Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2004, 05:01 PM   #1
Bh420
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Default Antec True430 ATX Supply BAD CAPS ARRGGHH!![NOT 56K FRNDLY]

Hi its me again just reporting some more badcaps... GRRR
this is one wierd beast here it acts the most strange when cold like when its shut off once it warms it seems to work fine.. go figure...
dont know if its worth the time to just recap it im thinking it is since there isnt as much fine soldering work in one of these compared to a mobo.
any suggestions on brand or what not. other then this cap problem its a great supply. Note: supply is just over a year old I'd guess 1YR 3 MONTHS

Scott

P.S. will answer just about an questions so just ask..





[/img]
Bh420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:05 PM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,942
Default

DAMN! That's the first Antec I've seen with the plague! I've seen a lot of Powmax and 'Deer' PSU's with bad caps, but never an Antec...

Thanks for sharing that!
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:25 PM   #3
Bh420
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Default

you think replacing those caps with some good nichions of teh same rating will bring it right back up to tip top shape ?
Bh420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:34 PM   #4
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,942
Default

It depends on the nature of the failure. Does the PSU blow fuses? Also check your switching MOSFETS for shorts. If those are shorted also, you're probably better off just replacing the unit. However, if the PSU is still working, but flaky, I would say that replacing the caps would fix the problems.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:54 PM   #5
Bh420
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Default

nope no fuse problems or anythiong like that it seems to be just flucuating voltages and what not it will come on everytime. powers up just fine no smoke or nothing. it seems to just act funny like that tell it warms up.
Bh420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 07:19 PM   #6
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,942
Default

That being the case, I would bet money some new caps will cure it! Recap it and let us know the results... I'm curious now myself, although I'm sure new caps will fix.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 12:08 PM   #7
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

Thats really dissapointing, Antec cases are my favourite...indestructible construction. We get the Chieftec versions here. So having installed a considerable amount of new PCs in Chieftec cases I opened up a PSU and some others I have here.

Chieftec HPC-360-202 : Teapo and Jenpo caps
Zalman ZM400A-APF : Teapo and Capxon caps
Addtronics ENP-0735 : Teapo and WG caps

Given the talk about Teapo on this forum it is pretty dissapointing to find them in what I would call premium psu units. We will have to see what happens.

Guess we will have to add fuhjyyu to the list to avoid.
http://www.fuhjyyu.com.tw/
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 04:13 PM   #8
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,176
Default

post a pic of those caps when you pull them.
do you know the brand?
btw i have seen a rash of teapo failures.
you would think that a company making a premium product would use better parts.
bean counters ruin another brand!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 01:43 PM   #9
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,176
Default

duhh!
now i see the brand.
dont recall seeing those before.
ya try to cheap out and it bites ya in the ass every time.
some mfrs will never learn.or do they even care?
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 06:29 AM   #10
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

Just bought some 4U Rackmount cases Vasco PE-200 http://www.vasco.de/
They are well built and fit for what i need them. Checked one PSU unit which seems well built. Unfortunately has the same manufacturer of caps as Scott, namely Fujyyu although these are model TNR 3300mf 10V whilst Scott's are 2200mf 16V TMR. Has also Jamicon and Teapo.

I will continue my search for a PSU with good caps. If anybody finds one please let me know. The thing is that most PSU units although they are branded are oem manufactured by one of the major PSU manufacturers in Taiwan. So we would expect local caps to be used.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 07:24 AM   #11
Sean
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Alexandria, VA USA
Posts: 10
Default

Noooooo not Antec Truepowers too

Has anyone had a Sparkle/Fortron or PC Power and Cooling PSU exhibit this?
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 07:25 AM   #12
Sean
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Alexandria, VA USA
Posts: 10
Default

One other thing...can't excessive heat swell an otherwise good cap?
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2004, 08:05 AM   #13
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,176
Default

i have seen bulged caps in a supply that had a fan failure.
they were nichicons and sanyos
there was other evidence too.
the fan itself was warped from the heat.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2004, 12:19 PM   #14
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,942
Default

KC8, got any pics of the vented Sanyo's and Nichicons?

Every PSU I saw that had overheated usually BBQ'd the switching FET's long before the caps ever had a chance to vent.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 08:38 AM   #15
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,176
Default

i already pitched them.
didnt list them here as it was not a bad cap problem.
any cap will vent if overheated.
it was a proprietary bastard supply so the only easy way to fix the box was rebuild the psu.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 08:46 AM   #16
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,176
Default

i can also confirm the fuhjyyu caps are junk.
a friends duallie started bsod ing and the +5 was loaded with noise.
psu had a mix of fuhjyyu and rubycon.
all the fuhjyyu had vented/leaked.
this is an antec too.
i suspected cap trouble as the bsod problem was getting worse over a few weeks and was never the same error.
stable again since the recap.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 12:34 AM   #17
Bh420
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Default

i havent gotten around to recapping teh psu yet but i havent forgot about it hehehe.... need to get some caps to replace it and i started looking and got distracted.. life aint it great. anyone know of a good vendor to get some caps for it ?

topcat how many caps did you replace and what model number was that supply ?

i think im going to go thru with recapping it and that KA7-100 board of mine next month..

Scott
KC7WDG
Bh420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 02:29 PM   #18
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,942
Default

I honestly don't remember what model and how many I replaced on the PSU (I've slept since then)..... I no longer have the PSU in my posession... Sorry...

If you need caps for your KA7, I have a kit for that board, if you want one shoot me a PM or an email. If you're outside the US, there's also www.digikey.com. They're expensive, but will ship internationally.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?