Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Appliances and other Household Electronic Stuff
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2023, 01:43 PM   #1
GraphicMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Cairo
My Country: Egypt
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 47
Default Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

Device works randomly for 1 sec for every 20 trial
so it is not really dead
by removing the relay top and pushing its mechanism the motor works normally but ofcourse while bypassing the speed control
I am not sure if the relay was the issue or something else
I have a question, how this relay works when I cant see any 24vdc supply
on the pcb to power it
hope to hear from you guys
here is video for how i bypassed the relay
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKZg_bcCrR8
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6694-01.jpg (336.8 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6695-01.jpg (196.3 KB, 12 views)
GraphicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 03:51 PM   #2
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: Russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,674
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

You have a transformerless power supply with a quenching capacitor, so measure the capacitance of this capacitor and if its capacitance has decreased, then replace it with the same one.
Attached Images
File Type: png Cx.PNG (1.42 MB, 16 views)
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 04:01 PM   #3
GraphicMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Cairo
My Country: Egypt
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 47
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
You have a transformerless power supply with a quenching capacitor, so measure the capacitance of this capacitor and if its capacitance has decreased, then replace it with the same one.
very true and i have already tested that cap outside the pcb and it is actually giving me about 2 times its rating, any idea what does that mean?
the cap looks good btw
thank you
GraphicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 11:51 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

double the rated value is a false reading caused by internal electrical leakage between the plates.
the caps bad and it's tricking the meter.

a meter designed for the job would show uF, ESR, and Leakage,
the uF would still be shown wrong, but the Leakage would show up.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2023, 03:37 AM   #5
GraphicMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Cairo
My Country: Egypt
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 47
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
double the rated value is a false reading caused by internal electrical leakage between the plates.
the caps bad and it's tricking the meter.

a meter designed for the job would show uF, ESR, and Leakage,
the uF would still be shown wrong, but the Leakage would show up.
ok I will replace it and let you know how it went
thank you very much for your support
GraphicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2023, 11:03 AM   #6
GraphicMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Cairo
My Country: Egypt
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 47
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

thank you so much, worked perfectly by replacing the cap))
GraphicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2023, 11:22 AM   #7
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: Russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,674
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

Congratulations, it would be nice to replace another relay.
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2023, 01:31 PM   #8
GraphicMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Cairo
My Country: Egypt
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 47
Default Re: Kenwood K266 kitchen machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
Congratulations, it would be nice to replace another relay.
yup already got one also
thank you guys, you are really life savers
GraphicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?