Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help needed! LG 47LV5500-UA with no video or audio

Hello all,

As I wrote in the title, I own an LG 47LV5500-UA that we bought in 2012. My wife and I were watching some of the early 2018 Olympics and during the broadcast, it just went dark and emits no audio. We weren't having any weather at that point, so it just seems as though it reached its limit. When trying to turn it on, after it cut off, the red indicator light is initially on, but turns to a white light after I press the remote's ON button.

I have some electric experience via my old side business where I repaired old tube guitar amps, as well as modding some of the same. I even worked on and repaired a couple of solid state guitar amps, while I had a relationship with one of the local pawn shops, but my focus was on the tube gear.

I did a quick search online after the TV died, and saw there were a number of reported instances of similar occurrence for this exact model of TV. Some seemed to get them going again by what sounded like applying heat to the main processor on the video processor board (probably not the correct name, but I am a noob).

I'd really appreciate any guidance as I'd love to repair this TV if possible. We already purchased its replacement, but I can hand it off to one of our kids, if I can get it going. I still have a good DMM, as well as some other gear, but know so little regarding TV repair, especially with no schematic or repair guide.

Thanks in advance,

Lee Laird

Re: Help needed! LG 47LV5500-UA with no video or audio

You need to have the bga chip on the main board reballed. You can try heating it up with a heat gun on low for about 45 seconds. You need to remove the heatsink first.

Comment