Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2017, 01:43 PM   #1
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

I keep getting blue screen Nvidia crash if I load drivers but if I use Microsoft Basic Display Adapter I do not get blue screen.

The BSOD is associated with nvlddmkm.sys.


It is with an old PC, Dell Dimension 3100/E310.

Is it a driver problem or just old crap?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg pny 6200 01.jpg (933.0 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg pny 6200 02.jpg (924.1 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155929.jpg (818.9 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155959.jpg (844.2 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155859.jpg (812.6 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155103.jpg (1.04 MB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155111.jpg (1,023.3 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_153933.jpg (695.4 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_154902.jpg (933.8 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_153210.jpg (1.14 MB, 36 views)
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:39 PM   #2
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 973
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

https://badcaps.net/forum/showpost.p...6&postcount=12
__________________
better to keep quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:41 PM   #3
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Dell 1505fp this is the monitor I am using with it.

Tried the dvi to vga adapter with my card and the screen went funny, must be the monitor.

Going back to the old E156FP to test.

No it is the driver or card. Video stutters.

Last edited by Fast Alpha; 11-11-2017 at 07:05 PM..
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 02:45 AM   #4
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,266
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Passive cooled video card and Chemi-Con KZG caps.
I'm willing to bet they are bad.
Replacing them might not be worth the cost though.
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:10 AM   #5
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

The stutter does not appear in Ubuntu Linux?

Or Windows XP.
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:02 PM   #6
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

I found that is it 64ghz refresh rate and not 60ghz.

Maybe a driver error.

It worked great on my LED TV the cables but not on that Dell 1505fp.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image refresh rate.jpg (233.9 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by Fast Alpha; 11-13-2017 at 01:11 PM..
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 01:14 AM   #7
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Passive cooled video card and Chemi-Con KZG caps.
I'm willing to bet they are bad.
It's possible.

But personally, I think it's the GPU that is on the way out - likely the bumpgate issue.
The fact that this is a 256 MB GeForce 6200 means it uses the NV43 or never cores - and those are extremely prone to the bumpgate issue.

Since this is a PCI card, it may be worth to replace the caps on it (as PCI cards still hold their value somewhat). Replacing even half of those KZGs should be enough. If that doesn't fix the card, then it's certainly the bumpgate issue - in which case, a reflow may bring the card back to life.

Either way, if you do get this video card working, *definitely* put a fan on it. I have a similar GeForce 6200 PCI card, and it runs too hot for its own good without a fan.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 10:44 AM   #8
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Heatgun madness. A heatgun will f___ up your card.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9aZZxNptp0

Which capacitors do I get?

6mm width.

10 or 11 mm height.

8mm depth.

1000uf 6.3v (m) 105c 8(7) 3N
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_183711.jpg (1.03 MB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_183721.jpg (608.6 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_183728.jpg (1.05 MB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_183833.jpg (1.21 MB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_183935.jpg (561.6 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_184053.jpg (530.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171113_184036.jpg (1.34 MB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155619.jpg (670.7 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155103.jpg (1.04 MB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171111_155859.jpg (812.6 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by Fast Alpha; 11-14-2017 at 11:32 AM..
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:41 PM   #9
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

How do I add a fan to it?

What size and what connector?

Which would you use on this type of card?
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 08:29 PM   #10
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
Heatgun madness. A heatgun will f___ up your card.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9aZZxNptp0
A heatgun will *not* f-up your video card, but an idiot will.

What they guy in the above video says is true. However, for a few video cards/chipsets like the GeForce 6150 and 6200, the chances to bring back a "dead" GPU/NB is much higher that most other GPUs.

In any case, I do agree that you should try a recap first before attempting a reflow - always better to try the simple solutions first.

So moving right along...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
Which capacitors do I get?
Looks like you have standard United Chemicon KZG 6.3V, 1000 uF, 8 mm diameter. I can't quite tell the height from your pictures, but it looks like 15 mm. If that's the case, your new caps will need to have 28 mOhms or lower for the impedance (ESR) and 1490 mA or higher for the ripple current.

Your board has space for 10 mm dia. caps, so you can probably go with these:
http://www.badcaps.net/store/product...roducts_id=169
They are rated much better than the KZG.

Alternatively, you can go with these:
http://www.badcaps.net/store/product...products_id=49
I know they don't quite "meet" the paper specs of KZG, but they will be fine. I've replaced quite a few KZG caps myself with Rubycon ZLH, and it hasn't been a problem.

