Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2018, 08:41 AM   #1
samsonite
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Detroit, MI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 24
Question Logitech mice?

Anybody have any experience repairing a wired USB computer mouse?
Other than throwing it out and buying a new one?

Besides testing the continuity of the USB wire with a multimeter, or replacing it with another cord, is there anything else that can be done, specifically with the circuit board?

Assuming power is getting to the mouse, but nothing is happening (the computer isn't loading the device, nothing appearing, no activity, etc..), how can you tell what's wrong if all the components look brand new? Thanks.

Last edited by samsonite; 05-15-2018 at 08:42 AM..
samsonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:49 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,528
Default Re: Logitech mice?

check the crystal / resonator
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 11:26 AM   #3
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,578
Default Re: Logitech mice?

I've never had the circuit board in my logitech (or pretty much any) mice die. It's always been the cable.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 04:09 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,528
Default Re: Logitech mice?

cable, or the microswitches bouncing, but he says it's not the cable.
well the only thing that makes it id to the pc is the microcontroller and the only thing holding that back is the resonator.

a more interesting question is: who cares??
i get optical mice in the store!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 05:16 PM   #5
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,578
Default Re: Logitech mice?

I initially thought it wasn't the cable many times, but eventually it really was the cable. The other parts just don't break that often. Even the microswitches, well, those are self explanatory as they'd only affect clicking.

Those " store" specials tend to have cables that break early, too... Complete junk.

Avoiding wireless mice may or may not be a good idea... batteries just aren't quite there (though the recent logitech wireless mice can actually pass power info to the host so you can get your host to alert of battery condition.)
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 10:47 PM   #6
samsonite
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Detroit, MI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 24
Default Re: Logitech mice?

The first time the mouse stopped working was when the computer was turned on. I never had a single problem at any other time. If it was a faulty cable, I would expect to see early signs, intermittent activity leading up to total failure. But, it just seems odd the problem always happens at power up. The mouse dies forever after that.
samsonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:54 AM   #7
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,521
Default Re: Logitech mice?

I don't know but I have a USB IBM mouse that isn't detected either. Yes, I checked the cable. The LED comes on but the USB controller registers nothing. I wanted to replace the IC but it seemed impossible to get. I don't think mine has an external oscillator.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:11 AM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,528
Default Re: Logitech mice?

could still be the cable.
or the port on the pc - they do wear out.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 04:33 AM   #9
samsonite
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Detroit, MI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 24
Default Re: Logitech mice?

I actually have 3 mice of the same brand laying around, in various states of wear. The older ones still work, so I swapped out the cable with the newer "broken" one. The USB cord of this particular brand of Logitech mouse is not soldered to the board, so you can pull it out of its socket with some applied force. But nothing happens plugging it in and out. I think the quality has gone downhill in the last years and the entire batch is just faulty out of the box. This is the 3rd one since the start of this year. It never lasts more than 15-30 days, under normal use. I only put up with it, because of previous use, but maybe it's time to change.
samsonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 02:36 PM   #10
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,521
Default Re: Logitech mice?

Now that you say that, I do recall a similar problem with a Logitech USB ball mouse I bought 10+ years ago. It worked a few days, then I started getting the USB device disconnect sounds in Windows, it dropped in and out and finally died completely.

I returned it and received another which did exactly the same thing. Bought an A4 Tech instead which is still working but I think needs new microswitches.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:12 PM   #11
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,578
Default Re: Logitech mice?

The weak part of the cable is where it enters the mouse. Cut off about a half inch outside the mouse and half inch inside the mouse, and splice the wires together, should work once more.

Sometimes you can get away with simply pulling the uncut wire a quarter inch or so into the mouse, moving the bad part inside the mouse and hopefully using mechanical pressure to push the broken wire together. It may work a couple more days but eventually stop working again.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?