Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 12:24 PM   #281
re-atari
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 95
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by sle118 View Post
Allright,

I gave one last shot at my original board. Since I was sure the fuse was blown, I replaced it and voila! The monitor is back to life.

So the inverter board from eBay was likely faulty. So the question now is what the right value for the fuse? I saw people saying it was 'W', others were saying 'M'. I got a 'J' surface mount fuse, rated at 1.25A. Not sure how long the new fuse will hold. Crossing fingers.
That's really good news, another monitor saved from the landfill

I'll check the rating of the fuses on the inverter board. I recall they were 3A, so 1,25A is definitely too light. I will check just to make sure.

re-atari

Last edited by re-atari; 05-09-2013 at 01:19 PM..
re-atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 01:16 PM   #282
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

So does the LED sray amber, as youi can see in my pictures, it should be green.
Also if the caps are bad, it will have lots of high frequency feeding the inverter circuits and causes it to draw lots of current.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...416#post288703
More pictures here:
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/bud...62548698263046

http://s807.photobucket.com/user/bud...77036580452451
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:43 AM   #283
re-atari
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 95
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by re-atari View Post
I'll check the rating of the fuses on the inverter board. I recall they were 3A, so 1,25A is definitely too light. I will check just to make sure.

re-atari
I checked my own info about the repair actions on my 2416's, and found out I used 1,5A fuses in a resistor type casing. The wires on each end made it quite easy to fit them. I didn't solder them to the original smd pads though, instead just followed the traces on the PCB and soldered the wires to the respective components.

I haven't been able to find the photo's I took back then. Since it looks like your 2416 is resurrected, I think this is not a very urgent matter?

I would advise to use the monitor without its back shell in place for the first few days, and check whether the FETs are running hot. If the shield on the inverter is too hot to touch, the caps and FETs will definitely not last long. Using 85 degree caps may cause the FETs to run too hot. Do check if you used 105 degree types, and if that's not the case, replace the caps asap.

re-atari
re-atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:19 AM   #284
Chyenne
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Hi,
I was not sure if I should open a new thread or not, but I will try here.
Two years ago I got this monitor working again (thanks to this thread) by replacing the 10 caps and a mosfet on the inverter board, but this time the symptoms are different.
After running for a few hours it turned off and on again by itself, once. Now, if I connect the power cord, it turns on by itself, shows the logo for 2 seconds, then the logo highlights red or it shows a weird small menu item for a fraction of a second and the monitor turns off (no amber led light, no image under flashlight).
As far as I can tell the mosfets on the inverter are not shorted and the fuses are fine.
Testing the power board with everything disconnected I get the following:
(post for reference: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpos...5&postcount=36)

To inverter board:
1 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
2 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
3 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
4 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
5 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ======= 0V
6 GND Inverter GND
7 GND Inverter GND
8 GND Inverter GND
9 GND Inverter GND
10 GND Inverter GND
11 N.C N.C
12 Backlight on/off ====== 1.8V
13 Dimmer Brightness control ====== 0V
14 N.C N.C


To logic board:
1 +5Vstb ======= 5.1V
2 GND
3 GND
4 GND
5 +5Vcc ======= 0.01V
6 +5Vcc ======= 0.01V
7 +5Vcc ======= 0V
8 +12Vcc {audio power (n/a option)}
9 GND
10 Power on ======= 0V
11 Backlight on/off ======= 2.1V
12 Dimmer ======= 0V

Since my cheap DMM only goes to 250V I can not test across the big cap. I`m at a loss at this point.
Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 01.JPG (1.77 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 02.JPG (2.50 MB, 13 views)
Chyenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:45 AM   #285
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Is it connected to running PC?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:19 PM   #286
Chyenne
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Thanks for replying so fast. I just hooked up everything and now it's completely dead. The pc detects the monitor but it doesn't react at all. The fuse on the power board is still good, as is the bridge rectifier... If I measure the big cap immediately after disconnecting power I'll catch it at over 200V (if that helps).
Chyenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:37 PM   #287
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

