LG Plasma 50PC1DR- Y-SUS Issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG Plasma 50PC1DR- Y-SUS Issues

Ok, i got 3 defective plasmas here i've bought for a few bucks to play with. I'm an IT tech, but i love electronics.. trying to push the limits of what i can fix.

I think i did my homework of reading pages and pages and trying to figure out what's wrong on there, but so far i'm still stuck.

! Plasma 1 : LG 50PC1DR. This one has sound, but the screen flickers (tries to fire up). I can hear the y-sustain board clicking.

Plasma 2 : LG 50PC3. This one powers on but image is pinkish with snow on it, it really doesn't look good. I see a no signal logo floating around that leaves some marks of it when it changes position. Here is a picture of what it looks like, see image attached. Only thing ive seen on the y-sus are the 2 resistors also shown on attached image, replaced them from another board. No change !

Plasma 3 : LG 50PC3. This one has sound, with no screen. It tries to fire up also. I can hear the y-sustain board clicking.

What i've tried so far.. swapping the y-sus boards between the different units to see if the behavior changed. That didn't lead to much..

After, i've figured out after reading that the IPM(s) were at fault, maybe. So i managed to pull out some of these YPPD-J015, YPPDJ016 without damage. However, doing some meter testing, i don't see any shorts. Does that mean they're good ? I seriously don't know !!

I'm really looking for advice here, i don't know where i'm going. Thanks !!!!
    Attached Files

Re: LG Plasma 50PC1DR- Y-SUS Issues

The second one is either Z-sustain or more likely someone who has tweaked around too much with the adjustments on the Y-sustain and messed it up! It should be fixable with a multimeter.