Dell Inspiron 7306 Hellcat 13 TGL MB - No Power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dell Inspiron 7306 Hellcat 13 TGL MB - No Power

Hello all, sorry for the double post (i've posted this question on another thread of schematic request).

i'm working on this board that doesn't have any power at all, the usb-c ammeter stay off and the thermal camera doesn't show anything heating up.
    I have no experience with usb-c powered boards, but I know there's a thunderbolt chip negotiating with the power supply and the power management chip.
    Could it be the intel jhl8040r thunderbolt controller (U7101) to be dead?
    Probing the caps around it i didn't find anything shorted.
    Can someone give me some hint to start hunting for the probable issue with this board please?
    I know I didn't give many informations but judging by the fact that neither the usb-c meter is turning on made me thing about the thunderbolt chip.

Thanks to anyone that will contribute
    Attached Files

Re: Dell Inspiron 7306 Hellcat 13 TGL MB - No Power

Confirm that the type c power adapter is working and test your type c meter to confirm again that both are working as a team.

Do you see the power up default of 5 volts on your type c meter?

Then insert this combination into your logic board. If the meter goes dark, then you have a short condition on the logic board.

Power cycle everything that is connected and flip the USB C connector by 180 degrees. This will test the other side of the type c interconnect.

What are the results after flipping the power connector head?

Comment

Thank you very much!

Both usb-c power supply and meter are working well, I've tested them on other usb-c powered devices such as Macbook air, hp laptops and they delivered the power needed by those devices.