*Edit*
I see you are in the UK, so an alternative source of caps would be RS-online, Farnell/element14, or NewArk. AVOID eBay and Ali-Express as they have way too many counterfeit cap sellers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
How do I add a fan to it?
Zip ties, wire ties... or screws if you like (but make sure to remove the heatsink if installing the fan with screws).

*Edit 2*
You do NOT need to replace the silver/red caps - those are polymers and won't give you problems. Also no need to replace those small brown caps by the PCI connector. They look like Chemicon KMG, which should be okay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
What size and what connector?
60, 70, or 80 mm fan should be plenty. Run it at 5V.
This should keep the fan quiet while still moving plenty of air for this video card to stay cool.

As for what connector: probably better if the fan comes with a Molex connector - then you can just simply connect directly to a spare PSU HDD/floppy drive connector. Just extract and re-arrange the pins of the fan connector so that the fan runs on 5V, as mentioned above. Otherwise if the fan has no connector and it's a simple 2-wire fan, then connect the wires directly to a spare Molex HDD/floppy connector. Just be careful that the wires can't come out of the connector and short-out to each other.

Last edited by momaka; 11-15-2017 at 08:37 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 01:16 PM   #11
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

http://uk.farnell.com/panasonic-elec...rad/dp/1800604
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 07:54 PM   #12
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

^ Those will do just fine too.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 10:07 AM   #13
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Do I add flux when soldering the new capacitors to the board?

How hot does it get the soldering station I can go up to Temp. Range : 180 - 450 ℃.

Or these as well, I also saw some teapo being sold there
?

http://uk.farnell.com/rubycon/6-3zl1...rad/dp/1144671

http://uk.farnell.com/nichicon/upw0j...tor/dp/1818609

http://uk.farnell.com/nichicon/uvz0j...rad/dp/2309059
Attached Images
File Type: jpg close caps.jpg (192.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg inked space.jpg (1.37 MB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg space of leads.jpg (848.2 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg width of caps.jpg (1.21 MB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg sticky on top of caps.jpg (1.32 MB, 14 views)

Last edited by Fast Alpha; 11-17-2017 at 10:34 AM..
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 11:23 AM   #14
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

So you
replace capacitors with Electrolytic Capacitor only?
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 06:48 PM   #15
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Also have a remote control to fix which capacitor do I get, I use this as a tester before the graphics card.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg remote 01.jpg (1.17 MB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg remote 02.jpg (1.33 MB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg remote voltage 01.jpg (809.2 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg remote 04.jpg (1.43 MB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg remote 03.jpg (893.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg remote 05.jpg (1.16 MB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg remote temp.jpg (642.4 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by Fast Alpha; 11-17-2017 at 07:15 PM..
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 07:15 PM   #16
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Are these micro wire clippers like this mini wire clippers ?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/PRECISION-M.../dp/B00439KLYE

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rolson-Mini...D2A5MXN9FN3VH3
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 01:59 PM   #17
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
Do I add flux when soldering the new capacitors to the board?
You only add a tiny tiny bit of flux to the solder joints of the caps - and that's only if you are not using rosin-core solder already. However, adding flux to the solder joints of the old caps could help you remove them easier.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
How hot does it get the soldering station I can go up to Temp. Range : 180 - 450 ℃.
Depends on your station.
Does it use T12/T15 tips or 900M tips. If it's the latter, the Hakko clones can be pretty decent or very crappy, so you probably need to crank the temperature to at least 350C. I have a 70W station with T12 tips, and I can solder mostly anything between 300-330C.

Rubycon ZL might just work fine, but that's about as high ESR as I would go. The equivalent of that is Chemicon KZE and Nichicon HD.

The other two links below that appear to be for Nichicon PW and Nichicon VZ. PW is okay for power supply repair, but probably not good enough for motherboard and video card buck-type VRMs. In all honestly, probably both would work, but it's not a good idea to use them here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
So you
replace capacitors with Electrolytic Capacitor only?

Can you be more specific what you mean?
Also, for future posts, can you consolidate all your questions into one single post, if possible. Makes it hard to track what's going on in the thread when you post multiple questions into multiple posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
Also have a remote control to fix which capacitor do I get, I use this as a tester before the graphics card.
How do you know the remote even has a capacitor problem? I see a Panasonic 85C general purpose cap on it, but I doubt that would be bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
No idea.
But both would work for clipping cap leads, if that's what you need them for.

