Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2023, 05:46 PM   #1
old_marantz
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
City & State: Salt Lake Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

I have a monitor audio subwoofer rxw12 that is clicking. Avsforms has a thread on this and I saw someone posted schematics here for it. Since I’m a newbie and no one here in salt lake will work on it, I guess I’m elected.

Supposedly the issue is “ smd type and located on the soldering side of the amplifier board”. Can you experts help me identify which one it might be? And what to order? How difficult to put these in? I’ve replaced caps before but just eyeballing what these resisters might be on the board, they look pretty small.

I saw some utube videos on these resisters so hopefully that will be helpful.

I have 4 of these subs and this is a common issue in them. So I better learn how to fix if I have 4.

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...ighlight=Rxw12

Last edited by old_marantz; 08-20-2023 at 05:49 PM..
old_marantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2023, 05:54 PM   #2
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,781
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

post some pics of it and explain the problem better . and a link to the supposed fix .
petehall347 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2023, 09:38 PM   #3
old_marantz
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
City & State: Salt Lake Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

https://www.avforums.com/threads/mon...cking.2378009/
old_marantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2023, 09:43 PM   #4
old_marantz
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
City & State: Salt Lake Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Pics
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2913.jpg (171.1 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2914.jpg (136.5 KB, 12 views)
old_marantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2023, 09:12 AM   #5
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Post the PCB picture in much higher resolution please.
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2023, 10:52 PM   #6
old_marantz
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
City & State: Salt Lake Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Just an fyi I noticed most of the 500w (and other lower wattages) Subwoofers that MA makes all have the same size cabinets and holes for the plate amp. So I contacted them and I just ordered a newer plate amp to go into my cabinet and reuse my speaker. Obviously they sorta tweak these and supposedly add newer features to the newer plate amp. So, for just under $400, you get their latest plate amp that will drop into your existing sub cabinet and reuse speaker. So, just do a little home work and make sure a newer plate amp will work for you.

Just another way to fix you broken MA sub. Ya, more expensive if you don’t have electronic diagnostic skills. But, still much cheaper than their newer 500watt sub at $2200.

I’m about to retire so I’ll keep the old plate amp and try and fix it with my future spare time.
old_marantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2023, 02:16 PM   #7
foisamoi
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
City & State: Attica
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Hi, from Greece can anyone to help me
I want to know what is the voltage in the circle up left.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thumbnail_power_supply.jpg (243.0 KB, 10 views)
foisamoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2023, 10:02 AM   #8
dobrykamil
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Antrim
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by foisamoi View Post
Hi, from Greece can anyone to help me
I want to know what is the voltage in the circle up left.
Don't remember exact value, but VCP is around 16-17V, so VIB should be a bit less than that.
dobrykamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2023, 12:07 AM   #9
foisamoi
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
City & State: Attica
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by dobrykamil View Post
Don't remember exact value, but VCP is around 16-17V, so VIB should be a bit less than that.
thank you very much
foisamoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2023, 08:54 AM   #10
foisamoi
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
City & State: Attica
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Can you tell me which transformer is in the blue circle?
thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20210730_232244.jpg (482.1 KB, 10 views)
foisamoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2023, 10:51 AM   #11
dobrykamil
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Antrim
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by foisamoi View Post
Can you tell me which transformer is in the blue circle?
thank you.
That's the standby psu transformer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20210730_232244.jpg (952.1 KB, 7 views)
dobrykamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2023, 04:49 AM   #12
foisamoi
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
City & State: Attica
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by dobrykamil View Post
That's the standby psu transformer.
I installed 2 transformers +12v and -12v, but the previous transformer also gave a voltage of 16-17 to get voltage to the vcp.
Do you know of a way to get voltage to the vcp or find the previous transformer as a spare part.
thank you very much
foisamoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2023, 12:24 PM   #13
dobrykamil
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Antrim
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Help monitor audio rxw-12 subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by foisamoi View Post
I installed 2 transformers +12v and -12v, but the previous transformer also gave a voltage of 16-17 to get voltage to the vcp.
Do you know of a way to get voltage to the vcp or find the previous transformer as a spare part.
thank you very much
That small transformer is only there to provide positive and negative, standby power rails. All other ones are generated by large-main transformer.
dobrykamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?