they seem all good
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:15 AM   #11
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

except the transistors which aren't giving any readings on some pins.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 11:04 AM   #12
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,865
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amraks View Post
Yup they seem all good
It would help us know they were good if you posted numerical results

Are you testing transistors as follows:
a) put black probe (com) on pin 1 and red probe on pin 2 - read ohm
b) put black probe (com) on pin 1 and red probe on pin 3 - read ohm
c) put black probe (com) on pin 2 and red probe on pin 3 - read ohm

If any ohm reading is less than 20 ohm you have a shorted transistor and it will need to be replaced.


Apparently Jaycar might have them or a substitute.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:57 PM   #13
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Only have this place close by to me.

http://www.leadingedgeelectronics.com.au

Jaycar is 2 half hours away drive, we need a bullet train.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:15 AM   #14
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Dell E173FPb

Monitors arent worth much money where I am.

Its because the person buying them hasn't not considered the economy at the moment.

he reckons he had to drop prices because people aren't buying them its because our economy is not very good.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?