Toshiba Picture Fades To Black But Audio Continues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Toshiba Picture Fades To Black But Audio Continues

Toshiba 42HL167 . Picture fades to black after a few seconds. It use to be after a few hours, then after a few minutes but now after seconds. I bought and replaced PS board, then Input board, then Low B board. The only board left is the 'Seine/Input' board. I guess I'll try that one too but am very frustrated and don't think this will work either. Here's a short video I uploaded that shows the problem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q06jYJ2nbXs&feature=plcp

Any ideas would be welcome. I'm no expert on electronics (internal combustion engines are my game)!

Re: Toshiba Picture Fades To Black But Audio Continues

I can't tell from the video if the backlight is still on. Is it? If it is, then I would suspect the tcon board. Looks like somthing overheats quickly and kills the video.

Comment

It's hard to tell but it looks like the video freezes and then it fades out in bars - this points to T-con as Hobby 1 suggested, or possibly panel...
      Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
      For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment

Thank you for your inputs. Two followup questions:

Where is this Tcon Board located. I don't see that on the rear side of the tv. Is it behind the panel/screen?

Also, when you inquire about whether the screen remains 'backlighted', what do you mean by this? Are you asking if the picture screen reverts to its black 'off' condition vs. backlighted which would show some sign of a grayish, lighted screen?

Comment

T-con is at the top of the screen (sometimes at the bottom on newer sets) and connects to the LCD panel itself and the main board. It's not the power supply, which connects to the mains power, or the main board, which has video inputs on it.