Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
newbie1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: South-east Asia
Posts: 197
Default T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Hey Guys,

I am encountering a problem with this LCD TV T-con board above which I am hoping the experts here can advise me. Please excuse the flash in the photo/s below. I was taking them when there is not much sun shining here. Ok here goes…

T-con board model : V315B1-C01 found in Samsung (mine is LA32S81B) and if I am not mistaken, some of Chimei LCD TV models.

Symptom/Fault of the TV: I plugged in the TV to the Mains and Power LED standby light up. I switched on the TV, Power LED blinks 4 times (normal) but no chime was heard (abnormal). The backlight lights up but the screen is black with some vertical lines and a buzzing sound on the speaker. I decided to leave it on for a few more seconds & I could smell burnt on the back of the panel near the top (middle) of the TV. I disassemble the back panel & remove the metal cover of the T-con. Indeed a burnt SMD capacitor (CP15) can be found on the T-con. Using my multimeter, I measured shorted across it. I removed it & measured again & it is no longer shorted. I decided to leave CP15 empty & fix it to the back of the TV again. This time when I switched on the TV, Power LED blinks 4 times & a chime sound is heard (normal). Pictures appear on the screen but are washed out (negative mode). After a while, the image was better but the color especially black, contrast, gamma was off, not as a normal TV (Sorry I could not take a image of it as I have now already removed the T-con). Black image/background do have colored, fuzzy lines on them. The lines will go away if I increase the brightness though. Hope I am describing it correctly.

I have also confirmed that the other SMDs capacitors lining up above & bottom of the burnt one (CP26, CP21, CP23, CP20) are inter-connected together (parallel?). 1 point on them is connected to the VDA point (below the label C46) while the other point is grounded. VDA is measure 13.65V to Gnd. I did experiment by wiring up the 2 point of the burnt SMD capacitor & placing a Electrolyte capacitor (ranging from 1uf to 47uf) across it but still the image is not normal. I do not have a capacitance meter.

So what do you guys think? Should I just buy the whole T-con board set which I think will cost me around US$40 (including shipping from China)? TRY to replace the burnt SMD capacitor? But if I do that, I do not have the information what is the capacitance of the original burnt SMD capacitor or if there is other components failure on the T-con board. Many thanks in advance for all the feedback/s provided.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF4499.jpg (615.7 KB, 538 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF4503.jpg (451.3 KB, 514 views)
newbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 01:20 AM   #2
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,156
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie1 View Post
So what do you guys think? Should I just buy the whole T-con board set which I think will cost me around US$40 (including shipping from China)? TRY to replace the burnt SMD capacitor?
Depends on how much your time is worth.

Personally, I would try replacing the burned ceramic capacitor. You don't really need to know the info on it - just grab another ceramic capacitor that has the same size. Junk motherboards and video cards should have plenty of these.

If that doesn't fix the problem, check the voltage on test points VDD, VGL, and VGH. VGL should be negative (typically -5 to -15V depending on the t-con design), and VGH is typically 15-35V. Post what results you get.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:47 PM   #3
newbie1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: South-east Asia
Posts: 197
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Thanks momaka.

I managed to find an SMD capacitor from graphics card. Same length but it is thinner. Replaced it and the image was initially dark (negative) but slowly producing a much proper image. However, the black areas are having colored lines on them (See first photo). I then realized that the picture is in ‘Dynamic’ mode setting. I changed to ‘Standard’ mode and the image is better (See second photo). However, in ‘Standard’ mode the white area of the display is more yellowish than white.

Measurements taken from the T-con board are:
VDD = 3.3V
VGH = 18.7V
VGL = -5.5v
VDA = 13.6V

Do you guys think that the T-con is causing the description above or is the logic board faulty? If it is the logic board, then i guess I have to live with it as I am not sure I can get a used one for cheap.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF4514.jpg (330.2 KB, 337 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF4513.jpg (457.2 KB, 295 views)
newbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:57 AM   #4
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,156
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie1 View Post
Measurements taken from the T-con board are:
VDD = 3.3V
VGH = 18.7V
VGL = -5.5v
VDA = 13.6V
I can't confirm that VGH and VGL are 100% correct since I don't have the service manual for this TV, but they still seem okay. The other voltages are fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie1 View Post
Do you guys think that the T-con is causing the description above or is the logic board faulty?
Not sure. Check the TV's menus - do they appear to have the same problem as the picture or is the color there fine. If the color in the menus is fine, then it's most likely a faulty logic board. If the menus have the same problem as the picture, then it's most likely the t-con.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 10:46 PM   #5
newbie1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: South-east Asia
Posts: 197
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Not sure. Check the TV's menus - do they appear to have the same problem as the picture or is the color there fine. If the color in the menus is fine, then it's most likely a faulty logic board. If the menus have the same problem as the picture, then it's most likely the t-con.
Thank you momaka for the tips/hint. I will check it out but if i recalled correctly, seems like the TV menu is having the same problem as well. Will try to source for a spare t-con to test it.
newbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:09 PM   #6
hicham2120
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

j'ai presque la même problème je pense que le t-con
hicham2120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 08:54 AM   #7
newbie1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: South-east Asia
Posts: 197
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Merci pour vos commentaires. Avez-vous acheté un nouveau t-con et at-il résoudre le problème?
newbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 06:49 PM   #8
newbie1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: South-east Asia
Posts: 197
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Hi Guys,

Just an update. Replacing the whole T-Con board solve the problem. Thank you guys for all your input/s..
newbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:08 PM   #9
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,665
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

You can figure out the value of the shorted out cap bu remove the other one that is in parallel with the bad one then use the C meter to read the value, they use them in parallel to get large enough capacitance so they will low profile instead of large electrolytic cap with high profile.
See my pictures here:
http://s807.photobucket.com/albums/y...NS-LCD37HD-09/
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 03:48 AM   #10
malik4
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
City & State: punjab
My Country: pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

i have samsung lcd model la32s81b
problame

pictures negative and menu
malik4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 04:59 AM   #11
shariq
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
City & State: hyderabad
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

hi friends i have 32bx350 sony lcd tv 3.3v and 12v are ok from ps front red led not glowing any help
shariq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 11:50 AM   #12
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: T-Con board V315B1-C01 shorted SMD capacitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by malik4 View Post
i have samsung lcd model la32s81b
problame

pictures negative and menu
If you have the same t-con replace the as15 chip that controls gamma.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:58 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?