"10 Power on ======= 0V" The main board is not sending the PS_ON to turn on the 24V and 5V power supply.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 02:44 PM   #288
Chyenne
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Ok, I think I misunderstood you the first time.
After it rested for a little over an hour I plugged everything in (the led turned on, no backlight, no picture, not able to turn it off) and measured again:

To inverter board:
1 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
2 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
3 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
4 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
5 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ======= 23.8V
6 GND Inverter GND
7 GND Inverter GND
8 GND Inverter GND
9 GND Inverter GND
10 GND Inverter GND
11 N.C N.C
12 Backlight on/off ====== 0V
13 Dimmer Brightness control ====== 0V
14 N.C N.C


To logic board:
1 +5Vstb ======= 5.1V
2 GND
3 GND
4 GND
5 +5Vcc ======= 5.1V
6 +5Vcc ======= 5.1V
7 +5Vcc ======= 5.1V
8 +12Vcc {audio power (n/a option)}
9 GND
10 Power on ======= 2.3V
11 Backlight on/off ======= 0V
12 Dimmer ======= 2.3V

I then cut the power, powered it up and it's dead again (no led, backlight, picture, unable to turn it on) and measured:

To inverter board:
1 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
2 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
3 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
4 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 0V
5 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ======= 0V
6 GND Inverter GND
7 GND Inverter GND
8 GND Inverter GND
9 GND Inverter GND
10 GND Inverter GND
11 N.C N.C
12 Backlight on/off ====== 0V
13 Dimmer Brightness control ====== 0V
14 N.C N.C


To logic board:
1 +5Vstb ======= 5.1V
2 GND
3 GND
4 GND
5 +5Vcc ======= 0.3V
6 +5Vcc ======= 0.3V
7 +5Vcc ======= 0.3V
8 +12Vcc {audio power (n/a option)}
9 GND
10 Power on ======= 0V
11 Backlight on/off ======= 0V
12 Dimmer ======= 0V
Chyenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:09 PM   #289
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

OK, the PS_ON is working because it does change state when monitor is turn on and off, but the BL_ON (Backlights on/off) is not working because it stays at 0V.
The BL_ON is generated by the main board, so that is where we have to look next.
Pictures of your main board?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf acer_al2416w_[ET].pdf (2.52 MB, 41 views)

Last edited by budm; 05-21-2013 at 11:36 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:19 AM   #290
Chyenne
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Hi,
a night later I just tried again. Got past the acer logo, showed the desktop and shut off two seconds later, but still normal buzzing from the power board. Not accepting button input:

To inverter board:
1 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
2 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
3 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
4 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ====== 23.8V
5 +24Vcc Inverter Vcc ======= 23.8V
6 GND Inverter GND
7 GND Inverter GND
8 GND Inverter GND
9 GND Inverter GND
10 GND Inverter GND
11 N.C N.C
12 Backlight on/off ====== 2.1V
13 Dimmer Brightness control ====== 2.1V
14 N.C N.C


To main board:
1 +5Vstb ======= 5.1V
2 GND
3 GND
4 GND
5 +5Vcc ======= 5.1V
6 +5Vcc ======= 5.1V
7 +5Vcc ======= 5.1V
8 +12Vcc {audio power (n/a option)}
9 GND
10 Power on ======= 2.3V
11 Backlight on/off ======= 2.3V
12 Dimmer ======= 2.1V

Then did a power cycle. Everything dead again, except:

To main board:
1 +5Vstb ======= 5.1V

Thanks again.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 03.JPG (3.61 MB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg 04.JPG (3.18 MB, 11 views)
Chyenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 03:40 PM   #291
jche
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Asheville, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

I have fixed 4 or 5 of these so far with a pretty minimal knowledge about electronics. Most of the times it was the was the inverter board and just the 4 caps on the top of the board (C34,35,36 & 38.) On the last one though after the replacing of the caps didn't help I also replaced the mosfet right next to the caps (Q6), which looked a little singed - no luck. In the end it turned out that one additional culprit was the F2 fuse.

