Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2010, 06:14 AM   #21
Mishannya
Badcaps Junior
 
Mishannya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 31
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

OK. I've just found 3 dry caps (C603,606 and 707). Going to buy repair kit and replace all of them. Thanks to every body for your support.
Mishannya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:04 AM   #22
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,139
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishannya View Post
OK. I've just found 3 dry caps (C603,606 and 707). Going to buy repair kit and replace all of them. Thanks to every body for your support.
Make sure your kit includes ALL the caps. I've seen some kits that leave out the small caps.
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:04 AM   #23
Mishannya
Badcaps Junior
 
Mishannya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 31
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Thanks for your advice.
Mishannya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 11:05 AM   #24
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,088
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishannya View Post
OK. I've just found 3 dry caps (C603,606 and 707). Going to buy repair kit and replace all of them.
Let us know if new caps solve the problem or not.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 12:05 PM   #25
Mishannya
Badcaps Junior
 
Mishannya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 31
Thumbs up Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

I will. Thanks for your help.
Mishannya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:53 AM   #26
Mishannya
Badcaps Junior
 
Mishannya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 31
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Just repaired my Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor. Replacing 3 dry caps (C603,606 and 707 & couple more small one) returned monitor back to normal life. Thanks to every one for help and support. Best regards.
Mishannya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 06:15 PM   #27
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,088
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishannya View Post
Just repaired my Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor. Replacing 3 dry caps (C603,606 and 707 & couple more small one) returned monitor back to normal life.
Good work. Saving a 28 inch monitor from the landfill is a good feeling.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 12:54 AM   #28
rushstrike
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

I have a problem with this monitor where it takes about 50 tries to get it to turn on. Once it is on everything works perfectly. Is there a good way to test the power supply board? I would like to plug in the AC power and turn on the board without using the monitor's power button. I see that in the back there's a printout that says PSON so I wonder if I can use that some how to turn the board on. Let me know of any suggestion. Thanks.
rushstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 01:43 AM   #29
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Did you check the switch?
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:44 AM   #30
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by rushstrike View Post
I have a problem with this monitor where it takes about 50 tries to get it to turn on. Once it is on everything works perfectly. Is there a good way to test the power supply board? I would like to plug in the AC power and turn on the board without using the monitor's power button. I see that in the back there's a printout that says PSON so I wonder if I can use that some how to turn the board on. Let me know of any suggestion. Thanks.
Perhaps a little more detail would help. Do you have to hit the power button on the monitor repeatedly to get it to turn on, or does the problem occur when you apply AC power?

The power supply in this monitor is a dual design - the standby section of the monitor is always on and takes only a few watts (possibly less than 1 watt). The main section is switched on only when it is active and draws most of the power.

The symptoms you describe sound like bad capacitors, and the layout of the power supply looks like it was designed to kill caps!!

PlainBill
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 10:28 AM   #31
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,139
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by rushstrike View Post
I have a problem with this monitor where it takes about 50 tries to get it to turn on. Once it is on everything works perfectly. Is there a good way to test the power supply board? I would like to plug in the AC power and turn on the board without using the monitor's power button. I see that in the back there's a printout that says PSON so I wonder if I can use that some how to turn the board on. Let me know of any suggestion. Thanks.

Please post some photos (top and bottom) of the power board per PlainBill's links in Post #30.
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 10:52 AM   #32
rushstrike
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Yes the switch has been physically checked. It seems to open and close just fine using an ohm meter. According to this post, it seems that the problem is most likely due to the power supply board. If I unplug the AC cord and replug it into the wall, it seems like it has a better chance of turning on than me just repeatedly hitting the power switch. I will take some photos once I am home from work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCBONEZ View Post
Did you check the switch?
rushstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 03:52 PM   #33
rushstrike
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill View Post
Perhaps a little more detail would help. Do you have to hit the power button on the monitor repeatedly to get it to turn on, or does the problem occur when you apply AC power?

The power supply in this monitor is a dual design - the standby section of the monitor is always on and takes only a few watts (possibly less than 1 watt). The main section is switched on only when it is active and draws most of the power.

The symptoms you describe sound like bad capacitors, and the layout of the power supply looks like it was designed to kill caps!!

PlainBill
The monitor can sometime turn itself on right when I plug in the AC power. Then sometimes it can turn on when I try to press the power button repeatedly. Once I can turn it on, I can turn it off and on for about 5 times consecutively before it stops responding.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0112.jpg (325.6 KB, 742 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0120.JPG (1.29 MB, 503 views)
rushstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:02 PM   #34
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,139
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

My initial guess is the startup capacitor is acting up. It's under that metal cover. Can you remove it and retake the photo?
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:03 PM   #35
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,088
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by rushstrike View Post
The monitor can sometime turn itself on right when I plug in the AC power. Then sometimes it can turn on when I try to press the power button repeatedly. Once I can turn it on, I can turn it off and on for about 5 times consecutively before it stops responding.
Like the OP, all his caps looked good (no bloating), but after testing with an ESR meter, he found 3 dry caps and proceeded to switch them all out and save a 28 inch monitor.

If you have a multimeter, see if you get stable 5V STB DC (details in previous posts).
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:48 PM   #36
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

As is common for larger monitors, there is a PFC front end on this power supply. MORE complication. I would agree with retiredcaps. Do replace all electrolytics, especially the tiny ones.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:27 PM   #37
rushstrike
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetadm123 View Post
My initial guess is the startup capacitor is acting up. It's under that metal cover. Can you remove it and retake the photo?
I think I will try to check the caps first with the ESR meter since I have to desolder this cap in order to remove that metal cover. I dont have a soldering iron with me atm.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0121.jpg (354.0 KB, 684 views)
rushstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 04:12 AM   #38
Fatweed
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Hi there,
Just to add my 2 cents, I had a dead Hanns-G HG281D too, and after following the advice and info here I managed to get this dead monitor working again.
There were 3 dry caps that were measuring low/incorrect capacitance once removed from the power supply, which were C603,606 and 707 also found by Mishannya. (these caps did not look puffy or leak either on inspection)

Many thanks to this great site!
Fatweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 11:20 PM   #39
algomez
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

I'm in the process of recapping the power board on my HG281D as well. Ordered the caps from Digi-key, on their way now.

Mine turns on for a while (15 mins or so) then shuts off. I can turn it on again and same thing happens except it shuts off within ~10-20 secs.

My power board looks different than yours and has a manufactured date of May 2009. Here is a pic with cap values:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HANNSGPOWER.jpg (281.0 KB, 972 views)
algomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 07:52 AM   #40
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,139
Default Re: Hanns-G HG281D, LCD Monitor no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by algomez View Post
I'm in the process of recapping the power board on my HG281D as well. Ordered the caps from Digi-key, on their way now.

Mine turns on for a while (15 mins or so) then shuts off. I can turn it on again and same thing happens except it shuts off within ~10-20 secs.

My power board looks different than yours and has a manufactured date of May 2009. Here is a pic with cap values:

Your monitor is under 2 years old. Isn't it still under warranty? It would be suprising if the cap(s) failed that quickly.
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?