Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2018, 09:13 AM   #101
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
I can confirm though that in paralelised tasks, with 7 threads per FX-8150@4.1 GHz, it rips ass of everything I tested so far from Intel.
Bulldozer is a beast, BUT
a) needs optimized code
b) was far ahead of its time.

And that's why it failed.
AMD should have taken the year or so to optimize BD and should have brought Steamroller cores in the Beginning. They were quite good...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 09:50 AM   #102
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
A lot of these appear to be theoretical attacks, and have merely proof of concept attacks which are legal code but shouldn't "work".
Rings out 'planned obsolescence' scam if anything else. If its going to be blamed on cockamamie conspiracy theories such as evil governments or Israeli agents....this theory is far more plausible. Think about it, the last 10 years processor technology really hasn't advanced much....what better way to sell some chips & systems than a mass scare with patches that slow CPU predecessors to a crawl.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
I disagree.

AMD chips seem to be only vulnerable to localized attacks while Intel chips seem vulnerable to remote attacks...
An attack is an attack. This logic is like being 'almost pregnant'.... It doesn't fly. AMD doesn't get a pass if intel doesnt.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 10:48 AM   #103
hikaruichijo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Ourense
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 118
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Intel whill increase the price of their cpus and new buyers will pay for the lawsuit, like it hapened with the pentium bug un 1994 and with the lies about the Pentium 4 performance.
And like they always do, they won't apologice and they'll say
"This things happens but our cpus are more expensive than the others because they are the best", well as long as the app tha is runing looks for the "Genuine Intel flag".
And don't forget about the Intel 6 series chipset sata problems, and the atom C2000 series...

Last edited by hikaruichijo; 01-11-2018 at 10:51 AM..
hikaruichijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 12:59 PM   #104
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,559
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

AMD could pretty much kill Intel right now - if they wanted.
they just need to partner with the coreboot project,

then start marketing secure TRUSTABLE cpu's and motherboards.
with no hidden microcontroller ass-raping you in the background.

if they want to play on every fear and predudice, they could bring up the "management engine" and it's little-mentioned DRM code together with the fact that Intel is pretty much an Israeli company!!!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 01:53 PM   #105
jayjr1105
Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Lancaster, PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 43
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Ditched an i5 6600 (4 thread $200) for a Ryzen 1600 (12 thread also $200) and haven't looked back.
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 05:23 PM   #106
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,076
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredcaps View Post
My E8400 is vulnerable. Patch for Lubuntu is supposed to be released Jan 9.
My test machine running 18.04 with E8400 received an intel-microcode upgrade and kernel update. Looks like Intel isn't bothering with updating the firmware on the E8400.

Upgrade: intel-microcode:amd64 (3.20171117.1, 3.20180108.1), publicsuffix:amd64 (20171028.2055-1, 20171228.1526-2)

--- run script ---

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sp...own-checker.sh

Spectre and Meltdown mitigation detection tool v0.27

Checking for vulnerabilities against live running kernel Linux 4.13.0-25-generic #29-Ubuntu SMP Mon Jan 8 21:14:41 UTC 2018 x86_64

CVE-2017-5753 [bounds check bypass] aka 'Spectre Variant 1'
* Checking count of LFENCE opcodes in kernel: NO
> STATUS: VULNERABLE (only 29 opcodes found, should be >= 70, heuristic to be improved when official patches become available)

CVE-2017-5715 [branch target injection] aka 'Spectre Variant 2'
* Mitigation 1
* Hardware (CPU microcode) support for mitigation: NO
* Kernel support for IBRS: NO
* IBRS enabled for Kernel space: NO
* IBRS enabled for User space: NO
* Mitigation 2
* Kernel compiled with retpoline option: NO
* Kernel compiled with a retpoline-aware compiler: NO
> STATUS: VULNERABLE (IBRS hardware + kernel support OR kernel with retpoline are needed to mitigate the vulnerability)

CVE-2017-5754 [rogue data cache load] aka 'Meltdown' aka 'Variant 3'
* Kernel supports Page Table Isolation (PTI): YES
* PTI enabled and active: YES
> STATUS: NOT VULNERABLE (PTI mitigates the vulnerability)

A false sense of security is worse than no security at all, see --disclaimer
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 03:39 AM   #107
hikaruichijo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Ourense
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 118
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

The problem is that AMD always play fair even when the first Phenon bug apeared they admited it and fixed it and admited the loss off performance.
But Intel always lies and bends the truth to their own god, and if that's not posible, pais money to anybody who can bend the truth for then, for example youtubers, and reviewers that only care about the money.
hikaruichijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 02:03 PM   #108
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

If we had gone itanium instead of x86-64...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 07:40 PM   #109
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,559
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

lol always trust m$ to make things worse!
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencete...-old-chips.htm

accident? yea-right!!

also:
https://arstechnica.com/information-...ment-firmware/

so it's a DP (porn industry term!)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 09:30 PM   #110
hannah
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Asia
My Country: Asia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

I saw their reply to one of the issues presented in their chips. They practically just waved a hand at it by saying it can't do much damage in your files or something. Then proceeded to say it's not unique to Intel chips.

Anyway, are the AMD cores really better? God damn it! I upgraded to an i5 a year ago and I spent hours on hours looking at benchmarks and everything, but Intel always came out better. I hope they're not pulling that old Pentium IV scam again.
hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 09:44 PM   #111
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by hannah View Post
...are the AMD cores really better?
That's the age-old argument in the PC world...much like Ford vs Chevy in the car world....or coke vs pepsi....republican vs democrat...its an endless argument that no winner will ever emerge from.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 12:15 AM   #112
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,312
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

now intel says the meltdown and spectre patches can cause reboot problems in older chips!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reuters
Intel Corp on Thursday said that recently issued patches for flaws in its chips could cause computers using its older Broadwell and Haswell processors to reboot more often than normal and that Intel may need to issue updates to fix the buggy patches.