My question is: since I did not have the replacement for the fuse I just soldered in a piece of wire in it's place - what risk am I running by using the monitor without that fuse? Can anything major fry?
jche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 01:39 PM   #292
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,132
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by jche View Post
My question is: since I did not have the replacement for the fuse I just soldered in a piece of wire in it's place - what risk am I running by using the monitor without that fuse? Can anything major fry?
The fuse is there for a reason. If you didn't have that fuse, then you'd probably have a bit of smoke and some burned out mosfets.
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:33 AM   #293
jche
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Asheville, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetadm123 View Post
The fuse is there for a reason. If you didn't have that fuse, then you'd probably have a bit of smoke and some burned out mosfets.
Thanks for the response - I understand fuses are there for a reason and was just asking which part of the circuit this particular one is protecting and from what kind of damage - looks like in your opinion I'm only risking frying some mosfets which I wouldn't call the end for the world. The thing is that while I'm looking for the replacement (not very hard) the monitor has been working in a full time office setting for a few days now with no smoke..

Last edited by jche; 07-15-2013 at 07:37 AM..
jche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 01:06 PM   #294
bartolo
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: munich
My Country: germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

i´m new in this board and have find many usefull hints.
thanks to all.

but after replacing several caps in my AL2416 i also sticked a heatsink on the processor ic of the logic board and now the monitor runs and runs....

bartolo

sorry for my bad english!
bartolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 12:42 PM   #295
yohnsee
Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: Békéscsaba
My Country: Hungary
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 132
Wink Bought this gem for buttons, looking forward to repair it

Hello everyone, I see this is an old thread, but I was thinking I may add some new info.
So I bought this unit cheap and knowing it is faulty, my first approach was to take it apart. (BTW, I LOVE taking things apart )
Monitor was showing no backlight, but hooked it up to my pc, picture was OK with the flashlight test.
With the help of this thread, I managed to filter out the possibly bad parts.
On the inverter board, the 4 caps that are the closest to Q4, Q6 Mosfets are bulged and have a significantly darker color. Q4 and Q6 are showing 10 ohms in every direction and F2 is open. In the first round, I replace all the 10 caps on the inverter board, Q4 and Q6 also. I have already ordered the replacement parts. It will take some time to get to me, but I am not in a hurry.
I read most of the replies here, has anyone figured out the value for the F2? Only a "M" is printed on its top, nothing to be found on the internet.
Update will come, as soon the bad parts are replaced.
Cheers
__________________
Cheers, Janos
yohnsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 01:22 PM   #296
Dumah Brazorf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Brescia
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 134
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

I read different posts in which they used 1.25A fast fuse but lately one user reported it blown again.
I would use a 2A fast littlefuse.
Dumah Brazorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 11:45 AM   #297
yohnsee
Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: Békéscsaba
My Country: Hungary
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 132
Smile Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dumah Brazorf View Post
I read different posts in which they used 1.25A fast fuse but lately one user reported it blown again.
I would use a 2A fast littlefuse.
Thank you. I got myself into it, and read back nearly all the posts. Accordig to them, I would probably need a 4A fast acting type. I ordered a few from ebay. In case they would be too much (4A) and the smoke came out, I will not worry, because I am repairing this for my own use, so as soon as something goes hairy, I will hit the breaker on my desk
yohnsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:15 PM   #298
yohnsee
Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: Békéscsaba
My Country: Hungary
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 132
Smile Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

A little update on the topic.
I successfully brought this gem back to life, and it is working since 4 weeks.
And it has an amazing picture! I read about it, this was some kind state-of-art back then, but on a simple VGA input it makes so vivid and perfect picture. Most of today's screens can't reach this level. So I am very satisfied with it.
yohnsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?