Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2013, 10:32 AM   #1
dileep.soft
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default sharing internet with equal bandwidth

How to Share Internet with Equal Bandwidth
Means : If 1 MBPS 2 PC's 512kb per each pc
Resources i Have
1. ADSL Router
2. Internet Connection with 1 MBPS
3. 8 PC's
4. 16 port Hub/Switch
dileep.soft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

You would need to get a managed switch so you can cap each ports speed.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 04:20 PM   #3
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,719
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

The cheapest solution would probably be to find an old 486/pentium 2/pentium 3/duron (you get the idea) with 2 network cards and make it a gateway server.

For 1 mbps bandwidth, you don't need much processing power to route data packets and do traffic shaping.
This would probably be a good start (documentation) into making a linux router: http://lartc.org/lartc.html
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/ADSL-Bandw...mentation.html

On Windows, there are ready made software solutions, but off the top of my head I couldn't tell you one that would work 100% with what you want.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 04:31 PM   #4
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

Build a Linux box.
Use it as the router
Install Squid.
$profit.
__________________
36 Monitors, 3 TVs, 4 Laptops, 1 motherboard, 1 Printer, 1 iMac, 2 hard drive docks and one IP Phone repaired so far....
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 07:34 PM   #5
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

I have an old Pentium 4 2.26GHz (S478, no HT) with 768MB DDR333 that runs ClearOS, and I use it for this. Routing the internet, that ancient P4 never sees higher than 8% usage, it's very efficient.
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:58 PM   #6
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariushm View Post
The cheapest solution would probably be to find an old 486/pentium 2/pentium 3/duron (you get the idea) with 2 network cards and make it a gateway server.

For 1 mbps bandwidth, you don't need much processing power to route data packets and do traffic shaping.
This would probably be a good start (documentation) into making a linux router: http://lartc.org/lartc.html
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/ADSL-Bandw...mentation.html

On Windows, there are ready made software solutions, but off the top of my head I couldn't tell you one that would work 100% with what you want.
Sorry I have to disagree. The managed switch is the cheapest way to do what he wants. Buy something like http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-J4813A-Pr...item565743242a

For less than $20 and will be much more usefull than another PC and easier on the elec bill.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:12 PM   #7
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by brethin View Post
Sorry I have to disagree. The managed switch is the cheapest way to do what he wants. Buy something like http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-J4813A-Pr...item565743242a
i have heard procurve are really good hardware.
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 10:43 PM   #8
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,719
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

I'm not sure that he can control the bandwidth speed of a particular IP using a switch.
He may be able to configure a port in a particular VLAN and give that VLAN some bandwidth limits but I'm not sure about per IP/Mac rules.

Power wise, it's about 36w for a HP switch like the one above, versus about 50-80w for a p3-p4 ... i actually tested a p4 2.4 ghz today with a hdd and 2 memory sticks and idled at 70 watts. He can lower the voltage and downclock the cpu and get it at around 30-50w, so not much more expensive.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:22 AM   #9
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,141
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

a cheap router with dd-wrt can easily do it.
__________________
Sierra: Core i5-7500, 16GB DDR4, 480GB Crucial SSD, RX580 8GB.
Colorado: Athlon 760K, 8GB DDR3, 120GB Kingston SSD, RX560 4GB.
Silverado: Core i3-2120T, 4GB DDR3, 60GB Kingston SSD + 4TB Seagate HDD.
Canyon: Core i5-3470, 16GB DDR3, 120GB Crucial SSD + 500GB WD VelociRaptor HDD + 6x 8TB WD Red HDD.
Plus a bunch of ThinkPads.
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:22 PM   #10
y_not
Same 'ol Song
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Beautiful Central Oregon
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120Vac 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 132
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

Better yet, a low cost used Ubiquiti Pico/Nano Station running the far superior OpenWRT, or any decently modern router on their supported routers table of hardware. There's an OpenWRT based firmware called Gargoyle that has EXCELLENT QOS features in it and is easy to configure. The QOS will do exactly this.

Sadly, the venerable WRT54GL/gs/g(v1-4) and variants just aren't up to the task of running the latest "attitude adjustment" builds that Gargoyle is built on. For one, it's just too old a platform, as sadly its ship has sailed and its time has come. It does however run the latest vanilla "backfire" brcm-2.4 build just dandy. But you'd have to use Rudy's QOS Script package, which works quite well also, but it isn't as easy to configure as Gargoyle's GUI driven QOS config pages.
Any one would be fine though.

Note: The WRT54gs units that shipped with 32M mem may be able to handle the newer kernel, especially if you O'c the CPU. But then you'd still have the issue of stability problems with the newer open source brcm47xx+b43 Wifi driver crashing and the like. Which they're working on patching and the devs do have some patches in trunk that will make it to buildroot soon, if not by now. Ie. The latest stable build. The legacy brcm-2.4+brcm42xx platform's proprietary Broadcom driver doesn't have this issue. It's rock solid in stability and speed.


BTW, no one has yet to ask what router you do have. If you can provide its model and HW: rev. if applicable, one of us can tell you if it's compatible with one of the open source firmwares. Some DSL modems have QOS, but it isn't usually worth a lick. In fact most DSL modems are better off operating in half bridged mode with a "real" router behind it handling the PPPoE/PPPoA and routing duties.

Last edited by y_not; 06-19-2013 at 12:03 AM..
y_not is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:07 PM   #11
severach
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 982
Default Re: sharing internet with equal bandwidth

My Linksys Cisco RV042 has bandwidth control built in. Unfortunately I see a problem. 1Mbps is enough to watch 1 youtube video. 512Mbps is enough to watch none youtube video. Split it up and you both have nothing.
__________________
sig files are for morons
severach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?