Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2020, 07:55 PM   #21
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,628
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle1303 View Post
I bought a 1N4007 as replacement but have not soldered it in. I used back the original D3 diode, which was reading 576 off circuit in direction only.
thats good, because the 1n4007 is too slow.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 07:57 PM   #22
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Now about D3, what other bad components would cause the 2 solder points to read, with or without the D3, 30ohm both ways?
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 07:57 PM   #23
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,628
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle1303 View Post
Sorry, I don't get what you meant..
TR2 reads 846 ohm one way between left and center pins, 793 reversed direction, and open in all other combinations.
Your pic #1 bottom right. TR2 looks like it is damaged a little on the top. What is printed on TR2?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 08:01 PM   #24
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,628
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle1303 View Post
Yes, using this 5W 100ohm is bad idea.. I have gotten a 2W 100ohm to try out later.
Yes, that was a very bad idea actually. In this case this resistor is a flame proof (green colour) resistor that is used a fusible resistor. Now you putting is there a 5W resistor, I am not sure if that is actually the only damage it did (blowing that 50V cap).
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 08:13 PM   #25
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Your pic #1 bottom right. TR2 looks like it is damaged a little on the top. What is printed on TR2?
Z0103MA. There is some think there but don't seems to be cracked...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Z0103.jpg (238.4 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Z0103-Top.jpg (525.4 KB, 3 views)
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 08:15 PM   #26
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Yes, that was a very bad idea actually. In this case this resistor is a flame proof (green colour) resistor that is used a fusible resistor. Now you putting is there a 5W resistor, I am not sure if that is actually the only damage it did (blowing that 50V cap).
Yes, valuable lesson learnt, thank you.
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 12:07 AM   #27
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,934
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

The value of that fusible resistor will be likely be <10 Ohms.
https://ar.pinterest.com/pin/621848661029499082/
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 02:21 AM   #28
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
The value of that fusible resistor will be likely be <10 Ohms.
https://ar.pinterest.com/pin/621848661029499082/
From this picture view - it seems like a 4-band resistor: Brown, ?, Brown, Gold. Brown, Black, Black, Gold gives 10 ohm, unless it's Black, Grey, Black, Gold to give 8 ohm?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Burnt-Resistor.jpg (474.3 KB, 1 views)
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:43 AM   #29
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

I moved one of the 2 relays, and here's a findings:
1) The pins (red arrow) reads 1569 ohm
2) I applied 12V, both directions, to these pins thinking it should click, but it does not.
3) The in-circuit relay also reads 1569 ohm, and also does not click when applied 12v to the coil pins.

Is this normal?


Next I removed the inductor L2:
1) I don't have DMM that read inductance, but resistance reads 1.8 ohm.
2) With L2 moved, D3 now reads correctly at 579 ohm in one direction only.

Does this means L2 is bad and shorted?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Relay-Front.jpg (394.1 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg Relay-Back.jpg (367.3 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Inductor.jpg (318.7 KB, 5 views)
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 12:38 PM   #30
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,628
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

the first 2 pictures show a 24v relay not a 12v, the 3rd pic the inductor. The inductor should be ok showing 1.8 Ohms.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 12:54 PM   #31
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,934
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

The buck converter looks to be set up for 24V output, you can verify that by checking the value of the feedback resistor network , that is why the blown up C2 is rated at 50V, twice the operating Voltage.
I would not pull the relay out, you should concentrate on what component are connected to + lead of that filter cap C2. if you check the resistance between the two legs of the filter cap c2 solder pads, what do you get, 30 Ohms?

Last edited by budm; 10-26-2020 at 01:03 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 02:33 PM   #32
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,934
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

I trace out the relay driver, the buck converter is set to 24V for the relay coils.
Transistor T2 drives the relay REL1
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 07:17 PM   #33
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
the first 2 pictures show a 24v relay not a 12v, the 3rd pic the inductor. The inductor should be ok showing 1.8 Ohms.
Arh.. silly me.. Yes, I applied 18v and it clicks, both off and in-circuit.

With Inductor L2 removed, D3 measured correctly at 579 one way. When removed, it measured 30. Seems to by-passed to a shorted circuit somewhere?
-
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Inductor-D3.jpg (561.2 KB, 2 views)
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 07:22 PM   #34
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
The buck converter looks to be set up for 24V output, you can verify that by checking the value of the feedback resistor network , that is why the blown up C2 is rated at 50V, twice the operating Voltage.
I would not pull the relay out, you should concentrate on what component are connected to + lead of that filter cap C2. if you check the resistance between the two legs of the filter cap c2 solder pads, what do you get, 30 Ohms?
Yes, both relays clicked when I applied 18v into them. And yes, the 2 solder pads of C2 reads 30 ohm.
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 07:42 PM   #35
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,499
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Why don't you remove C2 and check it out of circuit, or remove it and check the solder pads to find out what is reading 30Ω
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 07:56 PM   #36
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,934
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

D3 is basically in parallel with the load through the Low DCR of the Buck inductor, that is why you see 30 Ohms when D3 is measure in the circuit, look at the circuit of the Buck converter then you will understand why.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 07:58 PM   #37
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,934
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Why don't you remove C2 and check it out of circuit, or remove it and check the solder pads to find out what is reading 30Ω
I would have thought he had removed that blown up cap already since it is blown up, if not then I do not understand why it is not removed.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 08:27 PM   #38
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Why don't you remove C2 and check it out of circuit, or remove it and check the solder pads to find out what is reading 30Ω
C2 already removed when it "exploded" on powered up.. but it still ready 89uF off circuit. The 2 solder pads between them ready 30ohm. I traced the +ve pad along the path to R31 and R31 read 120k ohm.

Not sure where to trace further...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg C2.jpg (435.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg R31.jpg (310.1 KB, 2 views)
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 12:50 AM   #39
beetle1303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 145
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

I decided to restore all the good and new components back into the PCB and do a basic continuity check - new 2W 100ohm R1 resistor, new 50v 100uF C2 capacitor, new U1 LNK304, and the original L2 inductor.

All pretty much the same, except now D3 now reads 579 in circuit.

I connect a 40W incandescent bulb between the Live wire of the incoming power. Power on - the incandescent bulb do not light up at all, the I measure to incoming voltage to the PCB - 243V.

But pressing the power button of the device - nothing happened, nothing blown, no led light.. Something component(s) blown opened?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PowerButton.jpg (1,021.8 KB, 4 views)
beetle1303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 01:52 AM   #40
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,934
Default Re: Tefal GV8962 Pro Express steam iron - no power

So now you are saying the resistance on C2 no longer show 30 Ohms?
Do you have 24Vdc on C2?
You also need to find out if you also have low Voltages to runs those IC or not
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?