In a statement on Intel’s website, Navin Shenoy, general manager of the company’s data center group, said Intel had received reports about the issue and was working directly with data center customers to “discuss” the issue.

“We are working quickly with these customers to understand, diagnose and address this reboot issue,” Shenoy said in the statement. “If this requires a revised firmware update from Intel, we will distribute that update through the normal channels.”

Earlier on Thursday, the Wall Street Journal reported that Intel was asking cloud computing customers to hold off installing patches that address new security flaws that affect nearly all of its processors because the patches have bugs of their own. (on.wsj.com/2Eyo7yA)

Intel has identified three issues in updates released over the past week for “microcode,” or firmware, the newspaper reported, citing a confidential document the company had shared with some customers that it had reviewed.

The world’s largest chipmaker confirmed last week that the security issues reported by researchers in the company’s widely used microprocessors could allow hackers to steal sensitive information from computers, phones and other electronic devices.

Intel shares were down about half a percent to $43.20 in after-hours trading after the announcement. Intel shares have lost 4.5 percent since the news of the chip flaws emerged on Jan. 3.
Source: Reuters

srsly, fuck u again intel x2!
ChaosLegionnaire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 01:47 AM   #113
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,559
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
reboot more often than normal
says it all, my AMD systems dont reboot - ever.

so for the sake of completeness, can intel tell us how often their cpu's reboot normally?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 02:39 AM   #114
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
If we had gone itanium instead of x86-64...
We never would have because ia64 is incompatible to x86 and its just utter nonsense.
And Intel is the worst company in the world...

What you should have wished for is that Micro Channel was the thing to go and not PCI.

And that IBM would have kept the superiority and not Intel. Because whatever IBM did was pretty good.

What Intel does is from a technical standpoint garbage most of the times.
Like adding the +3,3V rail for ATX PSU, AGP and other stuff as well.
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 02:43 AM   #115
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
srsly, fuck u again intel x2!
Sadly, the INtel Fans don't care about that shit.

Also the performance drops for the Spectre and Meltdown Patches.
In Games (streaming heavy ones) it can also drop about 15% or so - nobody cares about that, sadly...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 03:14 AM   #116
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,559
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

the thing that used to piss me off,
AMD had 64bit well over a year before Intel,
but because Intel and M$ are so corrupt, m$ refused to release a 64bit version of windows until Intel had it's chips ready.
just to stop people buying AMD 64bit chips unless they used Linux.

not using windows anymore, i no longer give a fuck - i hope they try similar tricks again!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 04:16 AM   #117
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
We never would have because ia64 is incompatible to x86
Sure but the problem is that now we're finding it's a fundamental problem with x86 (well, superscalar execution), and switching from superscalar to VLIW was a solution.
Quote:
and its just utter nonsense.
Define nonsense if it solves the problem at hand.
Quote:
And Intel is the worst company in the world...
Sure, but that's just repeating the last point without saying why.
Quote:
What you should have wished for is that Micro Channel was the thing to go and not PCI.

And that IBM would have kept the superiority and not Intel. Because whatever IBM did was pretty good.

What Intel does is from a technical standpoint garbage most of the times.
Like adding the +3,3V rail for ATX PSU, AGP and other stuff as well.
Who knew when it first came out? Demand for speed came so fast, interim solutions were needed.

I have my beef against ia64 too but it no speculation = no cache fetch execution crap like what we're seeing now. Alas it too has vendor lock-in which is probably the larger reason why x86-64 was taken (amd would have had to paid huge royalties to make ia64 chips). Sort of the exact problem with MCA, licensing fees for MCA were higher than PCI.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 04:59 AM   #118
hikaruichijo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Ourense
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 118
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Intel lied about the maximum TDP of their cpus multiple times since the Pentium 4 and again with the first gen core i7, I've tested and i7 920 that said 130W TDP and it reached more than 200W with prime95, the heat sink that came with it couldn't hold the heat for five minutes. But here people always said that AMD cpus were hotter because of the famous silly Tom's hardware video that removed the heat sink while computer was running, who is so stupid to do that? well Tom's hardware reviewers were. Sure Intel paid god money to do that video.
hikaruichijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 06:44 AM   #119
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Sure but the problem is that now we're finding it's a fundamental problem with x86 (well, superscalar execution), and switching from superscalar to VLIW was a solution.
No, its not a fundamental x86 Problem, its a Problem with all CPUs.
And that nobody thought about attacking it until now, so no security features to prevent that were implemented - well at Intel at Least, at AMD it seems people thought a bit more but sacrificed performance for that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Define nonsense if it solves the problem at hand.
It doesn't because speculative excecution is inevetable if you want performance.

And AFAIR either the last Itanics had something like that or it was planned. So no, id didn't really solve the problem.


As for VLIW: AMD had something like that from the 2000 up to the 6k Series - wasn't that great even in GPUs...

Last edited by Stefan Payne; 01-13-2018 at 06:45 AM..
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 08:20 AM   #120
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Some serious security bug in INTEL CPUs?? Since Westmere possibly

For all the Intel bashers (me included), I just want to remind them all that AMD isn't immune to this either, and isn't the holy grail savior in this mess. Just sayin'. Several of the articles have mentioned that AMD has been less than forthcoming with information for patches, etc. The hypocrisy runs deep.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?