Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2021, 06:53 PM   #1
Uranium-235
Badcaps Veteran
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,406
Default Think I would need to recap this Sunfire bi-wired amp ?

Sunfire bi-wired amp. Not sure if it's the 300w version or 600w version

stored in a cool place. Not turned on for like, 30 years

I'm worried about the big two after the rectifier. But if anything else catches your eye please speak up

dried out, obviously not bloated
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20211013_180651.jpg (616.1 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 20211013_180719.jpg (567.2 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg 20211013_180857.jpg (637.8 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 20211013_180919.jpg (538.4 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg 20211013_180924.jpg (396.3 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 20211013_181301.jpg (428.0 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me

Last edited by Uranium-235; 10-13-2021 at 06:56 PM..
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2021, 02:11 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,363
Default Re: Think I would need to recap this?

you could charge the caps with some AA batteries just to reduce the chances of them being de-polarised
or even better if you have a bench supply with a computer interface.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2021, 02:11 PM   #3
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,816
Default Re: Think I would need to recap this Sunfire bi-wired amp ?

i'd reform these big caps with a bench power supply and put them back in service.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2021, 07:12 PM   #4
Uranium-235
Badcaps Veteran
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,406
Default Re: Think I would need to recap this Sunfire bi-wired amp ?

I have no bench PSU.

Are these just likely high ripple power caps?
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:31 AM   #5
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,816
Default Re: Think I would need to recap this Sunfire bi-wired amp ?

Then just do what stj said with the battery trick. Better than nothing. Or using a variable transformer and bring the voltage up slowly.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?