Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2021, 04:59 AM   #1
ERS
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Lisboa
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Technicolor TG789vac v2

Hi,

Does anyone have any schematics from this equipment? Component datasheets, anything!

Thanks!
ERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 05:33 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,363
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

is it a router?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 05:45 AM   #3
ERS
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Lisboa
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
is it a router?
Yes!
ERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 12:24 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,363
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

cant find any info yet - technicolour are usually isp supplied junk that has other names on the outside though.

whats wrong with it?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 12:54 PM   #5
ERS
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Lisboa
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
cant find any info yet - technicolour are usually isp supplied junk that has other names on the outside though.

whats wrong with it?
Actually it is not one unit, most likely, I will receive a batch of equipments to be rapaired and at this point I am researching the most common faulty components.

I already analized and found some, fixed with components from donor equipments that were tested OK, but the main problem here is that there are quite components that I cant find datasheets.

Thanks!
ERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 04:20 PM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,363
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

main parts that fail in routers, electrolytic caps,
and eventually wifi chipsets.
if they have been in a storm then sometimes a transformer or network chip or related ceramic caps

unless they are very high spec - like VDSL2 with atleast 5 gigabit ethernet ports, they arent worth touching.
you can get 5 port VDSL2 routers that are OpenWRT compatable and still new in the box on ebay for about €15
i have a couple.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 05:13 PM   #7
ERS
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Lisboa
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

When it comes to Lan controller, Wifi controller and CPU, forget about it, BGA with profile needed! Not worth it!

Yes, most fixable parts are LAN port, all ports 1gigabit, dc plug, power button and some smd caps in short circuit.

The second picture, the power circuit, I think it is most likely a transistor, and in the first picture, it's the phone circuit, I think those components are some dc converters.

Anyway, both cases I can't get any datasheets

Any opinion is welcome!

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png line.PNG (562.9 KB, 6 views)
File Type: png power.PNG (568.0 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by ERS; 10-02-2021 at 05:16 PM.. Reason: wrong order of text relating to attachments
ERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 05:45 AM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,363
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

what's printed on the part?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 06:24 AM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,363
Default Re: Technicolor TG789vac v2

so i found these:
https://openwrt.org/inbox/toh/technicolor/tg789vac_v2

https://www.choice.com.au/products/e...89vac-v2-iinet

read the comments section of the second link.
these things have a lot of issues!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?