Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2019, 12:13 PM   #1
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Hello ! I have an HP Z27S display here, top of the line 4k monitor from 2017 that sold for about 900$ Canadian, still under warranty and hp denies repair.. Anyway, that's another story.

Here's a picture of what it does, ive torn this thing apart and i was wondering if anyone has seen a similar issue, or have any clues of what could be causing this. Bad caps in psu ? I've tried heating and freezing the boards, either psu or the input board and no difference. I've noticed the issue is also present on the OSD of the monitor, with no input signal connected. Caps seem good visually. Any pointers would be really appreciated !! thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (702.7 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg unnamed.jpg (539.3 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (816.7 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (800.1 KB, 11 views)
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 12:29 PM   #2
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,873
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

why does HP deny repairs, It looks like a panel issue, A power supply problem would likely cause a problem over the whole screen not just part of it.
Did you happen to buy it used or refurbished?
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 01:10 PM   #3
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

It's a customer's screen and i can't find the invoice for it. HP asks for the receipt.. What a pain. Anyway, you think the panel itself is bad ? :|
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 03:02 PM   #4
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,873
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

That would be my guess, What happens if you change the screen resolution to something else, does that have any effect on the lines?
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 03:33 PM   #5
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Id have to swap boards to see any difference, indo have a few of these lcds here.

What would be bad on the panel itself? buffers on the input board or something that can be replaced?

these z27s suffer from this problem, ive seen many of them.

Ill check for any change with resolution and report back. thanks
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 08:15 AM   #6
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Hello ! It seems resolution changes have no effect at all on the panel's issue. I've also tried freeze-spraying or heating the pcb that's on the panel itself and the problem is still there !
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 08:04 AM   #7
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Anyone has an idea if it really is a panel issue, and if so, what could be bad on a LCD Panel ? Would it be one of the components on the pcb that's on the input panel? Thanks
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 07:40 AM   #8
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Any input on this ? Thanks in advance
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 09:38 AM   #9
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Hello, im bumping this up.. Still have this monitor here and itd be a shame to trash it. Anyone can chime in and has a clue what can be causing this? If its the panel, is it a faulty component on the small input board where the flat cable connects to? It needs to be fixable, its a very expensive lcd..
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 10:30 AM   #10
captainKKK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
City & State: Katy, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: Low
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 146
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

The panel looks ok to me, it has BL and no regional defeceits. I would have to say it's an issue on the built in T-con board.
captainKKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:13 AM   #11
cheebster
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: HP Z27S Horizontal Lines

Ok, you mean the little board on the panel itself? bad components? can it be fixed?
cheebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?