Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Welcome to the Badcaps.net Tech Forum! > Announcements & Related News
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2015, 11:30 AM   #1
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Looky http://www.hardwareinsights.com/wp/d...put-waveforms/
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!

Last edited by c_hegge; 04-25-2015 at 06:00 PM.. Reason: Fixed broken link
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 07:12 PM   #2
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

I've added a couple of Smarts and started to measure idle power draw, that's easy. Interesting results indeed, many UPSes draw tens of watts while providing 0 on output.

And prick burreaucrats in EU are pushing stand-by power draw for ATX PSUs under 1 W. LOL
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 05:44 PM   #3
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,364
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Those stepped wave UPS look nasty
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 11:14 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30,775
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

The charging circuit is always running so it will always drawing current from the power line.

"And prick bureaucrats in EU are pushing stand-by power draw for ATX PSUs under 1 W. LOL" They are planning the same thing here too.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 03:34 AM   #5
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Charging is one thing, other thing is for line-interactive UPS the transformer is constantly getting power flowing through. And it has losses, high losses. The same for on-line UPS, double conversion also has 90-95 % overall efficiency.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 10:58 AM   #6
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

I did a small update yesterday.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:23 AM   #7
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Another small update, SU1000RMINET. Will be more different Smart-UPSes, but most of them in march (or later) I guess.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 07:19 AM   #8
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

I've managed to finish one more, 1400VA unit, so it is now also there. Just forgot to measure no-load consumption, that will be added later today.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 02:29 PM   #9
sadeoo7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Montreal
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110/220
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

wow thats amazing great work ! i was surprized when i found out that a small Eaton unit the model 5115 500va thats runs of a single 12v battery had a sinewave output. im going to use it as an inverter for a small solar setup. thanks for collecting all that information !
sadeoo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 02:35 PM   #10
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Not sure about 500VA, I've tested 1400VA version…
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 10:46 AM   #11
sadeoo7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Montreal
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110/220
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

yes the 500va version has a pure sinewave output i tested it with my Fluke ScopeMeter.
sadeoo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 01:20 PM   #12
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Interesting.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 09:17 PM   #13
sadeoo7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Montreal
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110/220
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

yes it is interesting that such a small unit has a pure sinewave output.
sadeoo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 10:03 PM   #14
mxslick
Motocross Racer
 
mxslick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
City & State: Moreland, Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Can you get a Tripp-lite G1000U? (Supposedly 1000va (120v) modified sine wave output) .. http://www.amazon.com/TrippLite-G100...ct_top?ie=UTF8

Would love to see how it does.... the unit I have has held up well (despite the three negative reviews on Amazon) but I do notice that the SMPS "wall wart" for my wireless router makes an odd buzzing sound when on UPS....

The unit I have is at least 7 years old and is only on it's second battery.

Last edited by mxslick; 03-21-2016 at 10:32 PM..
mxslick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 02:13 AM   #15
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

No idea where, I am far from US…
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:41 PM   #16
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

There was a minor update recently.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 07:22 PM   #17
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

There's a new Eaton measurement. There is a chance I'll add something more during the month, a slight
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2016, 08:05 PM   #18
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Two ancient units added plus I've measured idle power draw of few more which were already in the database.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2016, 10:33 AM   #19
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

There's some new food. That ha-vel/Powerman UPS is similar crap to those plastic bricks of what I call Must Power origin, but it's some different OEM. There are also Eurocase branded units which most likely have the same platform on our market, the price is insane. It's like toilet paper, you are not even expected to replace the accumulators in it for the price. Just flush after use…

I just recently also learned 2000VA FSP Group models sell for as low as 4500 CZK, that's under 200 US bucks. And they now reached the absolute bottom of crappiness (or did they?) regarding accumulators - they started using FSP branded ones. I bet its similar quality to those Leoch craps I've seen recently. They leaked acid which eaten through the cabling so hard I had to replace most of it.

There will be an article about moddification of the SU700RMINET later. One day for sure
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 11:23 AM   #20
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Database of UPS inverter output waveforms @ HWI

Got one new unit (BK500EI).
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?