Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2020, 04:54 AM   #1
kamel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Tunis
My Country: TUNISIA
Line Voltage: 220v
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 70
Default Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Hello! Need urgent help P.S !
Fixed initially a short on memory bus +1.8V rail by removing on board cells getting hot one by one, till last cell.
Inserted a DDR2 in SODIMM slot1.
Switched lap, all main voltages are ok, but fan and display are failing.

Voltages measured on FAN & Thermal Sensor IC "EMC4000" are attached.
Issues found :
Pin6- FAN_OUT : 0V ?? no spinning.
Pin30- THERMTRIP_SIO : 0V low, I guess, it should be high i.e +3.3V p.s correct.
Pin29- HW_LOCK# : 0V. Is it Hardware lock signal ? Should it be high level i.e +3.3V ? p.s correct.
Any idea on next steps to help solving issues would be much appreciated!
Thank you
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Dell_D430_LA-3741p- FAN AND THERMAL SENSOR-EMC4000.pdf (36.3 KB, 5 views)
kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 05:49 AM   #2
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,374
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Please clarify what "fan and display are failing" mean.
Also THERMTRIP_SIO doesn't have # indicating active low signal, so 0V should be correct (meaning thermal protection not triggered).
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #[email protected]
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 07:37 AM   #3
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 351
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Switched lap, all main voltages are ok, but fan and display are failing?

what do you mean failing. no fan spin and no display? is there any led that lights as indication the laptop is alive. try to insert known working memory maybe the old one got busted..have you flash the bios..
__________________
Never stop LEARNING because life never stops TEACHING!
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 03:53 PM   #4
kamel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Tunis
My Country: TUNISIA
Line Voltage: 220v
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 70
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
Please clarify what "fan and display are failing" mean.
Also THERMTRIP_SIO doesn't have # indicating active low signal, so 0V should be correct (meaning thermal protection not triggered).
First, Thanks for your quick follow up.
I mean fan is not spinning and there is no display.

P.s also confirm : Found Pin29- HW_LOCK# = 0V. Is it "Hardware lock" signal ? and if so, shouldn't it be high level i.e +3.3V ?

Last edited by kamel; 07-11-2020 at 04:00 PM..
kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 04:07 PM   #5
kamel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Tunis
My Country: TUNISIA
Line Voltage: 220v
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 70
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duranitron View Post
Switched lap, all main voltages are ok, but fan and display are failing?

what do you mean failing. no fan spin and no display? is there any led that lights as indication the laptop is alive. try to insert known working memory maybe the old one got busted..have you flash the bios..
Thanks for your follow up.
As explained, fan is not spinning and no display.
I add, when switched on, led lights for 45" and then off. All main voltages including cpu are correct.

Though, I shunted pin1 of JFAN1 "+FAN1_VOUT" directly to 3.3v run voltage, power led always went off after 45".

Last edited by kamel; 07-11-2020 at 04:14 PM..
kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 05:07 PM   #6
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,374
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

I don't see anything that could allow disabling the onboard RAM in the schematics.
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 06:22 AM   #7
kamel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Tunis
My Country: TUNISIA
Line Voltage: 220v
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 70
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
I don't see anything that could allow disabling the onboard RAM in the schematics.
Yes, I agree with you, but as far as I understand, the 3 DDR2 (2 on board and 1 SODIMM SLOT1) are supplied in parallel with same voltages and signals, so removing the 2 onboard DDR2 and using only the SODIMM slot 1 DDR2 should be ok. The GMCH will deal with the existing Ram. Please correct.
kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 08:29 AM   #8
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,374
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

If BIOS tries to initialize non-existent onboard RAM, POST will fail.
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 09:57 AM   #9
kamel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Tunis
My Country: TUNISIA
Line Voltage: 220v
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 70
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
If BIOS tries to initialize non-existent onboard RAM, POST will fail.
I share your point of view.
Is it possible to edit bios dump and modify it consequently, so as to initialize only the Sodimm slot ?
kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:01 PM   #10
kamel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Tunis
My Country: TUNISIA
Line Voltage: 220v
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 70
Default Re: Dell D430-JAU00 LA-3741P fan&display failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
If BIOS tries to initialize non-existent onboard RAM, POST will fail.
Well, I can confirm now that's a problem of initializing removed onboard RAM, because after assembling laptop, I noticed that 2 leds were constantly blinking once switched on (Memory fail).

Thank you.

Laptop was returned to customer. Thread is to be considered closed.
kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?