Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2021, 11:11 PM   #21
AAAC
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Zacatecas, Zacatecas.
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 290
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

@Sakaan
I may know where your problem is by looking at pictures.

I've had a few programmers, PIN-1 on programmer ZIF socket is the one closest to LEVER, but in CH341A programmer there are some variants for PIN1 location depending on the chip you want to program (24Cxx eeprom or 25xx spi chip). When you want to program an SPI chip, PIN1 is located 4 rows below (on pin5), and have also seen PIN1 is located on the opposite corner from where the chip release lever is located.
You already have this part working...

The problem seems to be located in 1.8V adapter, the PIN1 is the one located closest to chip release lever, so just relocate adapter with ribbon cable four rows of pins above (next to lever).
Take a look at this picture:




The CH341A programmer with 1.8V adapter and the ribbon cable attached with SOP8 clip must look like this setup:




I've taken the pictures from this other forum post (a very nice guide to CH341A programmer):
https://www.win-raid.com/t4175f16-GU...rogrammer.html
Attached Images
File Type: png vQU7dQM.png (483.9 KB, 239 views)
File Type: png HNfIuW8.png (649.1 KB, 237 views)
AAAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2021, 03:33 PM   #22
Sakaan
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Birmingham
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Thank you so much. I am away for from home for couple of weeks. Will try once back home.
Sakaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2021, 03:00 PM   #23
roflcopterwtfhax
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Dallas, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

I'm having a similar issue, can't seem to get any programs to detect the 25R128JWPQ (W25R128JW?) correctly. I have a CH341a programmer with the 3.3v to 1.8v adapter, pins in the right spot, yet every program I've tried to use gives me garbage/random data whenever I try to read the chip.

Makes you wonder how the OP managed to read the data correctly.
roflcopterwtfhax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2021, 06:12 AM   #24
hamid_seta
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: birmingham
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peste View Post
try..
Hi
This file working fine I have tested and it does boot perfect without any password.

Thank you
hamid_seta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2021, 08:24 PM   #25
miha0095
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Lidzbark
My Country: Poland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamid_seta View Post
Hi
This file working fine I have tested and it does boot perfect without any password.

Thank you
Which programmer are you using?
miha0095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2022, 04:59 AM   #26
clrscr
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
City & State: cb
My Country: sing
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

helo every body!
my laptop surface pro7 has "computrace", please help me remove
thank you so much!
Attached Files
File Type: rar pro 7.rar (4.92 MB, 13 views)
clrscr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 03:11 AM   #27
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Microsoft Surface Pro 7 1866 BIOS request

Hello

Got a 1866 that turns on, windows logo, and off.

Would like to reprogram bios.

Anyone has a clean dump for this device?

Appreciate it.

Cheers!

Last edited by magneh; 04-20-2022 at 03:24 AM..
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 03:15 AM   #28
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,757
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 1866 BIOS request

Quote:
Originally Posted by magneh View Post
Anyone has a clean dump for this device?
post your backup
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 03:24 AM   #29
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Heres the original dump

Bios IC

Winbond 25R128JW

Ive read the IC with my programmer, like a donk, without seeing the IC is 1.8V
its the file bkp.zip

Then I used a 1.8V adapter to read it, and I got different content on the bios file.
its the original.zip file

Did I screwed this up?
Always learning...
Attached Files
File Type: zip original.zip (2.36 MB, 22 views)
File Type: zip bkp.zip (7.18 MB, 18 views)

Last edited by magneh; 04-20-2022 at 04:09 AM..
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 07:29 AM   #30
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

So yeah, I think I screwed up.

Flashed the dump of Peste post #8
Same thing.
logo comes up and goes away, just as before.

Poked around with multimeter, and found a shorted rail.
Tried my luck without screen connected and with thermal cam, found a cap heating up. removed it, and it was indeed shorted!
And guess what, surface turns on, and I got BIOS screen with Peste dump.

Now, I would like to keep the serial number and original dump.
Flashed both dumps I posted here, none of them work

Can someone help me inserting SN on Peste's working dump?
Or fix one of these files I uploaded?
SN of the device is 041644201153

Also, to replace this cap I must get the exact same one with same print?

NEh
jE8

Thanks for all the help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20220420_110905.jpg (909.9 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg 20220420_145151.jpg (396.9 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 20220420_145955.jpg (892.4 KB, 30 views)
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 02:07 AM   #31
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by magneh View Post
So yeah, I think I screwed up.

Anyone?
Would love to keep a proper bios
Cheers

Last edited by SMDFlea; 04-21-2022 at 03:48 AM..
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 04:51 AM   #32
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,757
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by magneh View Post
Anyone?
Would love to keep a proper bios
Cheers
try this one.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bios.zip (6.78 MB, 23 views)
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 05:40 AM   #33
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
try this one.
Thanks for the reply SMDFlea!

Still not working, Device turns on , surface logo for 30 secs, goes off, and same thing again in a loop. nothing else happens

Also, with @peste Dump, touch does not work. I have Touch firmware 0.0.0.0 in UEFI screen (check 2nd photo on post #30).

What I cant understand is why the backups ive done neither work...very weird never had this problem before.

If someone could help with this issue, would be much appreciated !

Last edited by magneh; 04-21-2022 at 06:04 AM..
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 03:22 AM   #34
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Any bios expert with some minutes on the weekend to help me with this one?
Cheers!
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 07:40 AM   #35
hoaca388
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: HCM
My Country: Viet Nam
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by magneh View Post
Any bios expert with some minutes on the weekend to help me with this one?
Cheers!
Try
Attached Files
File Type: rar Microsoft Surface Pro 7 1866 10th Gen.rar (3.85 MB, 17 views)
hoaca388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 08:29 AM   #36
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoaca388 View Post
Try
Thanks Hoaca.

just tried it, device does the same as with my backups, surface logo for 3-4secs and goes off.
If I press power button again, same thing
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 10:57 AM   #37
hoaca388
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: HCM
My Country: Viet Nam
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by magneh View Post
Thanks Hoaca.

just tried it, device does the same as with my backups, surface logo for 3-4secs and goes off.
If I press power button again, same thing
Try deleting ME that file and then flashing it again, if that fails check your hardware again. Maybe something was left behind.
hoaca388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 04:31 PM   #38
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoaca388 View Post
Try deleting ME that file and then flashing it again, if that fails check your hardware again. Maybe something was left behind.
Well if I flash Peste bios, it works as you can see in the pics
just no touch and serial is wrong

You mean clean me your file?

Not very bios savvy lol

appreciate it
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 02:15 AM   #39
magneh
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Coimbra
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 305
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

Sorry to ask again, but can someone more experienced build a working bios for this device?

Thank you!
magneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 11:08 PM   #40
AAAC
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Zacatecas, Zacatecas.
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 290
Default Re: Microsoft Surface Pro 7 NEED BIOS. HELP!

@magneh
I've taken PESTE bios (post #8) and complemented it with your bios (bkp.zip, post #29), invalidated "SetOEMStrings" UEFI variable... but seen other Dfcixxxx UEFI variables too.
If this bios works it will be your starting point, then you can take care of the MDM/DFCI.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MSSurface7_(New-file).zip (7.04 MB, 30 views)

Last edited by AAAC; 04-27-2022 at 11:11 PM..
AAAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?