Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2017, 11:22 AM   #1
crosswinds
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Nordic
My Country: Sweden
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Amiga 500 PSU

Hello!

So i am replacing all the caps in an old Amiga 500 PSU.

Now, im not quite sure about the main 400v 47uF cap.

The one my supplier had that was exact in the values, and closest in dimension is a Panasonic EEUEE2G470S
Now, this one have very thin legs, and the original have quite "beefy" Please see this image:

https://ibb.co/cfB9Pb

Can i still use it, you think?
crosswinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:36 PM   #2
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,178
Default Re: Amiga 500 PSU

Yes.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 03:31 PM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,921
Default Re: Amiga 500 PSU

the original is not "radial", it's "10mm snap-in" type.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 02:49 PM   #4
crosswinds
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Nordic
My Country: Sweden
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: Amiga 500 PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
Yes.
Great! Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
the original is not "radial", it's "10mm snap-in" type.
Thank you! No wonder why I didn’t find the right “form factor” hehe
crosswinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 12:59 AM   #5
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 50°4'52.22"N, 14°23'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: Amiga 500 PSU

You sure it's bad? Marcon made good caps AFAIK, although after so many years they could fail, sure. Still, input caps with ordinary PFC-less circuits usually last long. You can use pretty much anything if it fits physically, it just filters the rectified grid voltage.
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 11:35 AM   #6
crosswinds
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Nordic
My Country: Sweden
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: Amiga 500 PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
You sure it's bad? Marcon made good caps AFAIK, although after so many years they could fail, sure. Still, input caps with ordinary PFC-less circuits usually last long. You can use pretty much anything if it fits physically, it just filters the rectified grid voltage.
Actually, the PSU is fully functional.
However I plan to use it quite a bit more now so this is a precautionary measure

All the caps actually read good ESR so that’s quite surprising after all these years.

But I hope this will prolong the life of the psu
crosswinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 06:10 AM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,921
Default Re: Amiga 500 PSU

the usual problem in amiga psu's is cracked soldering to the parts on the heatsink.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?