Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2020, 11:20 AM   #21
SolomonMan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Deshler,Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

All,
Thanks for the advice...

Can someone chime in where (due to my limited experience and this being my first Oscilloscope (to be used) where the 2 channel vs 4 channel are used mostly/will be adventageous commonly.

Meaning I would assume that the 2 Channel vs the 4 Channel allows me to look at more electrical signals...but I watched a youtube video that mentions that some oscilloscopes the channel number limits the ability to examine the signal fully.

Is that going to be a issue?
Also the unlocking is that difficult?
What is it exactly?


Thanks
Chris
SolomonMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 12:55 PM   #22
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,146
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

on the Z series unlocking is very easy,
you get the serial number, put it into a bit of software i can link, and it gives you the unlock code to type in or send over ethernet to the scope.

the advantage of more channels with digital signals should be obvious, and you can monitor serial memory chips and decode the data.

the advantage with analog stuff is you can monitor a signal in mutiple places to see where it's failing.
for example you can monitor the input, output and a few places in between on an audio circuit to find the source of noise.

it's also handy if what you buy can network over ethernet.

you may find these handy:
https://lxi-tools.github.io/
https://www.youtube.com/user/RigolTech/videos

Last edited by stj; 02-16-2020 at 12:59 PM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2020, 10:30 PM   #23
SolomonMan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Deshler,Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
on the Z series unlocking is very easy,
you get the serial number, put it into a bit of software i can link, and it gives you the unlock code to type in or send over ethernet to the scope.

the advantage of more channels with digital signals should be obvious, and you can monitor serial memory chips and decode the data.

the advantage with analog stuff is you can monitor a signal in mutiple places to see where it's failing.
for example you can monitor the input, output and a few places in between on an audio circuit to find the source of noise.

it's also handy if what you buy can network over ethernet.

you may find these handy:
https://lxi-tools.github.io/
https://www.youtube.com/user/RigolTech/videos
All,
Ended Up Purchasing a Rigol DS1054Z....Now to wait for it to travel the roughly 300 miles to my home.

Thanks
Chris
SolomonMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 03:11 AM   #24
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,146
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

once you get it, i can walk you through unlocking it to 100Mhz and enabling extra stuff - if it's not already on.

dont follow information about doing it with the front panel - it's a pain.
over ethernet is very easy.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 10:38 AM   #25
SolomonMan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Deshler,Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

STJ/Everyone,
The Oscilloscope (Rigol DS1054Z) has arrived...There was some delay in shipping for delivery...so I picked it up from Fedex directly...Its next store to where I work.

I have some reading to do...

Thanks
Chris
SolomonMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 12:53 PM   #26
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,146
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

well get it on your network.

here's some stuff from my notes:
Quote:
To see the full info you need to press these buttons (fairly quickly or it doesn't work):

Menu -> Menu -> Force -> Menu -> Utility -> System -> System Info
Quote:
Connect to your router by ethernet cable, then select
Utility>IO Setting>LAN Conf.>Configure> select DHCP, then "Apply" and "Initialize"
The scope should fetch an IP address from the router and put it in the box in the LXI window. Write down this IP address.

The Rigol communication port is 5555. So: in a Terminal window command prompt, enter

telnet IPaddress 5555

(insert your own scope's local IP address that it fetched from your router)
opens the telnet application and contacts the scope on port 5555.

Then send

*IDN?

and the scope should reply with its identification.

Then you can send any of the SCPI commands in the Programming Guide, control the scope's functions remotely, and install or uninstall the unlocking codes using the SCPI commands:
:SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall
:SYSTem:OPTion:INSTall and your 28character key without hyphens

to close the telnet connection and exit the telnet program enter:
^] close

(The "^]" means to hold down the Ctrl key while pressing the ] key, this is the "escape" character that puts telnet into command mode.)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 12:59 PM   #27
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,146
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

btw, latest firmware is: v00.04.04.04.03
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 11:54 AM   #28
SolomonMan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Deshler,Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
btw, latest firmware is: v00.04.04.04.03
STJ,
So I updated the firmware....From Rigols Site.

Had some issue getting telnet to work...not sure if it was my network or not...I am a Adhoc Wireless setup...I have used telnet and ftp daily for almost 5 years in my college years to get code to the proper servers....but I had to tie directly into my router and I am wondering if its limited/secured.

Anyways, found a recent youtube video using Google Advance Search.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?list=P...le&app=desktop

Then used the site to get Key;
http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/

I had a little issue originally as I left the "...." in the end of my Serial.

Used the DSER Option as it seemed suggested everywhere.

Then entered the Private Key and below is what I see now....I believe I am all set?

Thanks STJ and all for the help with this purchase etc.
Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200305_123714.jpg (695.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20200305_123757.jpg (616.4 KB, 5 views)
SolomonMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 12:14 PM   #29
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,146
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

that's it - your all set now.

did you do a "self calibrate" after the update?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 02:33 PM   #30
SolomonMan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Deshler,Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
that's it - your all set now.

did you do a "self calibrate" after the update?
STJ,
Not as of yet...still trying to get into the Manual...Wife is sick (flu now) and her dads not doing well...so my plate is a little full...

I will try and read how tonight.

Thanks
Chris
SolomonMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 09:31 AM   #31
SolomonMan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Deshler,Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolomonMan View Post
STJ,
Not as of yet...still trying to get into the Manual...Wife is sick (flu now) and her dads not doing well...so my plate is a little full...

I will try and read how tonight.

Thanks
Chris
Did the Self Calibrate and everything is Successful (Calibrate takes a while)...Now to use this on something and learn how to use it....

I have some reading to do...

Thanks everyone for the help,
Chris
SolomonMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 01:19 PM   #32
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,146
Default Re: Oscilloscope Advice....

adjust your probes and your good to go.

best wishes to your family.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?