Harman Kardon AVR 3700 blown standby power supply

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Harman Kardon AVR 3700 blown standby power supply

Hey folks, I've come here because it looks like this group has helped a lot of people get Harmon Kardon AVR's back up and running.

My AVR3700 had it's standby power supply blow out a few weeks ago. I have been trying to get it back up and running, but am pretty much striking out on everything I have tried. My background is just hobby level stuff, mostly dealing with analog electronics. I do a lot of work on car audio amps, but this is my first mains powered receiver that I have attempted to fix. The SMPS's in this receiver are quite a bit more complex compared to what I am used to.

Below is a list of failed components that have been replaced:

1) IC91- this is the standby supply SMPS driver, OB2358L, the original had the top of the case blown clean off.
    2) D914- MM1Z18, 18V zener on the supply side of the SMPS driver, looks to be there to clamp input voltage during a fault.
    3) D928- 20V zener, again, appears to be protection during fault condition.
    4) R928,967,972,970,971- These are current sense resistors for the driver. All were toasted, reading 1+ Meg, supposed to be 10 ohms
    5)D901/902- supply primary side of TF91, the standby transformer.

I have checked every other cap, resistor, diode, transistor, opto-coupler, and the voltage regulators in the standby supply. They all test fine. The new OB2358L tries to start, but it never manages to take off, it resets and tries to start again and again.