Last edited by momaka; 11-19-2017 at 02:02 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 12:56 PM   #18
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Quote:
Depends on your station.
Does it use T12/T15 tips or 900M tips. If it's the latter, the Hakko clones can be pretty decent or very crappy, so you probably need to crank the temperature to at least 350C. I have a 70W station with T12 tips, and I can solder mostly anything between 300-330C.
BAKON 950D 75W Mini Portable Digital Soldering Station with T13 Tip.

Quote:
Rubycon ZL might just work fine, but that's about as high ESR as I would go. The equivalent of that is Chemicon KZE and Nichicon HD.

The other two links below that appear to be for Nichicon PW and Nichicon VZ. PW is okay for power supply repair, but probably not good enough for motherboard and video card buck-type VRMs. In all honestly, probably both would work, but it's not a good idea to use them here.
I'm confused now!!

Quote:
Can you be more specific what you mean?
Also, for future posts, can you consolidate all your questions into one single post, if possible. Makes it hard to track what's going on in the thread when you post multiple questions into multiple posts.
What kind of caps can you use on graphics cards and motherboards.
What is the best type.
If I order from badcaps website will it post to UK?

Quote:
How do you know the remote even has a capacitor problem? I see a Panasonic 85C general purpose cap on it, but I doubt that would be bad.
I put new batteries in it and it wont work with the CRT TV, but I bought a universal remote.

Quote:
No idea.
But both would work for clipping cap leads, if that's what you need them for.
I got one already.
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 07:52 PM   #19
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
BAKON 950D 75W Mini Portable Digital Soldering Station with T13 Tip.
Ah, that's very good. Tips with built-in heating element are much better. So you should have no problem trying to solder between 330-350C. If you've never soldered on a motherboard or GPU before, then stick with 350C - it will make it a bit easier for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
What kind of caps can you use on graphics cards and motherboards.
What is the best type.
There are NO set/specific caps for motherboard, graphics cards, and PSUs.

You pretty much look up what caps you have on your board and then, based on that, you look up their datasheet and select proper replacements.

That said, *most* PSUs do tend to use "entry level" to "mid-range" low ESR caps. Motherboards and GPUs on the other hand, *usually* use "mid-range" to "ultra" -low ESR caps. Of course, depending on where the cap on the motherboard or GPU is located and what it does, you may sometimes use a lower-tier cap without issue.

In your specific case, you have Chemicon KZG. The equivalent to that is Rubycon MBZ and Nichicon HM (both of which are no longer made.) A slightly better tier of caps (i.e. an upgrade) would be Rubycon MCZ and Nichicon HN or HZ (but again, neither of these are made anymore.)

Meanwhile, caps like Rubycon ZLQ/ZLH, Panasonic FS/FR/FM, and Chemicon KZM are just a notch below Chemicon KZG, but still will work okay to replace them in most cases. And these are readily available from just about everywhere. (Avoid eBay or Ali Express though!)

Then there is Rubycon ZL/ZLK, Chemicon KZE, and Nichicon HD. These are a notch below the tier I just posted above, but again, in quite a few cases, even these will work to replace KZG. The only place where I wouldn't suggest doing it is on a motherboard's CPU output - there you will actually want to use either something better than this tier *or* upscale the capacitance and voltage in this tier to get a bigger cap (which will result in lower ESR and higher ripple current capability.)

Below this tier, there are several more, but I won't list them here as they pertain more to PSU recapping usually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
If I order from badcaps website will it post to UK?
According to badcaps.net store: YES. Postage is stated to be $14.50 for international shipments, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Alpha View Post
I put new batteries in it and it wont work with the CRT TV
That doesn't mean your problem is capacitor-related.

Last edited by momaka; 11-30-2017 at 07:55 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 08:43 AM   #20
Fast Alpha
Senior Member
 
Fast Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: Wales
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: PNY Geforce Nvidia 6200 256MB PCI only

I made another photo of the capacitor, this is the height of it.

I noticed on the other side where the legs stick out, the solder is very small, it does not take much solder on the board.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20171211_152302.jpg (542.1 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg height cap.jpg (400.7 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171211_152237.jpg (1.61 MB, 15 views)

Last edited by Fast Alpha; 12-11-2017 at 09:15 AM..
Fast Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?