Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Audio Equipment Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2016, 12:57 PM   #1
DumpsterFire
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Texas
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Post Definitive Technology SuperCube III Component Level Repair Troubleshooting Photos

Hi Everyone,

I'm attempting to troubleshoot my Definitive Technology Supercube III and proceed with component level repair if possible. I have not been able to find a DIY guide on this.

I've confirmed the amp receives power indicated by the Red LED light, however I have no sound/bass coming from the amp when I attempt to unplug and plug the RCA sub cable to the LFE input (the photo I took is testing other inputs). I have a secondary sub, which I tested to eliminate that it's an sub output receiver problem.

The board looks fairly clean except for ST tip32c and LM337LZ transistors that seems to have some brown residue around the yellow potting material (photos attached below). I have not tested the pins for voltage and wasn't sure if this would affect the LFE input for sound.

http://www.st.com/web/en/resource/te...CD00145629.pdf

http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm337l.pdf

Does anyone have a schematic or way to possibly confirm the voltages on the transistor.

Thanks,












Last edited by DumpsterFire; 02-07-2016 at 02:13 PM.. Reason: added additoinal information
DumpsterFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 01:14 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30,772
Default Re: Definitive Technology SuperCube III Component Level Repair Troubleshooting Photos

You must remove those glues first, as you can see in the last picture, it is turning dark brown, these glues become corrosive and will eat away metal and also become conductive.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=34692
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Bad glue.pdf (74.5 KB, 42 views)
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 10:14 PM   #3
tobascovodka
CaffinatedBacon
 
Join Date: May 2016
City & State: Port Washington
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2
Default Re: Definitive Technology SuperCube III Component Level Repair Troubleshooting Photos

Hi DumpsterFire, I have the same issue as you do with my III, have you had any luck in testing?

With so many refurbished models it shouldn't be the adhesives, it is likely a component, I will be testing voltages tomorrow but I know my caps charged on both the amp and preamp.

Last edited by tobascovodka; 05-31-2016 at 10:37 PM.. Reason: sp
tobascovodka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 06:47 PM   #4
westernmetro
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Huntington beach, ca
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Definitive Technology SuperCube III Component Level Repair Troubleshooting Photos

I am also troubleshooting a supercube III.
There is a 5 wire plug from the crossover system to the amp.
I think the crossover is ok with a bad amp?

The signal plug has one wire is a different color and 4 wires same color.

I am thinking one (the different color) may be a common/circuit board ground and the other 4 two + and two - for low level speaker input leads for the amp.

The amp appears to have two parallel amp circuits.

Anyone with an electronic background who can suggest how to test leads to determine what they are?

I would like to input low level signal to test the amp separately.

Another different question-
Also- this system is a 120v system.
There appears to be a transformer coil dropping the voltage- probably to DC.
I would also like to identify a way to see if this could have the power supply hacked to run on 12v in a motorhome. I am can do guy but have no electicsal engineering info.
i just solder and replace things and hack them.

Thanks, Scott
westernmetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 07:10 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,839
Default Re: Definitive Technology SuperCube III Component Level Repair Troubleshooting Photos

any decent sub will use more than 12v - usually about 30v
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:52 PM   #6
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 159
Default Re: Definitive Technology SuperCube III Component Level Repair Troubleshooting Photos

Any one have schematic of super cube 3 , mine have no power
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?